We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient and friendly”
Review of Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Principe Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient and friendly”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was a little leery of booking a hotel across from the train station, but Hotel Principe proved to be a good choice. While it's a walk to the main Udine sights, it's convenient to both train and bus (both local and regional) and despite being on a busy street, the courtyard insulates from most street noise. The reasonably-priced room was compact but comfortable and clean, with good wi-fi service and a refrigerator for our wine and snacks. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate - great croissants, good meat and cheese, yogurt, fruit and good coffee. We were made to feel at home and thoroughly enjoyed the city, feeling like we got a feel for how the locals live.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    47
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
21
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Excellent staff. Very helpful and interesting in us getting the best out of our stay in the area. Smallish room but comfortable. Fair breakfast but again nice staff. Very near the train station and the area looks a bit rough. Lots of young people hanging around as it’s also near a McDonalds but nobody bothered us. Very handy for day trips as both the train and bus stations are within a few yards. The hotel has a courtyard for parking and you are away from the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Impeccably maintained modest hotel near train station in the charming city of Udine. All the staff I met were attentive and friendly and the breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was generous in their offerings for a hotel at this price point. The size of the room and bathroom were small for two adults, but the price made it a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel in itself was quite basic, but good value for what we paid. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly which makes me think I would stay there again if I return to Udine.
We were staying for 3 nights for a wedding and the staff arranged a taxi for us to the Villa which was great.
The location is ideal, a stones throw from the bus and train station (literally a few metres away).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

They have a discount for CISM courses participants. This hotel is very close to the train and bus stations. City centre is within walking distance. Rooms are clean and big enough. Breakfasts could be better. I noticed that they don't wash fruits before they put them at the table.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Podroznik_z_Polski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Located just across the train station and a ten minute walk away from the city sights, which is perfect for a solo woman traveler. The rooms were clean, had all the basic necessities, and were quite comfortable. The wifi is free and fast. But the best thing about the hotel is the excellent service. The staff is friendly and incredibly helpful. Their warm smiles made me feel right at home :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pimiento42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We visited Udine, Italy in early September, 2010, and found this hotel on Trip Advisor. It was even better than we had expected and my review title says it all. It was almost across the street from the rail and bus stations and since we were using the train and buses to travel, it was perfect for us. I'd say it was about a three-star hotel at two-star prices.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scooter46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#16 of 22 in Udine
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Udine
B&B Hotel Udine
#11 of 22 in Udine
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Friuli
Friuli
#7 of 22 in Udine
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Hotel

Property: Principe Hotel
Address: Viale Europa Unita 51, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Principe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to visit Udine & the whole Region of Friuli Venezia-Giulia.... We are looking forward to welcome you! Hotel Principe - 3 stars - an oasis of calm in a quiet inner courtyard, situated just in front of the railway-station and few steps from all the other public means of transport, in the heart of Udine. The ideal choice for those who want to explore our beautiful town and the surrounding area. All comfort and attention for the Guests: 24h/service at the reception with professional and multilingual team ready to suggest you nice attractions to see and charming Trattorias & Osterie of the centre to taste typical dishes & wines, all reachable in a short walking distance... Air-conditioning, Wi-fi internet connection & internet-point, private Parking-place for the car... these are are only some of the amenities that we offer You free of charge! Rich breakfast "a buffet" served from 07:00 until 10:30 - but if your train is leaving before this time, or if you have to begin your work before 7 o'clock: don't worry someone will prepare for you a good coffee, cappuccino or tea to start well your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Hotel Udine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing