We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what service should be measured against!!!!”
Review of Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Principe Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Gatineau Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“This is what service should be measured against!!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My husband and I visited Udine for one night while we were with family. We were on our way to Florence after. The hotel is in an excellent location and the service is exceptional.

The people in Udine are so very kind - it is nice to know that they form part of our roots!!!

The staff was more than helpful. We were out when our family arrived at the hotel and they greeted them and chatted with them until we arrived. They took great care of knowing what are plans were - they helpfed us with booking train tickets and even booked us a hotel in Florence. All hotels should be aiming for this level of service as his was great!!! They are the most friendliest people \i have ever met at a hotel.

Great place to stay!! Breakfast was good as well. Rooms extremely clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    47
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
21
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Perfect location - a one-minute walk away from the train station when you arrive with your bags - a ten-minute stroll away when you return from a night out in the city centre. Relatively quiet from trafic and other noise. Nice - rather small - and very clean rooms. The staff is extremely riendly and helpful. They remember your name - and the second morning you come down for breakfast the just as if you "want the same type of coffee as yesterday". Stayed for a week and I hope that I can return to Udine some day - and will not even look for alterntive hotels (unless this is fully booked).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbx-se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

After travelling around and staying in many different places in Europe, the things I have come to appreciate and which this hotel satisfied were:

1) clean, quiet rooms, with lovely crisp clean bedlinen. The bed covers were clean!! The beds were comfy and DID NOT sqeak every time I rolled over.
2) very friendly staff. Infact probably the friendliest hotel staff I have come across.
3) Easy parking
4) close to train and an easy walk to the old city.
5) Breakfast was a good continental buffet with fresh breads.

I didnt have a problem with the area and felt quite safe. I am astonished that people care about what the decor is like in any hotel. As long as the place is quiet and comf and the place isnt falling apart - its fine with me. This hotel was very nice and I would happily stay here again.



.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus-wonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I visited Udine just for the purposes of attending a concert at the Stadio Friuli. I arrived very early by train from Venice, and was apprehensive because I don't speak either German or Italian, and was traveling alone.

I could not have been any more pleased with this gem of a hotel. It was right across from the train station, and right on the bus route to the concert. The room was pristine (I mean PRISTINE), the bed ultra-comfortable, and the breakfast was very nice and very welcome. After arriving back from the concert hot, tired and feeling grubby, the shower, and the efficient room air conditioning felt like heaven!

But what really set this place apart was the wonderful woman who was running the hotel. She was very very kind, spoke excellent English (and German and Italian) and helped me with all the information I needed. The next morning she asked how the concert was, and helped me with 10 minutes of free internet, for which she refused payment. Receiving such friendly, personal service is very rare.

This was the best value of any hotel I have every stayed at in Italy, and from what I saw of the town of Udine, I would not hesitate to come back for a more extensive visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Nice hotel with lovely staff.
Conveniently located to the train station so that you can day-trip to other locations.
Nice breakfast. Good price.
A nice walk into the main centre of Udine.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HJHKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

just back from weekend break.nice hotel near bus and railway stations.staff spoke good english and where very helpful rooms where clean but not great breakfast was ok the area around the hotel is not great but only ten mins from the very nice town centre.good loction for the nearby montains and slovinia all where breathtakeing and we will go back again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

It's been my second time at hotel Principe in Udine, and I have to confirm that it is a very nice place: clean, confortable, very conveniently located neat the train station.

The best aspect is the staff courtesy.

On the minus side, breakfast is just OK, and rooms are quite bland (but very clean).

A nice little no-frills hotel, quite convenient for business travel

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giobatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#16 of 22 in Udine
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Udine
B&B Hotel Udine
#12 of 22 in Udine
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quo Vadis
Hotel Quo Vadis
#11 of 22 in Udine
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Allegria
0.8 mi away
Friuli
Friuli
#7 of 22 in Udine
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Hotel

Property: Principe Hotel
Address: Viale Europa Unita 51, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Principe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to visit Udine & the whole Region of Friuli Venezia-Giulia.... We are looking forward to welcome you! Hotel Principe - 3 stars - an oasis of calm in a quiet inner courtyard, situated just in front of the railway-station and few steps from all the other public means of transport, in the heart of Udine. The ideal choice for those who want to explore our beautiful town and the surrounding area. All comfort and attention for the Guests: 24h/service at the reception with professional and multilingual team ready to suggest you nice attractions to see and charming Trattorias & Osterie of the centre to taste typical dishes & wines, all reachable in a short walking distance... Air-conditioning, Wi-fi internet connection & internet-point, private Parking-place for the car... these are are only some of the amenities that we offer You free of charge! Rich breakfast "a buffet" served from 07:00 until 10:30 - but if your train is leaving before this time, or if you have to begin your work before 7 o'clock: don't worry someone will prepare for you a good coffee, cappuccino or tea to start well your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Hotel Udine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing