We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Corniglia”
Review of Sole Terra Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sole Terra Mare
Ranked #4 of 13 Corniglia B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved Corniglia”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This little village was wonderful. I loved being away from all the tourists at the end of the day. I picked Sole Terra Mare because of all the wonderful reviews about the host. She must have been exhausted the day we arrived. She showed us to our room while talking with a friend, gave us the keys, and left. We stayed in the TERRA room because that was the only available room. It looks exactly like the photos on the web site. I asked about the view in an email and she said "Has a good view of the sea, the entrance is on the private driveway where there is a sea view and country." I was disappointed when I realized you had to be at a certain spot in the room near the window for any view of the sea. The room just above us had a balcony with a wonderful view. Check into that room if you go and maybe you will find the host on a better day.

Room Tip: TERRA is small and limited view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeLover1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Great room, clean , spacious, lovely bathroom. Claudia helped us get settled and she was very accommodating. Loved staying in Corniglia (despite the 400 stairs to the village); we found it to be the quietest of the five villages. Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in the "Terra" room, which was exactly as pictured, if maybe a little small, but adequate for two people. The bed was comfortable, the room well decorated and stocked with maps and such, and the bathroom clean. Agree with the other reviewers that the mirror is mostly useless. I would recommend getting one of the apartments if able. It was a real plus to have free parking with the room too, which made it a real value when you consider daily parking in the village is 20E. However, be warned the drive in and out of Cinque Terra is hair raising, requires a small car, and takes longer than you think to cover just a few km. You will have to carry your bags a short walk from town. Also, be aware that the Corniglia train station is about 100 meters below the town, reachable by 380+ steps or a windy hilly road. If you arrive by train, you can take the bus up into town, however, it was never running when we needed it. Its a long climb. Also, we went in April expecting only to hike because the weather would be too chilly for the beach, but it was actually quite nice beach weather and we wish we had carved out some swimming time.

Room Tip: Get an apartment room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Great apartment in quiet section of town. Eleanora was very helpful and accomodating. The apartment was decorated simply but tastefully. Very clean! There was even an outdoor garden with chairs where we sat at night to look at the stars.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiningspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed in the Terra room which is simply a bedroom and bathroom, no kitchen. The entry is via a typical narrow paved Corniglia lane which also doubles as a balcony for watching the sunset over a beer or two. The decor is lovely and rustic - the welcome exception being the a/c. Great shower, spotless bathroom, antique mirror complete with faded mercury (tricky when applying make-up). The best part was definitely Eleanora. We were initially due to arrive at 7.30pm but, due to flight delays, arrived exhausted at 10pm. I had texted Eleanora to let her know as we had arranged to meet in town and she very kindly offered to pick us up from the train station. What a sweetie!
BTW - Corniglia is a great base if you're looking to excape the hoards. There are 369 steps to climb to get into town - which puts most tourists off. Of course, they don't know about the regular shuttle bus you can catch into town which makes life easier.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My family stayed at Sole Terra Mare for one night in the apartment. Eleonora, the owner, met us and showed us to the apartment, parking, and various places in town. She was delightful and very resourceful!! The apartment is darling, updated, and clean. It slept 4 comfortably, has air conditioning, a gorgeous balcony view overlooking the sea, and was supplied with fresh beautiful linens. Although we did not cook or eat in the apartment, it was stocked well for cooking/eating purposes should that be your intention. Eleonora went out her way to accommodate our every need! We will definitely be staying at Sole Terra Mare again, and next time for many more days!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_jones1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Eleonora is a great host and her apt is perfectly clean and decoarted.
She is a very nice and available person that does this work with passion and quality of the service. She waited unitl midnight to check in the room!
Apt is availabler with equipped kitchen.
Exceptional quality/price. Compliments.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
189 reviews
2.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Terrazze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Ristorante & Camere
0.1 mi away
Sandra Villa Rooms
Sandra Villa Rooms
#1 of 13 in Corniglia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Terra Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Terra Mare

Property: Sole Terra Mare
Address: Via Serra 20, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Corniglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New small private hotel opened in summer 2004: 3 rooms (2 double rooms, 1 room for up to 4 people) with ensuite bathroom, very tastefully furnished and spacious. Two of the rooms have seaview, one with balcony and the other with terrace, umbrellas and chairs. Two rooms have a fridge, all have airconditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sole Terra Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Terra Mare Corniglia, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing