We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the trick”
Review of Urban Hotel Design

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Urban Hotel Design
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Went for a wedding in Triestre and stayed here over a weekend, the rooms are clean, big enough and have everything you would need. There is a problem with the walls though, they are quite thin, so it makes for a noisy stay. The staff were very accommodating and the location is fantastic, right by a lovely square and by a famous gelato shop. They have Valet parking and a nice little bar. They don't have their own kitchen so don't expect room service.... However, I would definitely stay here again if in Trieste.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel c, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Jessica,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your recent visit.

As regular and much-valued guests, your feedback is extremely significant to us as it helps us to develop the services and facilities that we provide. I am pleased that you were happy with the room allocated to you. I hope that you will return the Urban Hotel Design in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Manuel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for Urban Hotel Design
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

After 4 nights at Urban Hotel Design, we feel we know the place quite well. It is very well located in the old city of Trieste only about 250 metres from the main Piazza of Trieste, Piazza Unita.

There are lots of places to eat within a very short walk, museums and busses nearby, and so on.

The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we asked for room 201 in the Loft. It was not available but we were given room 202 next door. We saw room 201 later and found that 202 is a much nicer room but it only has one king size bed whereas room 201 has the king size bed plus the extra single bed if you need it.

One criticism is that we could hear people walking around in the room above and heard the toilet above us flushing and the water running from the shower. Perhaps ask for rooms 301 or 302 to avoid that problem.

Another problem with the loft is that the lift starts almost one floor above ground level and stops half way between floors. That means climbing some stairs so, if you find stairs a problem, stay in the main part of the hotel where the lift starts at ground level.

We had considered staying at the Star Hotel but are glad we did not as it was nearly double the price and the view is nothing special looking over some piers, and an amusement park towards the old harbour of Trieste.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GEOMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel c, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to the hotel.
Thank you for your high recommendation, I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming yourselves back to the hotel soon.
Yours sincerely,
Manuel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A great design, excellent quality, just steps away from Piazza Unità d'Italia, and within walking distance of many restaurants and seafront. The breakfast room sits over archeological remains, which are visible to part of its floor, which is glass. I loved the stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie57_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel c, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Lizzie,
Thank you for sharing your lovely review following your recent visit.

It is wonderful to read that you think the Urban Hotel Design is a superb hotel with beautiful furnishings and architecture. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Manuel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for one night in July '14. Really good first impression. Helpful and welcoming staff. Rooms clean and bed really comfy. Nice dining area, spoilt for breakfast choice. Overall nice, small and chic hotel in good central location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel c, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your stay at the Urban Hotel Design.
It is wonderful to read that you had a pleasant stay with us during your trip to the Italy and that you enjoyed the boutique aspect of the hotel including the comfortable bed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,
Manuel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

These hotel in the center of the city is really a top one. The receptionist are very friendly. The room are nice and the bed very confortable. Had a little problem with the cooling system that was fixed immediately. The breakfast is really good. I would reccomend this hotel to everyone wants to spend a nice time in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ref43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed one night in July.
Location is good, easy to come by car. There are parking places, but you have to pay for them.
The building is old, renovated very nicely. Very design hotel.
Our room was for disabled people. The size was ok, the view was quite poor though since the only window was far away from the main are.
Room was clean, by the bed there were sockets so you can charge your phones and things.
Bathroom was clean and big enough. Over all the room was very good.
Breakfast was served downstairs. The service was not the best, a lot of people were eating and the staff were little behind of things, so some items were missing and tables were not cleaned.
One item worth mentioning in the breakfast were croissants. Very good. I do recommend.
Overall very good hotel in good location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ptrajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent 5 days at this small modern hotel in Trieste . The hotel is modern and the breakfasts were good. We walked from the train station, however it is quite a long walk-from the bus station or railway station you can take bus number 30 or 8 and get off at the pizza . you have to buy a bus ticket before you get on the bus-1.30 euros and ticket valid for an hour . This hotel is ideal if you want to visit slovenia or even Croatia. We also took the ferry to barcola, grignano and sistiana . you can also easily visit grado from trieste. The hotel is near the piazza as well as the ferry terminal so location is very good . staff try and speak English although their English is limited . All the staff were very helpful and our room was nice and clean . They do have some English channels on the tv. Overall a very nice 5 day stay at this modern little hotel

Room Tip: Can't comment on this. We were in room 206 and we looked down onto a little alley . there are ro...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank debbieSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Design

Address: Androna Chiusa 4 | Via Punta del Forno, 3, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Trieste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range: £80 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Hotel Design 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urban Hotel Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing