We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December 2011 - Short stay”
Review of ElmAgos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ElmAgos
Ranked #15 of 42 Udine B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 December 2011

From the first time I made contact with the owner and througout our stay I was very satisfied. The booking process was clear and simple and all the pre-trip questions were answered very promptly. We were given very easy to follow directions to find the b&b using public transport.

The standard of accommodation is excellent and was in my opinion very good value for money. The purpose of our trip was to attend a football match and we stayed at Elmagos for two nights.

There was a wide range of information available for visitors and in a number of languages. The owners were also very keen to help us during our stay. I particularly enjoyed the fact that the self catering layout ensured that we could enjoy our breakfast at a time that suited our needs. The continental style breakfast was enjoyable and an ample amount was provided for us with fresh supplies provided for the second day of our stay.

On our day of departure there was a public transport strike and we were offered a lift to the main bus station. Again this was very much appreciated by us.

The room we had would be very suitable for a family or for up to 4 people happy to share.

While the purpose of our visit was mainly to attend a football match we did have some opportunity to walk around the town. The weather was poor with rain most of our visit so I cannot say too much more about the town. We did spend two enjoyable evenings in the Black Stuff Pub, and I would recommend this to any visitor looking for an enjoyable drink in a friendly atmosphere.

Travel to and from Trieste airport was ok with an hourly bus service and took just over an hour.

In conclusion I would highly recommend this B&B and would have no hesitation in staying here aagain should be in the area.

Room Tip: As far as I am aware there is only one room available but if this is not the case I do recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ris_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is a real find: a modern apartment with well appointed kitchen, living room entrance area with TV and sofa, 4 piece bathroom with washing machine and a choice of either 1 or 2 bedrooms; well tested air conditioning (in July!); a beautiful flowered private garden in a quiet residential area, just a few minutes south of the train station; in Udine, a small but very interesting city, not yet discovered by the hordes of tourists but offering interesting architecture, history, museums, churches, piazzas, restaurants and bars and also close to shopping centre and large grocery stores.

But best of all are the hosts Marina and children, who spoke English to my wife, and Agostino who spoke Italian and Furlan to me. They were wonderfully helpful and welcoming and made us feel at home. We stayed here for 6 nights but would have stayed much longer if it had been available.

Udine is a great destination, whether you want to explore this corner of Italy at the confluence of 3 cultures or are using it as a base to visit the land of your parents and grand-parents. It was less than an hour's drive to the very interesting towns of Palmanova, Aquileia, Spilimbergo, Cividale, Cormons and Gorizia and to the wine region stretching from Tarcento to Cividale to Gorizia, but you will find wineries elsewhere as well. Also close were the beaches of Grado and Lignano. Udine was well situated for day trips (by train) to Venice or by car to Pordenone, Trieste, Ljubljana (Slovenia), Piran (Slovenian coast) or north into the Alps to Tarvisio and Villach (Austria) or to Tolmezzo and Pieve di Cadore.

All in all it was a great holiday. Grazie E.L.M.Agos e mandi!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

i had the change to experience the hospitality of mediterranean country. udine is a small city to enjoy and visit some historical places. But first of all i met fantastic people there...the accommadition comfortable enough for four persons. after these facilities, now i always prefer to stay in such a house in natural surroundings. flowers all arround the house...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustafa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Marina teaches English, so communication is easy for non-Italian speakers.

One of our goals was to do some genealogy research, Marina set us up with an appointment at the Archives which was amazing! Would have missed out entirely if not for her help!

Lots of local information and help. 2.2 km from the Railway Station. We rented a car, easy parking and navigation, and a bus stop just outside (which we never needed to use).

Large, comfortable apartment. Very clean, well laid out. Nice garden where we had morning coffee, and occasional evening wine. Generous breakfast with yogurt, coffee, juices, milk, assorted packaged baked goods.

Local Restaurant was one of our favorites in Italy. Pizzeria Ristorante Da Mario Di Panico Luisa. (less than 1 km away)

Tip: Let them know how to help you, I'm sure you will be surprised at what they can do for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed the second time in Udine in B&B ElmAgos, and it was just perfect like the first time 3 years ago. In a quite, family atmosphere, with superb hosts - it was just like home. The spacious apartment is equipped with everything you could need, from fridge to coffee machine. I can just recommend ElmAgos - if we travel again to Udine we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kovacs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Great place to stay. Very clean, large appartment. Warm welcome by the owners. A lot of information about Friuli in the appartment. Good place to visit the centre of Udine as well as other cities like Gorizia and Aquileia.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gouda5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This is a perfect place to stay during your vacation in Italy. A roomy, clean apartment in a quiet and nice area of Udine. It is close to the contrieside, yet it is easy to get into town by bus or by foot. Try the nearby pizzeria...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udine hotels
1.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Udine
B&B Hotel Udine
#12 of 22 in Udine
438 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
1.4 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
B&B Casa Stucky
B&B Casa Stucky
#1 of 42 in Udine
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
574 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Friuli
Hotel Friuli
#5 of 22 in Udine
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ElmAgos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ElmAgos

Address: Via Lauzacco 78, 33100 Udine, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Udine
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place Beautiful villa, lovingly attended to by the owners who are proud of the garden which offers colorful and attractive nooks in every season of the year. The atmosphere will relax you while walking along the paths or climbing the stone steps or simply sitting in a shaded corner. The Attic - short lets apartment The two-bedroom apartment in the loft is for the guests use only, so they can enjoy their privacy in a stylish and pleasant environment. The apartment is perfect for a short stopover but also for longer periods: for work, for study, for your holidays: whenever you want to experience a charming atmosphere. At present 4 beds are available, but for special requirements we can comfortably accommodate more people. The kitchen and the sitting room are also available to the guests only. It is perfect for families, groups, couples or independent travellers. Where We Are... apartment is in Friuli, in Udine, a region and a town where the food and wines are excellent, where those who happen to arrive, usually come again a second and third time... where many choose to take up their permanent residence. Because you simply feel fine here, and the people are unique. You can reach Venice in less than two hours and in the evening you can be back home again. But there are lots of other places not to be missed: Aquileia, Cividale, Palmanova, Lignano, Grado, Trieste, San Daniele, Gemona, Venzone..... and the Collio area famous for its wines inns and.... wonderful sceneries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing