We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, historic apartment with dramatic views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole Terra Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corniglia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sole Terra Mare
Ranked #3 of 13 Corniglia B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic apartment with dramatic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in beautiful Corniglia. The apartment was gorgeous and bigger than expected. The restaurants, bars, and shops of Corniglia were within stumbling distance, as was the main hiking trail. Wi-fi in the apartment would have been nice, but this is a minor complaint as the owner has arranged for free wi-fi for guests at a nearby cafe. Price was reasonable. Don't stay here if you don't like going up and down lots of steps (if so, you might do well to avoid Cinque Terre altogether!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xu08gjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have been in Sole Terra Mare last week with a couple of friend . We had the room on the ground floor and they had the one on top flor with kitchen.
We had a lovely time . The room was really clean and confortable and the position of the appartment was absolutely lovely. We also had a small terrace where we could eat and relax and it was like a little corner of paradise.
The owner Eleonora was really helpfull and kind.
I defenetly advice this place.
I actually would like to spend few word about the room where we stayed on the ground floor. I ve read a review where this room was compared to a cave ...really dark....
Well if you are looking for a de luxe hotel then you should have choose somenthing else!!!!
Thanks Eleonora it was absolutely great
Sabrina and Peter

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This apartment was huge, clean, and in a great location. Eleanora was a wonderful host - she met us at the bus stop when we arrived in town and made herself readily available. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evfrgsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were in the 'Terra' room for three nights in August 2012. It's on the quieter side of Corniglia, clean and comfortable, but rather dark (no windows, only the door). It's true there is a sea view if you look out of the door at the right angle. We had the use of the little private terrace space at the back of the house, which was nice. The bathroom was OK except the shower curtain let the water through a bit. There was a water flow problem at one point but Eleonora came round and fixed it straight away. Eleonora herself was quite friendly and met us at the bus stop on arrival. She chatted a bit and gave us a complimentary half-bottle of wine (there's a fridge in the room), but didn't really give us much useful information. There was a rather random selection of leaflets.

It's easy to cover all 5 of the Terre on foot in three days, even with some of the paths closed. Corniglia is probably the nicest and (relatively speaking!) quietest because it doesn't get the boat trippers. But you're never alone in these parts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwhoever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

In the small hilltop town of Corniglia in the Cinque Terre, helpful Eleanora rents several apartments to visitors. We stayed in the Mare apartment which had a double bed and two single beds and included a kitchen. Small terrace with nice view of the town and the Ligurian Sea. Also had a seating area outside the front door with a table and chairs. Very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning adequate. If you have a car, Eleanora will meet you and guide you to a private parking space (a rarity in the Cinque Terre) where the car will stay until you leave. Expect a good number of steps from the parking area to the apartment. Eleanora provided excellent information about exploring the area. Corniglia is a lovely little town atop the hill. Access to the train requires a ride on a shuttle bus, or a walk up or down about 400 stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed two nights in Sole and our friends in Terra. Both units were very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We had a perfect stay. Eleonora was a wonderful host and even brought us a basket with vegetables from her garden our first morning there! The garden (with patio furniture) next to the rooms was available for use and was lovely for having dinner in the evening. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking to stay in the area. We found Corniglia to be much less crowded and touristic than Riomaggiore and Manarola and it offers splendid views itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent few days, end of July 2012 in Apartmant Sole.
Very clean, fresh.Eleonora was great host, provided us a lot of tourist and other information about a village.Helped us with parking, bags, and welcommed us with her own tomatoes.All people in village helped us how to make some domestic food, in domestic ways. Very near to small shops where you can buy everything you need, great quality. Everyone says hello to you, so you feel really at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandarD71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Il Saraceno
Hotel Il Saraceno
#1 of 1 in Volastra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Terrazze
0.0 mi away
La Torre
La Torre
#9 of 13 in Corniglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandra Villa Rooms
Sandra Villa Rooms
#1 of 13 in Corniglia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Terra Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Terra Mare

Property: Sole Terra Mare
Address: Via Serra 20, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Corniglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New small private hotel opened in summer 2004: 3 rooms (2 double rooms, 1 room for up to 4 people) with ensuite bathroom, very tastefully furnished and spacious. Two of the rooms have seaview, one with balcony and the other with terrace, umbrellas and chairs. Two rooms have a fridge, all have airconditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sole Terra Mare Corniglia, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing