We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A hidden gem in a wonderful city off the tourist track"”
Review of B&B Casa Angela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Casa Angela
Ranked #3 of 41 Udine B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"A hidden gem in a wonderful city off the tourist track"”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We spent two nights at Casa Angela in late September. It is not a traditional B&B, but rather an apartment with the makings of breakfast in the fridge. The apartment we had was beautiful - two bedrooms (we had our choice), a large bathroom, and a large kitchen, dining area and living room. It was very modern and very tastefully furnished and decorated and in a quiet residential area. Lots of information on the area was available in the apartment, including two beautiful picture books which made us wish we were staying longer. Angela herself is delightful and went out of her way to be helpful. She even picked us up at the station and drove us back there at the end of our stay! (The station is a ten minute walk; the town center a bit more. There is a bus right on the corner which goes to both the station and the center, but we enjoyed walking.) Udine itself is a delightful town with much of the center closed to traffic. We enjoyed visiting the duomo and the museum and eating at the osterias. We also highly recommend a day trip to Cividale, only 20 minutes away by train. We loved our stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank leebert67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
62
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia, Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were 5 families 15 in total with children travelling to Italy together staying in Udine to visit relatives for 1 week. Casa Angela accomodated us perfectly. We basically had the whole place to ourselves. Or needs were kitchens and laundries and bathrooms.
The B&B was lovely and clean and we felt as if we were at home with everything right at our disposal.
A huge supermarket was just down the road and it was an easy walk into the city.
Angela was lovely accomodating to our needs and made sure we were comforatable and came in to see us every so often to make sure all was good.
We would defineatly stay here again. Mandi Angela !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watlark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed three nights at Casa Angela and would definitely recommend it. The apartment (we stayed in the apartment with two bedrooms and one bathroom) was beautiful, really well equipped, a good size and spotless. Breakfast was included and was delicious - continental style with cereals, juice, pastries, bread etc. We had two children under two with us and Angela had two travel cots for us to use (she only had one when we booked but got another one specially for us!) {There are stairs up to the apartment as it's on the first floor, but we found it fine carrying the prams up the stairs, and there was free parking just outside so easy to unload / load all the baby stuff] Angela was very friendly and helpful and a cleaner came in each day. It is just over a 10 minute walk into the center of Udine, and there are a few restaurants near the apartment. We were in Udine for a wedding and Casa Angela was the perfect place for us to stay.

Room Tip: A good place to stay with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We called Angela at short notice late on a wet Saturday afternoon and although she didn't have her normal apartments available she provided us with another apartment which was clean, comfortable and more than adequate. She met us there at 1 hours notice and provided us with all the information we needed including a very good recommendation for a restaurant nearby. Very good service to make our short stay as good as it could have been.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Windyhill2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The main "Casa" was booked, but Angela had other accommodations a few blocks away that were perfect: room with bath and a small kitchenette. It was a real bargain. We were able to walk to Udine, which is a beautiful and historic city. Nearby are a grocery store, bakery and pizza joint. The train station is within walking distance. Our room was very comfortable, modern and immaculately clean. Angela herself is extremely personable and helpful. We can't wait to come back to Udine and will definitely stay in one of Angela's places.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My husband and I traveled as members of the group described in SeattleRedBear's review, and I can second all of his comments. Angela was extremely helpful, including arranging at my request a dinner of traditional Friuli foods at a local restaurant for the 8 of us. The kitchen in the larger apartment is extremely well-equipped and roomy, and my husband was able to prepare dinner for six of us one evening when we didn't feel like going out.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soriamoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Casa Angela is basically two separate apartments (each with 2 bedrooms) on the second floor of a 3-story house. The house is owned by two sisters (Angela's sister lives on the top-floor) and there is a ceramics studio on the first floor. Very private, very quiet. Both apartments have a fully-stocked kitchen, the apartment on the left (south) has a large open, living/dining room in addition to the kitchen, the apartment on the right has just the kitchen with a dining table. The bedrooms in the left apartment share a bathroom while the bedrooms in the right apartment each have a bathroom ensuite.

Angela is a commercial buyer and the B&B reflects that. Very stylish design and nice artwork. The great room in the south apartment gets lots of light and was the perfect place for the eight of us to hang out and trade stories after a day of sightseeing. The house is located about a 5 minute walk from the train station away from town (so about a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town). The advantage of not being right directly in town is that parking on the street is easily available and it's very quiet, but it's a short walk to town.

Angela is great! She provided us with maps and answered our many questions about what to do, where to go, where to shop, where to eat, etc. Our stay couldn't have been any better thanks to her.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
311 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Udine
B&B Hotel Udine
#11 of 22 in Udine
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
362 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
0.8 mi away
Friuli
Friuli
#7 of 22 in Udine
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Angela

Property: B&B Casa Angela
Address: Via Calatafimi 7, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Angela B&B Udine is located in a Art Nouveau building from the early 1900s completely renovated and situated in an area without traffic and with a garden. Bed & Breakfast Casa Angela is located a stone's throw away from all the main attractions of the city of Udine. The castle and the old town centre are at 500 metres, the station is 800 metres as is the bus station (for the urban and extra-urban link and with the airport of the region). Casa Angela is an excellent starting point to sightsee the city and regional historic sites, as well as nearby Venice. It has three bedrooms with private bathroom, two flats with kitchen, heating, air conditioning and the possibility of outside parking space. For those who like cycling, Casa Angela has 2 bicycles available for guests so they can go around Udine discovering the picturesque surrounding places and a workbench for repairs. Casa Angela was qualified by the Comune of Udine as a Superior Comfort quality Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing