We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria a Cantina de Mananan

Osteria a Cantina de Mananan
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Corniglia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

You should book if you want to eat here . It's small and popular. The waiter is very friendly and helpful. Not a huge menu, but it seems all fresh and local. Eating here is a good experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    132
    45
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varese
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good solid restaurant but no WOW effect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Osteria is located in the heart of Corniglia. It is a tiny place with very few tables. Table is kept only up to 10 minutes and the owner becomes really grumpy if any delay occurs in your arrival time. The food was nice, typical ligurian dishes although choices rather limited. Restaurant has lovely atmosphere, mainly due to friendly Andrea (speaks excellent English). Interesting decor of naked men working on wine production. It put us off ordering wines from this region. White wine Vermentino has been a delicious supplement. No alternative dishes offered to people with food allergies :-((

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaPasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The atmosphere and food we look for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

All the food is local, fresh, and freshly prepared. Staff was knowledgeable, capable, helpful. We could have sat there for hours soaking up the Ligurian atmosphere. The food came in a timely manner however so sadly the evening came to an end.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vermonter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love, Love, LOVE This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently visited Cinque Terre and stumbled onto this place by accident. Food was outstanding. Service was great. Plus, we were lost, and our server went out of his way to help us understand the strange trail system of Cinque Terre. He got us on the right trail and ultimately got us to our destination.

We think the food we had here was the best meal we ate in Italy. If you visit there, don't miss this stop.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authentic Ligurian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

this tiny osteria (informal) is a fabulous find for the 3 of us (parents+1 teenager). the food was simple yet stunning, partic the spag w pesto, pasta w anchovies, homemade panforte. the service was fantastic, the ambience perfect. the menu is in Italian written on the wall, there is a funny multilingual explanatory note regarding ordering coffee (eg. expresso, not cappuccino during the day) and other "tips". the locals were eating there when we visited in late December.
I cannot rate it highly enough compared to other eating places in the cinque terre (touristy)!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gohawks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria a Cantina de Mananan also viewed

Corniglia, Cinque Terre
Corniglia, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Osteria a Cantina de Mananan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing