We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs remodelling!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Needs remodelling!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 days on business with my husband and won't be back. Not terrible but could be better for a business hotel. Nice central location. Decor is extremely old, rooms very basic and bed so low I had to crawl in. Hotel is very big but no there is no restaurant and everything needs remodelling. Dust in all the corners of the hallways but my room was clean. Breakfast was decent and continental with hams, cheese, yogurt and fruit. Hotel does not merit the price. If you don't find a really good deal, you might want to go someplace else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pannacotta1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    59
    63
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
29
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loehne, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is on a busy road junction on the edge of the city pedestrian area. It is just 200 M from the railway station. I arrived early on a wet morning when the hotel's rather basic 1970's style exterior looked particularly drab. However, once inside and with contact with the staff, everything changes. It is a haven of excellent customer care and, considering the price, solid elegance, within 10 minutes walk of the very centre of Udine.

My room was adequatly sized and comfortable, with a good sized desk to work at. I had no difficultly with the wifi, although it was at the slow end of broadband at times. The wifi is accessed through 24hour passes issued daily. The bed was firm but comfortable, and everything was clean. The breakfast was fine with a nice range of bakery products in particular, served in a bright and inviting restaurant area.

The highlight was the very friendly and kind staff. This is not the drilled friendliness you get with some chain hotels, but a more genuine care for real needs. I arrived at 8.00 am and got a room immediately. My train departure was late in the evening and the staff were most helpful in looking after by bags and allowing me to use the facilities after check-out.

The hotel does not serve evening meals, but there are a few basic restaurants within a few minutes walk, and all that Udine has to offer just a bit further away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel Christallo is in a good location in Udine, just a short walk from the very centre where only pedestrians are allowed. If you reach by car you can park there (or in the hotel garage with a small additional fee of 7€) and forget abot your car. if you reach by train it is at a minimun walking distance from the main train station. This is both an advantage and disadvantage, since the area is plenty of extracommunitary people (in realty all Udine is plenty); however we never felt to be unsafe. The staff was very nice and friendly in any occasion and provided any kind of information and support any time we requested for something. Special mention to the staff at breakfast; they were incredibly kind: since there was a large group, while we were two families (4 adults and 4 teen agers in total), they made available a isolated table for us to protect our privacy and she was taking care about us like a mom!!! Our rooms (two interconnected rooms) were clean and good size. The bathroom was good even if there was not a shower box but only a bath tub. My daughters played with wifi all the time without any problem. Breakfast was nice with good selection on food. We had the opportunity to be back in Udine two weeks later and we immediately checked the room availability on internet on arrival. Unfortunately it was too late and it was fully booked. We would stay again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed in this efficient and charming business hotel last in 2010. I liked everything about it, except the advertised free wifi did not work for me or anyone else I spoke to. I was worried when I heard I had been booked in here again, but they have upgraded the wifi. I had no problems. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is a short walk from the bus station or the train station (5 minutes or so), the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is plentiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable (if basic), the prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing away from the street and far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly ROI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Hotel Christallo is in a good location in Udine,just a short walk from the main train station.
the staff was friendly and spoke very good english.

My Room was clean and good size,the toilet and shower facilities was very good.
Breakfast was nice with good selection on food.

would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMOffalyROI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

The Cristallo has wi-fi, but... it's very unstable. I got nowhere with it, and one of my colleagues gave up after a day. The hotel staff are very nice. It's a modern, functional place near the railway station. It lacks charm, but it would be a fine value-for-money business traveler's choice IF the wi-fi worked. I was told the problem has been around and getting worse for a while. If it wasn't for this, I would recommend the hotel. But it was a huge problem for me to be so out of touch. No business centre, so no other options at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

We needed somewhere to stay in Udine and were getting drenched so we were not too fussy about facilities or price. From the outside the Cristallo looked large, modern and characterless but the friendliness of the reception staff was a first step in reassessing that opinion. A good sized and firm bed, excellent TV (we were able to catch up on the news as it was the first place we had stayed that had BBC World and CNN in days), generous balcony overlooking an ancient arch all turned a rainy afternoon into a time of recuperation. The breakfast the next morning was very good and the noon checkout gave us time to take in the modern art gallery (another antidote - we were a bit renaissance and antiquity weary after three weeks in Italy). At eighty one euro a night (including breakfasts) we found it more pricey than most places we stayed but reasonable value nevertheless.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — A little busy around breakfast time
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#4 of 22 in Udine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Friuli
Friuli
#6 of 22 in Udine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Udine
B&B Hotel Udine
#10 of 22 in Udine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Quo Vadis
Hotel Quo Vadis
#13 of 22 in Udine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#16 of 22 in Udine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Property: Hotel Cristallo
Address: Piazzale Gabriele d'Annunzio 43, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristallo 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cristallo, just beside main junctions for the town and the whole of Friuli, lies in a walking distance from the centre of the town and just a hundred meters away from the main Railway station, offering the utmost comfort both for business or leisure stays. Our Hotel presents 81 fully furnished and comfortable rooms, both for smoking and non-smoking customers, with mini-bar, satellite TV, Wi-Fi connection, air conditioning. Reception desk on duty 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing