We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully eccentric”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully eccentric”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Everything about this hotel and restaurant is pleasantly eccentric. The decor. The layout. The breakfast...let's start with breakfast.

This is a spa and wellness hotel. So the breakfast buffet reflects it. You will find vitamins on the buffet. Their muffins are steamed in mason jars rather than baked, and come in many varieties including a "herbal purifying muffin". You scoop honey straight from the comb. A plain croissant is labelled as "empty". It's a little heavy on the baked goods and light on the full-English breakfast style stuff, but the wide selection of trad Friulian cakes makes up for it. By the way, you can have dessert for breakfast, too--the buffet includes the likes of a creme brûlée.

The restaurant, though, is where the lovable oddness of the place really takes off. The family who owns the hotel support every kind of programme that celebrates regional and seasonal Italian food. They're part of the Unione Buoon Ricordo, which means that if you order the local special main course, you'll be given a souvenir ceramic plate to take home. (I did. The dish was a rabbit croquette, and it was great). But my husband got he piece de resistance. He ordered the steak tartare and it arrived on a glass box containing hay. Earphones were attached, and the soundtrack to accompany his meal played cowbells and mooing. A splendid bit of theatre.

But one item busts the La di Moret from a five star to a four. When my husband and I checked in, we needed to be very firm with the desk staff. Yes, we we're two men in the same room. Yes, we booked a double bed. No, we don't want to change rooms. The desk clerk consulted with her colleague who asked us the same questions over again. They looked distinctly uncomfortable, and if we had not been a long-married gay couple who are unselfconscious about such things, they would embarrassed us.

I know that Italy does not share the same commitment to gay rights that the rest of Europe does. But this is the 2014. I'm happy to discuss these matters with La di Moret staff on our next visit--staff who were, otherwise, welcoming and gracious.

The place used to be in the countryside, bout now a neighborhood of shopping malls, big-box stores and offices has grown around it. But the grounds are big enough for you to lose yourself in them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo862, Manager at Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Globaltraveller21,

thank you very much for the very nice words you wrote for us!
We are pleased that your stay here was good and we really like our description as "Wonderfully eccentric" :)

We are very sorry for embarassing you: it wasn't our intention and we wanted just to make sure (maybe too much sure...) that you had the best accomodation for you!
We promise you that next time you will be visiting us, you won't need to be firm and the front desk staff will no longer look unconfortable! we will be friendly and happy to discuss with you this matters.

We really hope to wecoming you again here in Udine,
Our best regards
Front desk Staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    290
    84
    16
    5
See reviews for
71
90
20
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Udine is not known for its tourist trade so I wasn't expecting much from a Best Western. I had the totally wrong idea about Best Western - in Australia they are generally motels not hotels. However, La Di Moret was a hotel of quite high standards. The staff were all very friendly and did their best to assist with any request. The restaurant is unbelievable. The food is Michelin Star standard - presentation was fantastic and the flavours exactly right. Breakfast was a delight, three different choices: A 'Wellness' breakfast full of healthy food, a continental breakfast with all the beautiful croissants, brioche and yoghurt and then a full English with eggs and pancetta (instead of bacon) and other hot foods.
The room charges were good, there was free wi fi and a Wellness Centre and gym.
The hotel was about ten minutes out from the historic centre of Udine, about 15 euro in a cab. The only thing wrong with the hotel was its location, dead centre of an industrial area but as most of their business is with those businesses I can't real complain about that. I would definitely stay there again, in fact I'm looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Just ask reception, they are very helpful. I found the first floor most convenient. There's no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineandfoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were very tired after a 33 hr ferry journey from Greece.all of the staff could not have been more helpful and managed to get us in to the first available room at 8.30am which was wonderful.The breakfasts were fantastic with a great selection.The hotel is on the outskirts of town but it would have been easy to get there but we were too tired. Good local restaurant nearby and the hotel restaurant has a very good reputation.would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've been there for a few days and had a great relaxing time at the spa.The hotel is located very close to the town center so it was easy to get there.
The staff at the front desk was very nice and ready to satisfy my requests.
I'll come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave11221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I was many times in the hotel,because I always went to the Messe to Pordenone.The rooms and everybody was really nice.But what is really amazing the restaurant:)If somebody wants to eat an excellent risotto,please try here.I think its the best in Italy:)

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a family wedding last week. Chosen originally because of its location in relation to the wedding venue, but the hotel exceeded all expectations. Above all. I have rarely encountered staff throughout any hotel who were so friendly, courteous and helpful . . . without exception!
I only ate in the American bar where the food and service was excellent, but my friends had the good fortune to eat as a private group in the dining room, and were completely unanimous in their enjoyment and appreciation of an outstanding meal.
The hotel has excellent facilities too - pool, garden areas, gym, wellness, bar, snack bar and restaurant
Don't overlook this wonderful hotel. I would recommend it every time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edo862, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Agamama,

thank you very much indeed for your rewiew. The greatest satisfaction for us is to know that our guests had a nice stay with us. This is our first purpose!

We hope to welcome you again!
Best regards
Edoardo Marini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limbach, Slovakia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Despite the hotel is located at the edge of Udine city, the centre of town is easily accessible. Even the hotel as itself is easily accessible. I would underline the Wellness and Spa centre (perhaps the water in the swimming pool might be a bit warmer), good free wi-fi connection, enough space at the parking place, positive attitude of most of the staff of the hotel and reasonable price for room. The room we stayed was nice, clean and have contained all necessary amenities. Perhaps as accomodation for four people (two adults and two children) it might be more spacious. But we have been absolutely surprised by kitchen of the hotel. Delicious food (cooked mostly from natural / local products) for absolutely reasonable price that satisfied even my wife on gluten-free diet, accompanied by tasty local wines. Perhaps the a la carte menu could be more various. Even the breakfast were more than satisfactory - a lot of fresh and local food (especially bakery).
Perhaps the only negative was unbalanced performance of restaurant staff. The first evening we have been served by three young waitresses during the dinner. Unfortunately ladies have been more focused on local older "playboys" and / or friends than on the guests of the hotel. Later on during the dinner their professional attitude got improved. The dinner on the second day was absolutely different - perfectly organized staff under management of the senior waiter with distinct professional and human attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludo_Limbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
2.7 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Udine
B&B Hotel Udine
#11 of 22 in Udine
406 reviews
2.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
534 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Clocchiatti & Next
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret

Property: Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
Address: Viale Tricesimo 276, 33100 Udine, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La' Di Moret)
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Udine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udine
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udine
#6 Business Hotel in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free private parking, a famous restaurant, and clean, comfortable rooms at Best Western Hotel Là Di Moret, set in North Udine. The recommended Là di Moret restaurant is part of Buon Ricordo, an association that promotes regional cooking. Here you can savour meat and fish specialities, typical of the Friuli region. Enjoy a free, rich American breakfast with Italian flair. Choose from savoury or sweet foods, and homemade cakes, biscuits and muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Udine
Udine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing