We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect value hotel for a business stay”
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Giorgio
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Udine
London
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“perfect value hotel for a business stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I spent a week at the San Giorgio on a work trip to Udine. It is a clean, well-priced hotel (I paid E50 per night for a single) on the edge of the city centre, and within walking distance of everywhere you would want to go. The staff were very helpful and nice, and there was always someone who spoke English on hand. A typical Italian hotel breakfast buffet was part of the price, as was free wi-fi. I have stayed in at least 4 different hotels in Udine on work trips before -- some of them mush more up-market than this one -- and this is the first one which had working wi-fi! For that reason alone, I would go back! The only negative would be the location for tourists seeking old-world charm. Udine oozes charm, but even those most charming cities have their plainer corners. The San Giorgio is on a roundabout in a modern and featureless corner of town.

Room Tip: As for the quietest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsangiorgioUdine, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Client,
Thank you for sharing your sincere opinion about our hotel! It’s very gratifying receiving such compliments from an expert reviewer! We hope to have you again as our guest in a future! Grazie mille!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    51
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
27
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kromeriz, Zlinsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October with group of colleagues. Everything was clean, perfect stuff, night bar till morning opened. Other restaurants near the hotel. Close to the center. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsangiorgioUdine, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for the nice words you wanted to dedicate to our hotel! We hope to have you again as our welcome guest in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed in the San Giorgio for two nights in December. Hotel was very clean, good food but the best part by far was the staff. They could not do enough for you and were willing to find out any information you required. There was a bus and rail strike after we arrived and they arranged to take us back to the airport. Local restuarants were closed on our first night and they cooked us a fantastic meal. The hotel I would say is average but the staff make up for that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Bar manager ripped us off for 100 euros for a 5 min taxi ride ..after meeting so many nice people this guy let himself his country and the good people of udine down badly !!!! Beware !!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September and were pleasantly surprised how great the hotel was. Everything was really clean wonderful staff especially two young ladies who went out of their way to help us their names were Valentina and Sabrina. It was not far from the city center so we could walk to the Restaurant. They also had a safe place for the car. We would stay there again. Paul and Barb Meyers

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, mi.
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in tyhis hotel in late sept. we found the rooms nice and location convenient to the city center ( walking distance) We were especially pleased with two young ladies, Valentina and Sabrina. They both went out of thier way to make our stay very pleasant, from helping us fine English speaking TV stations to recommending local restaurants. Great visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasha356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed in the Hotel for only one night during our motorcycle trip back from Italy to Poland in Sept 2011. It was a nice stay. The room was quiet with the windows on the back of the hotel. Nice and clean room, good bed, minibar and working air conditioning. After small negotiations it was a good price/quality relation. Our motorcycles were parked safely in the Hotel yard. The staff was helpful and caring. And finally the breakfast was tasty with a nice range of food to choose. The bottomline is we would definitely recommend the Hotel especially to motorcyclists as the owners belong also to the family :) and it's easy to find the common language :)

Well done :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quo Vadis
Hotel Quo Vadis
#13 of 22 in Udine
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Friuli
Friuli
#6 of 22 in Udine
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Udine
B&B Hotel Udine
#12 of 22 in Udine
417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Property: Hotel San Giorgio
Address: Piazzale Cella Gio Batta 2, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offer a comfortable room. The breakfast room of the hotel provides its guest with a great full buffet breakfast with fresh produce including homemade cakes, cereals, jam, fresh fruits, as well as eggs, a variety of cold cuts of meat and cheese. The structure has a restaurant inside and a terrace-garden open up 24h, where is possible to taste wines from the cellars of Friuli. Pets welcome. Free wifi in the entire property. Transfer hotel-airport/airport-hotel on request The historical centre of Udine is easily reached on foot in a five-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing