We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for 4 nights in may 2011”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Capitelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Capitelli
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed here for 4 nights in may 2011”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a short trip to see relatives in Trieste. The location is brilliant for the town and the room was extremely clean. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was basic, but fine. Really good value if all you want to do is have a nice clean base for exploring Trieste. It's not luxurious, but would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crcreiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
32
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Very central, and my small room was spotlessly clean BUT this is nothing more than a bed and bathroom outfit.

If you're looking for something else, it's not for you.

In summer it's worth double checking on air con. Rooms have units but not equipped with correct plugs to function, nor do they have the right vents to expel warm air so pretty pointless.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trieste hotels

MADRID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We stayed in the house where once Casanova lived, and you can be sure the mattress in the room is from his time. Apart from that, the smell of cigarettes in the room was very annoying and, after listening to our complain, the only thing the guy at the reception did was offering us a antismoke spray. Add to that problems in the toilette (the water was pouring constantly, which made sleeping quite difficult) and the picture is perfect for a comfortable quiet night.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The unconfort of the room - smoky, noisy, uncomfortable mattress -
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PELOPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

Hotel Capitelli is in a newly constructed building so it is very nice, clean, and cozy. The hotel is very quiet because it does not sit on a busy street. That being said, it is still well located near the main Piazza. The only negative aspect was that the walls were surprisingly thin so we could hear people walking around upstairs and downstairs which was a little annoying. The absence of any carpets in the building makes it worse but this is typical of many mid-range Italian hotels. Breakfast was pretty meager and offered yogurt, packaged brioche, juices, toast, hot tea and coffee....it could be improved. We paid 90 euros for a Friday night stay in late October which struck me as being a little pricey as we stayed during what I thought was the off season, but it was still a decent value.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat Yam, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

We stayed in the Hotel Capitelli in lovely Triest and had a great stay. The hotel is small but the rooms were clean and had a romantic charm with wooden floors and trim -- just the bathrooms had tiles. Getting there by foot at first with luggage might makes the location a bit out-of-the-way but once there this seemed to be a strong advantage in favor of the location. It is located in Triest's historic center. The Roman Arch-- Arco d'Ricardo-- which once served as the main gateway to the city --is just around the corner seemed to prove the historic significance of the neighborhood. The hotel is located on a small side street which made it charming. The service was quite friendly and breakfast was served in a small dining area just across the main entrance. The price, which was €90 (Euro) or about $132 a night for a double room included breakfast, and seemed to compare favorably with other rates we checked out for the city in November--which I is not high season.

  • Liked — Nice quaint hotel with good facilities and friendly service
  • Disliked — Noise from the surroundings
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twostones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
1.0 mi away
Residence Rialto Hotel
Residence Rialto Hotel
#15 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Giusto
0.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#20 of 50 in Trieste
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#21 of 50 in Trieste
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitelli

Property: Hotel Capitelli
Address: Via Trauner 1 | Piazza Barbacan 3, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Capitelli 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pedestrian area of historic city of Trieste,Hotel Capitelli is 100 meters from the seafront promenadea few steps from the port.It offers spacious accommodation with elegant furnishing.Rooms at the Hotel Capitelli are set in buildings of the 18th century.All feature a TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries.They come with wood or tiled floors.Hotel Capitelli is 5 minutes walk from Piazza Unità d’Italia squareand San Giusto Cathedral.The neighborhood is full of shops, restaurants and cafes.All the accommodations are furnishedwith private bathroom. Wi-fi connection is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capitelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitelli Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing