We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rather pricey for just a room, but that's the Cinque Terre for you”
Review of Sole Terra Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sole Terra Mare
Ranked #4 of 12 Corniglia B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rather pricey for just a room, but that's the Cinque Terre for you”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were in the 'Terra' room for three nights in August 2012. It's on the quieter side of Corniglia, clean and comfortable, but rather dark (no windows, only the door). It's true there is a sea view if you look out of the door at the right angle. We had the use of the little private terrace space at the back of the house, which was nice. The bathroom was OK except the shower curtain let the water through a bit. There was a water flow problem at one point but Eleonora came round and fixed it straight away. Eleonora herself was quite friendly and met us at the bus stop on arrival. She chatted a bit and gave us a complimentary half-bottle of wine (there's a fridge in the room), but didn't really give us much useful information. There was a rather random selection of leaflets.

It's easy to cover all 5 of the Terre on foot in three days, even with some of the paths closed. Corniglia is probably the nicest and (relatively speaking!) quietest because it doesn't get the boat trippers. But you're never alone in these parts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwhoever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

In the small hilltop town of Corniglia in the Cinque Terre, helpful Eleanora rents several apartments to visitors. We stayed in the Mare apartment which had a double bed and two single beds and included a kitchen. Small terrace with nice view of the town and the Ligurian Sea. Also had a seating area outside the front door with a table and chairs. Very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning adequate. If you have a car, Eleanora will meet you and guide you to a private parking space (a rarity in the Cinque Terre) where the car will stay until you leave. Expect a good number of steps from the parking area to the apartment. Eleanora provided excellent information about exploring the area. Corniglia is a lovely little town atop the hill. Access to the train requires a ride on a shuttle bus, or a walk up or down about 400 stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed two nights in Sole and our friends in Terra. Both units were very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We had a perfect stay. Eleonora was a wonderful host and even brought us a basket with vegetables from her garden our first morning there! The garden (with patio furniture) next to the rooms was available for use and was lovely for having dinner in the evening. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking to stay in the area. We found Corniglia to be much less crowded and touristic than Riomaggiore and Manarola and it offers splendid views itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent few days, end of July 2012 in Apartmant Sole.
Very clean, fresh.Eleonora was great host, provided us a lot of tourist and other information about a village.Helped us with parking, bags, and welcommed us with her own tomatoes.All people in village helped us how to make some domestic food, in domestic ways. Very near to small shops where you can buy everything you need, great quality. Everyone says hello to you, so you feel really at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandarD71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in the Mare apartment for 2 nights just a couple of weeks ago. Our biggest regret was that we did not book it for longer. Eleonora was very welcoming and the free parking spot was a real bonus. The apartment was spacious, even for our family of four, and it was very clean and tastefully decorated. The view of Corniglia and the ocean was beautiful. I would highly recommend Corniglia over the other four villages as it was not overrun with tourists. We would love to return to Corniglia one day and I would definitely book the Mare apartment again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikegb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in the Sole for 5 nights. We had a very clean and well equipped flat which still has character and charm. The view was beautiful and the hostess, Eleanora was extremely kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, AK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Corniglia and hiked to all the other villages (had to take the high trail south to Manarola as the low trail was washed out - well worth the extra effort, the views are outstanding). We had the ground level and the apartment above, and both were quite comfortable (though the mirror still needs replacing downstairs). The units are nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. The view from out front of the unit is breathtaking, and the garden patio was a nice place to sit and relax in the evening w/ a glass of wine. Eleanora was quite easy to communicate with via e-mail, and quite helpful upon our arrival. It is definitily a hike up from the train station, especially with luggage, be sure to ask about help with your bags if arriving by train.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwreedak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
2.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Torre
La Torre
#10 of 12 in Corniglia
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandra Villa Rooms
Sandra Villa Rooms
#2 of 12 in Corniglia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Terra Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Terra Mare

Property: Sole Terra Mare
Address: Via Serra 20, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Corniglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New small private hotel opened in summer 2004: 3 rooms (2 double rooms, 1 room for up to 4 people) with ensuite bathroom, very tastefully furnished and spacious. Two of the rooms have seaview, one with balcony and the other with terrace, umbrellas and chairs. Two rooms have a fridge, all have airconditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sole Terra Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Terra Mare Corniglia, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing