We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Quarter”

Citta Vecchia (Old City)
Ranked #19 of 322 things to do in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

It was great to wander through the old quarter looking at secondhand shops and old buildings. We had a pizza at a cafe and sat outside and watched the world go by. I am returning at the end of 2014 to explore it further.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    75
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Very quaint and idyllic place with a lovely feel about it. Lots of nice restaurants as was passing through it would recommend it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevjuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
201 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Get lost, or at least try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was taken through this rebuilt area and I am in love with Trieste. It is not visited by many and I am scratching my head wondering why? It is history all over, of course what city in Europe is not, but this is truly special as it is well preserved and the restoring going on is a wonder in such hard times.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Walk around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

For me the Old Quarter is a quiet and relaxing area. Mainly because these are pedestrian streets. From Piazza Unita to Piazza Attilio Hortis (or even to Piazza Venezia), Via Cavana and some crossing and parallel streets are the place you miss from the other parts of Trieste. These really old houses and narrow streets brings you the Italian atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Bálint K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice and romantic old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is perfect place just to walk by, sit and enjoy. Best way to enjoy this quarter is to have a coffee, ice cream, cake or pizza in some of the little caffés or restaurants. It doesn t shock for your budget, and you will live one days as genuine italians...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Citta Vecchia (Old City) also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Citta Vecchia (Old City)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing