We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for money. Very Friendly staff.”
Review of Urban Hotel Design

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Urban Hotel Design
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb value for money. Very Friendly staff.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Since we were to spend 5 days in Trieste, don't speak Italian and have mixed experiences of Italian hotels, we ordered a junior suite.
We received a very friendly welcome by a male member of staff and were shown two suites to choose from. The one we decided upon was of the highest standard and had everything we needed. Especially impressive was the air conditioning, the quietness of the room and the abundance of TV channels. There was also free Wi-Fi, and breakfast was plentiful and above average. The glass Floor in the restaurant was built over ancient Roman ruins.Staff was always friendly and helpful in fulfilling our wishes. Location was ideal for the old City and most of the town's attractions. To sum up a stay that will stay long in our memory for all the right reasons:-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titus723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    367
    91
    19
    5
See reviews for
117
300
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice modern urban interior. Staff less than top notch. Seemed to be training a lot of interns who seemed to be stumbling over one another with countermanding information.

Interior room small but stylish and air conditioner was not on first night so room was stuffy and very noisy outside with window open. Second night air conditioner on so all was well. Pleasant varied breakfast and served early to accommodate business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this hotel. We decided to stay in one of the "Loft" apartments which mean you don`t stay in the main body of the hotel. You are led down an adjacent alleyway to a secure entrance to some apartments. I believe this gave us more space as I believe the standard rooms are on the small side.
The location of the hotel is its best feature, right in the middle of the town. Our room was contemporary and modern. Unfortunately even though the chairs looked nice, they were uncomfortable. Also the TV had no English speaking channels, not even BBC news.

There were a a couple of iMacs in reception for free internet access.

Breakfast is good, a decent selection with good service by the staff.

Overall, I was happy with our stay here. The hotel is a great base to explore Trieste.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zetec16v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfect Location in the center of Trieste, reliable valet parking service, very friendly and supportive employees, my (single) room was a bit small, but for the rate... verything OK! "I'll be back"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeWeb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place gets full marks for creativity; the way they've turned an otherwise older building into something modern and quirky is really cool.

The breakfast is adequate, and service is excellent. The rooms themselves have pretty interesting furniture (think modern, affected), but they're always clean and very comfortable. WiFi is very quick, and location is excellent (less than a block from the square).

By far my favorite touch of this little hotel is the glass floor in the restaurant - it lets you see the remaining pieces of "ruins" under the hotel. Super slick.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location is amazing, right in the centre of the city, close to the seaside, Piazza dell'Unita d'Italia (the main square), the hill and the pedestrian zones.
Rooms are quite basic and have some weird design touches but they are clean. Our room was quite cold during the night but we only stayed for one night and didn't figure out whether there is a problem or not.
Breakfast was decent and the price was OK.
Staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 887 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed at the Urban Hotel Design in late April 2014 at the end of a trip through Croatia and Slovenia. I took a bus from Ljubljana and simply walked, with my luggage, from the bus/train station to the hotel in about 15 minutes. The hotel is located in a great area with lots of restaurants and bars just off the Piazza de Unita Italia and the Adriatic. To get to the hotel simply walk through the plaza with your back to the Adriatic and go to the far right corner and then left up the first street and the hotel entrance is in a yellowish building near a parking lot.

The hotel itself is very interesting and modern. The rooms were clean with nice high quality furnishings. There was an Apple computer for guests' use or you could use the free wi-fi if you brought your own computer.

The room included a mini-bar, safe in the closet big enough to hold a portable computer, a comfortable bed with good firm pillows, a desk with chair and in the bathroom a bidet, rain water shower head, hair dryer, q-tips, nail file, shampoo, body lotion, bath foam and slippers. There was a flat screen television with 100's of channels but none, not even CNN or the BBC, in English.

Breakfast was included with my room but it was never mentioned when I checked in so I can't comment on the quality or quantity of food.

The employees, overall, were friendly, knowledgeable and spoke very good English.

My one complaint was noise. I was easily able to hear people, including employees, talking in the hallway and the slamming of room doors. I also had a room facing an alley and was easily able to hear music and people talking from some club or bar that, fortunately, stopped at 11:00 pm although I wasn't told of this when checking in or I would have requested a different room.

This is a very modern hotel that was created out of several different buildings. The all white room itself was nice and clean with very tasteful and thought out furnishings. This is a good choice if visiting Trieste primarily because of the location just off the main plaza. I didn't like the outside noise (bars and clubs nearby) or the noisy hallways but I don't think that would rule out my recommending this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Design

Property: Urban Hotel Design
Address: Androna Chiusa 4 | Via Punta del Forno, 3, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Trieste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Hotel Design 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urban Hotel Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing