We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in downtown Udine - challenge for the Navigation to find”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Italia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel in downtown Udine - challenge for the Navigation to find”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here one night as a stop over.

We like to stay in the centre part of new towns we visit, it gives us an opportunity to get a good view of the place - both driving into and leaving the town as well as the option to do some walking around in the heart of the place.

The price for this strategy in Europe is trying to navigate through narrow and sometimes limited access streets. This process can be either entertaining or stressful - sometimes both at the same time.

Getting to the Astoria drove our rental car navigation system almost completely insane but it was worth the effort. The hotel is situated right on the main piazza and it was nice to shop in the open market in the piazza as well as to stroll around the town.

The hotel is older but with modern plumbing and a sense of some elegance - the bathroom in our suite was quite nice. Ventilation system worked well for us and a decent breakfast is served.

Hallway noise was a bit of an issue in the morning with slamming doors and general sounds of people moving about. This can be a common issue in older hotels with large echoing hallways and high ceilings.

Room Tip: We had a jr suite which allowed a separate seating area, table and chairs. This would be convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    213
    46
    14
    1
See reviews for
56
140
40
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We(me and my wife) have stayed for two nights from 5th July, '13. The main objectives were to visit unique cities such as Palmanova(octagonal shape), Cittadella(medieval walled town), Villa Manin(The last Doge's palazzo), etc. incuding the beatiful renaisance city, Udine.
First of all, I dare to say this hotel is in incredibly good quality vs its price, i.e. both the reception lady and the man were kind enough to respond to my curious questions anout 5 tipical Friulano restaurants at Udine, etc. He has even prepared the ranking list for me. The room was clean and quite quiet(our room was No.206) without any noises like air-conditioning. This is because it is Japanese air-conditioning. The price per night was only 99 Euros. I can't help but admit that this hotel is one of the best-value 4-starred hotels in Italy in the light of my experiences of ca. 300 stays in that country. Also, the hotel is conveniently situated in the center of Udine, ca. 10 minutes walk from Udine station. Another thing about restaurant. Despite the receptionist's suggestion on the restaurant offering the tipical Friuri cuisine, we have chosen the hotel's restaurant because the menu seemed to be tipical Friurano. In fact, the dish of Lumache(snails) and Funghi(mushroom) was really tasty and we could feel terra's taste. If we would have an opportunity, we would come back. July 2013 from Tokyo, Japan

Room Tip: If finding a hotel with quality service, tranquility and good location at Udine, this Astoria Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as our base for our first outing to the Friuli region after reading about it in an article and seeing the great reviews on tripadvisor and booking.com.

We opted for a larger room and were not disappointed. The well appointed bedroom would have been a bit small on its own, but with the addition of a living/sitting room it was very comfortable.

We loved Udine and spent one night sitting out on a piazza having drinks and later dinner. There was good shopping, but in a incidental sort of way. While exploring the beautiful historic part of the city, you couldn't help noticing nice shops as well.

We had a rental car and drove around quite a lot, focusing on the areas around Cividale and San Daniele. The San Daniele ham is a must and you don't have to be a gourmet to come away dreaming of having a Berkel slicer and a good ham at home. In Cividale we had some of the best tagliata with porcini you could imagine.

Overall our three day trip was fantastic and the hotel a perfect base. Many others have commented on the helpfulness of the reception staff, which we can only reiterate. Especially Annalisa made us feel at home and well looked after, but her colleagues were equally attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Astoria is a great find in Udine. I've spent a couple of nights in the Astoria hotel on a business trip. I've really enjoyed my stay, the hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were friendly, kind and very helpful providing excellent customer service. I highly recommend the Astoria, it is great value, has comfortable beds and offers wonderful hospitality. On my departure I've left my jumper behind and before even I've realised, they've called and had arranged to send it after me to the UK. Gianni was particularly helpful in arranging this with my assistant. I will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I do not think I have given a hotel a higher review. I am an experienced traveller (over 35 years) and the location, service, standard of accommodation were all first-rate. I hope to return later this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Pleasant service, great location, good breakfast, garage in hotel. Plenty of space. I have been here often, I shall be back.
Perhaps the indications in the roads in central Udine indicating the way towards the hotel could be more ample, as it is not easy to find driving - at least if you do not have a good up to date navigation system in your car.

The business friends organized a dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent, both the set up and food & wine.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jubail, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

hi

I had a business trip in udine city –Italy and I spent all the period in Astoria hotel the best hotel in Udine. I really enjoyed my staying there since its located in the Udine historical heart center surrounded by lot of shops, restaurants and high class location. Every day when I came back from my work there I find my relaxation in the hotel and enjoying the walking in the surrounding area. Astoria has an excellent staff friendly , kind and very helpful they let me feel that I am between my family. Also they have a professional management who take care about the guests satisfaction. Additional to that the hotel restaurant is an excellent restaurant and there you will find the real tasty Italian meals very tasty all the thanks for the Astoria hotel chef. Astoria is really the best hotel in Udine city.

Room Tip: my room was in the front and it was excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
321 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Allegria
0.8 mi away
Hotel Clocchiatti & Next
0.3 mi away
Friuli
Friuli
#7 of 22 in Udine
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Italia

Property: Astoria Hotel Italia
Address: Piazza XX Settembre, 24, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udine
#3 Business Hotel in Udine
#3 Family Hotel in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Hotel Italia is an elegant building situated in the historic city centre, just at the frontdoor of the pedestrian area. Thanks to this excellent location, our Guests can easily discover the artistic, cultural and leisure activities of Udine. Our long experience in the Hospitality industry combined with a high level of professionalism, make the Astoria Hotel Italia an ideal place for anyone looking for refined quality, personalized services, high level of comfort and practicality. GARAGE - RISTORANTE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Udine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing