We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto
Ranked #6 of 13 Corniglia B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Thank you Antonio for a wonderful experience in your magnificent town of Corniglia by far the prettiest of the 5 towns. Staying at Il Gatto was a highlight of our European trip. The town itself is gorgeous and our apartment was PERFECT! My husband and I and our adult daughter who flew in from London to Tuscany first, stayed together in the apartment. It was cool having our own bedrooms with big comfy beds. It had plenty of room and a to die for view of the vineyards and the ocean. We all sat on the small balcony watching the sunset with a glass of local wine bought from the friendly grocer on the square. My daughter said she is coming back with her partner and another couple so he can have the experience as well. It was great to be able to catch up on our washing and be able to cook our own Italian cuisine with Antonio's home made pesto courtesy of his lovely wife. Every day we filled our water bottles and added a squeeze of lemon from the ones on the table as we set out our adventures to the neighbouring towns.

I hope to visit you again one day!
Love and light Marilyn & Marcel & Kali

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarryMe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

During a balmy early summer weeks we lived in Il Gatto in Corniglia. Corniglia is a charming little village, situated in the Cinque Terre. We rented an apartment in a house, called Il Gatto. Owned by the family Spora and is located centrally in the village in a beautiful red house. The apartment was very well equipped and well maintained. All facilities were clean when we arrived and gave the apartment a clean and fresh look. On the small balcony we sat often and listening to the sound of waves and small birds chatter.

We will gladly return to the charming little village with friendly locals. Then we hope to hire Il Gatto again and take advantage of the knowledgeable and friendly Antonio Sporas stories about life in Corniglia.

We recommend Corniglia and Il Gatto to anyone who asks!

Maria & Cecilia

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaAqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the B&B for 3 nights during last week of May, 2012. Most of the reviews state that apartment is difficult to get to due to the steps. All I have to say is that if you are afraid of 15-20 very wide steps, then you shouldn’t be going to Cinque Terre in the first place. All five villages and trails are nothing but steps and roads that are on the incline.
Antonio is a great host. Great apartment, very large per local standards, clean, 2 separate bedrooms, living room, and kitchen that will fit 6 people. Great views.
To get to the apartment take a green bus (free with CT card, 1.50 without card) from the train station to the square to avoid walking up the stairs.

Highly recommend, would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAZAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

To get to Corniglia is not for the faint-hearted. You have to negotiate an at times very narrow precipitous road where there is hardly room for cars to pass each other. However, once you have arrived on the tiny village square, you come to realize that Corniglia is a very charming small village situated on a hilltop with vertical drops on two sides, I would guess, some 100m above the Mediterranean Sea.
Once we had arrived, I called Antonio, the proprietor of Il Gatto, and within a few minutes he was there to welcome us, that is my wife, my cousin and her husband from Australia, and, of course, to accompany us to the apartment which is located some five minutes away. The comfortable apartment is well equipped with everything you would need for a longer stay bar a TV set and includes a very good central heating system which we were in dire need of as the weather was anything but warm and sunny (end of April/beginning of May). We were very appreciative of that. It was a good place to come home to, so to speak, after our lengthy excursions to the other Cinque Terre villages, as well as to Portovenere and Portofino.
It has one outstanding feature: fabulous sunsets viewed from the balcony as well as views of the village of San Bernardino high above Corniglia.
Mind you, getting to the apartment is not the easiest as you have to negotiate a number of steps and staircases. This means that you have to put in a fair effort to drag your suitcases over these obstacles. It does require a certain fitness and mobility. The good thing is that you only have to do it twice. The other problem is that of parking your car as space is in very short supply. After we had unloaded the luggage, we had to drive the cars up the hill and park them a fair distance away from Il Gatto.
I want to be fair to Antonio, who is a really nice person, but I have to describe not only the apartment, which is, as I have already stated, very, very nice, but getting there is not that easy. Both my cousin and her husband have had hip and knee operations and for them an easier access would have been very beneficial.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband & I stayed @ Il Gato for 10 days recently. The area is a very special place & the view from the small terrace is breathtaking. Antonio & his wife are delightful & make sure that everything is just right for your memorable stay. The kitchen is complete & will save you money from having to "picnic" or eat out constantly. The open market in La Spezia ( Monday-Saturday )is amazing for fruits & vegetables, flowers, cheeses, pastas, seafood, etc. Well worth the quick train ride! At sunset, there is no better place to be than on your terrace...... with a view to always remember! Grazie Antonio & his lovely wife, for allowing us to stay in your very special home! Ciao, Diane & Rob

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HulaGirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We recently stayed at Il Gatto B&B Casa while traveling in Italy. The accommodations were just perfect for the four of us (two couples) - washer, fully equipped kitchen, great view, close proximity to anywhere in Corniglia, exceptionally clean - and most important, our host, Antonio Spora, was both gracious and very helpful. There is even a pullout bed in the living room if one was traveling with children. Corniglia is a great central location in the Cinque Terre - very quiet, beautiful overlooks, and fun hikes in any direction (including up!). We would definitely stay there again, and the apartment was very reasonably priced (especially since we split the bill in two).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united states
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The apartment was not available so Antonio offered us a small room that Antonio had available located right below the apartment. We paid 60 euro a night. It was a very small but being a young couple we didnt mind and it had a spectacular view of Corniglia and side view of the ocean. Breakfast was not included but there are plenty of places to grab a cappuccino and croissant or fruit at the fruit market nearby. The train station is about a 15min walk down hill (or up coming from the train station) or there is a set of stairs that you can take but you can also take the green shuttle that runs every 15min for 1.5 euro per person. Corniglia is a great place to stay..it is much smaller than the others, but we would stay again. Antonio will meet you at the shuttle bus stop and walk you to the room. He is very nice and speaks a little of everything!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloImV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Terrazze
2.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 31 in Riomaggiore
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandra Villa Rooms
Sandra Villa Rooms
#1 of 13 in Corniglia
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Ristorante & Camere
0.0 mi away
3 Passi Dal Mare
3 Passi Dal Mare
#5 of 13 in Corniglia
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto

Property: B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto
Address: Via Alla Marina 14, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Corniglia
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the center of Corniglia, one of the famous suburbs of the "Cinque terre". We can offer to you an apartment with two rooms, bathroom, kitchen and living-room. The apartment is well equipped, comfortable and in unique enviable position. In fact fabulous panorama can be admired: the bay of the harbor and "Punta Mesco", the suburb with the 1300 church and the coast with its terracing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Casa Vacanze Il Gatto Corniglia, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing