We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in 'secret' Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ristorante Allegria
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Lovely staff, a comfortable, modern hotel with good, imaginative food and easy access to some of Italy's hidden history gems; the hotel Allegria has the lot.

Really it does. And there's more: how many city centre hotels with rooms at €120 a night (including a good buffet breakfast) offer valet parking in a secure, underground car park accessed by its own lift, for €11 a day?

None that I know of, and certainly none where the ever helpful Massimo on the front desk (or, once the charming chef) would vanish into the depths of the building and appear a few minute later with the keys to your rental car, parked in the little alley outside.

If it sounds as though I'm making too much of mere parking facilities, consider this: the streets of central Udine are choc-a-bloc with parked cars from morning to night and you'll pay one euro an hour if you find a space. The Allegria is cheap by comparison.

Very well priced in other directions too. It must have cost the family which owns it a largish fortune to rip down the old Allegria a few years ago and build in its place a hotel where even the design of the wardrobes in the bedrooms is carefully considered - and looks like a smiling face with both doors closed.

The shower in our room was quite the largest I've encountered this side of a five star hotel and (rejoice!) there were enough drawers to hide five days' worth of clothing. Amazing how many hotels get that wrong.

Also very right indeed at the Allegria is the staff. Two stand out; Abigail in the dining room and Massimo on the desk. Abi was charm itself and so, so helpful at explaining a dinner menu that had been translated but still left you puzzled. The 'whole strawberry' for desert, for instance. Turned out to be a mixture of sorbet, strawberries, custard and meringue, and delicious.

A small point here; the menu is changed every couple of months but for guests staying the five nights we enjoyed, the choice is a bit limited. Some good Italian staples, like spaghetti, for instance, would be welcome and I'm certain the Allegria's chefs could add their own modern twist.

One delightful unmodern touch is the smart outdoor bowling green, whose artificial surface pays homage to the fact that there's always been a bowls club at the hotel and a total rebuild was no time to ditch the tradition.

You'll find bowlers, of a certain age, enjoying a lazy drink and a game of cards with their friends in the Allegria's modern bar that faces the street which passes the hotel.

A final point. For anyone unfamiliar with north east Italy and who loves the whole Italian cultural experience, from cathedrals dripping in Renaissance paintings to distinguished 18th century villas, the region will keep you busy for days. The Udine tourist office has lots of leaflets, in English, with all the details, but you'll have to ask.

Ask anything of anyone at the Allegria and the answer will be 'yes, of course.'

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We recently visited our daughter who is living in Udine and we based ourselfs in this town.

The GPS took us to the door, getting there without it would have been difficult with the one way streets. You can park your car under the hotel using a car lift - its a bit scary the first time because you don't drive straight in and it is rather tight, I would hate to have had a big car. Cost was about €12 pn.

Location is very good in the heart of the old town and shopping is surprisingly good.

We stayed on 3 separate occasions in different rooms and 2 were quite large but one was small. Rooms are modern and stylish and they are kept clean. We found no street noise or noise from other rooms.

Wifi is free but reception isn't the best. The TV needs some instructions in the rooms because it wasn't simple to work out.

Breakfast was fairly basic but satisfactory. We had one meal in the restaurant and this was average.

Staff were good and friendly. The fact we came back twice after the initial visit suggests we were happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We walked here from the train station with lots of luggage, so it can be done! Very modern hotel, nice rooms, good Wi-Fi, and the owner helped us get the schedule of the private train running between Udine & Cividalle (tip: go to Cividalle for an interesting side trip to this historic and charming town, but if you have a Eurorail Pass, they are no good on this line so you need to buy an inexpensive ticket before you board the train).

Breakfast was good, fairly standard for Italy, in a pleasant room. We enjoyed our time here and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

On our way from Austria to Tuscany we decided to stay in this hotel. It is located in the center of Udine, yet in a relatively quiet street. From check in to check out, our experience was a good one. The staff was very friendly and helpful (with parking my car!) - the restaurant serves decent basic Italian food and our room was well appointed. We also liked the design of the room and the hotel overall. We'll come back on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecoraljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I was traveling in the region of UDINE in Italy and ended up at the Hotel Allegria. Very nicely welcomed by the manager who immediately directed me to the parking under the hotel that can be reached trhough a car elevator. The rooms are brand new, very stilish with modern design and very well kept. It looked that the hotel had just opened a few days ago but infact it is there since several years. I did not try the restaurant but the breakfast buffet had all you need.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Good hotel close to the centre of Udine. Clean good sized room with a great bathroom (loved the big shower room). Windows can be opened (mosquito screen provided!) but be aware that the church bells ring every hour and a good few times more in the morning). The garage is an added bonus, as packing can be very difficult (consider the size of the rental car…it needs to fit in the lift!).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank criparius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We chose Allegria after reading the manager's response to a not-so-complimentary review and were glad we did!! modern and clean, huge bathroom, funky lights in the room, designs on closet doors, hidden kitchen in the room (under the tabletop!) we didn't make use of however. Parking garage with elevator for the car, for a fee that saved us the hassle of street parking, plus we could leave things inside the car. Did not eat at hotel, but found a great osteria down the street with great local dishes. Manager was very friendly, always there, and helpful. Asked for a crib, got one!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mainz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo al Vecchio Tram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
356 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Allegria

Address: Via Grazzano 18, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Udine
Price Range: £78 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Allegria 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegria Hotel Udine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing