We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment for our family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto
Ranked #6 of 13 Corniglia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment for our family”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandsons stayed at il Gatto for 3 nights the end of August, 2012. We arrived in the square of Corniglia via the "green bus" which brought us from the train station tired and hot after a long train ride from Venice. After getting off the bus, we were gathering our thoughts and wondering how we were going to find our apartment, when a booming voice called our name. Antonio gave us a very friendly greeting and promptly led us down the narrow street, down some steps into our 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the Sea. The apartment was everything we could have asked for - close to the market and to the main square where you catch the green bus to the train station. It was spotlessly clean with a washing machine, fully stocked kitchen and wonderful breezes drifting in our windows from the Mediterranean. We all loved our stay at il Gatto and would highly recommend this apartment. It is also close to good restaurants and a short walk to the La Cinque Terre trail to the next medieval city of Vernazza, Manarola or Riomaggiore. What a wonderful place to visit and il Gatto a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The first floor apartment was a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmarie340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Upon our arrival at Corniglia on July 1st, my daughter and I hopped on the bus from the train station and were deposited uphill in the lovely village square. We explored the narrow alleys until we found Antonio's B&B, with our host himself arriving a few minutes later (we were late) with a big smile, fresh lemons and fluent French. We had a chat in the clean, fresh kitchen and then were given our keys and local knowledge to fully enjoy our three-day stay.

The apartment felt like home, we'd open the large shutters morning and evening to let the sea breeze in, and just sit there staring at the surrounding vine-covered hills and sea, sipping cold lemon-infused water. At night came the faint sound of waves crashing against the cliffs: my daughter and I decidedly spoiled ourselves by taking one large bedroom each and read and slept according to our own rhythm. I hand-washed some clothes and hung it on the balcony. Also, the kitchen was so well equipped I considered cooking (wonderful local produce), but decided we would explore all day and eat out.

Corniglia is the middle village, so on our first day we took the train to Riomaggiore, where Francesco, who happens to be the coast-guard, agreed to take us on an hour boat ride with his tiny daughter. He recommended the beach around the corner from the bay so we spent the rest of the afternoon there. Afterwards, train ride to Manarola where we had a delicious supper in one of the uphill restaurants. The next day, we took the train from Corniglia to Monterosso, spent more beach time there and then hiked to Vernazza, where we had dinner in one of the small bay's restaurants.

On the last morning, I had my morning coffee as usual at Matteo's (where one evening a TV had been brought out in the little square for the Italy-Spain finale - no big cheers that night! ) and then Antonio came to meet us with his wife for goodbyes .... and some souvenir-shopping together. Life is good and the people in Corniglia certainly know how to keep it so. Thank you!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in Antonio's apartment in Corniglia. Corniglia is a very magical place and was our favourite of the 5 villages by far. It was much less touristy than the others but still had plenty of restaurants and cafes to enjoy. The apartment was very comfortable with lovely views to both the sea and the stunning surrounding hills. Antonio was the perfect host and even surprised us by turning up to meet us at the bus station even though we were really late and had not been able to get in touch to let him know what time we were arriving! Il Gatto was the perfect place to stay in the cinque terra and we are hoping to go back again very soon! Osteria a Cantina de Mananan is a lovely restaurant a stones throw away from the apartment!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just a note to say that I stayed for five nights at Il Gatto with my partner and adult daughter in late June. Corniglia is a perfect location in that it doesn't have the hordes of tourists of other CT towns, yet it has enough good restaurants and several decent shops/deli's to keep you busy. It is in the middle of the CT so it is very convenient for exploring the area. The marina at the bottom of the hill is never crowded and a great place for a pre-dinner swim. Il Gatto itself is a real home away from home - great kitchen (full gas stove and oven), a washing maching, great coffee pot, comfortable beds and cute balcony for watching the magnificent sunset or that final after dinner Limoncello (or 2)! It is extremely clean. The apartment is on the edge of Corniglia so has an uninterrupted view to the West. Antonio is a great host (providing us with lemons and rosemary from his mothers former garden next door) and even provides the phone number of his son (who speaks good English) in the unlikely case of an emergency. Antonio met us at the green bus on arrival and briefed us fully on the local walking tracks and shops before heading home to La Spezia. We thought the two bedroom apartment was great value - especialy for two couples or a family - and thoroughly recommend it. It was highlight of our 2012 trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Thank you Antonio for a wonderful experience in your magnificent town of Corniglia by far the prettiest of the 5 towns. Staying at Il Gatto was a highlight of our European trip. The town itself is gorgeous and our apartment was PERFECT! My husband and I and our adult daughter who flew in from London to Tuscany first, stayed together in the apartment. It was cool having our own bedrooms with big comfy beds. It had plenty of room and a to die for view of the vineyards and the ocean. We all sat on the small balcony watching the sunset with a glass of local wine bought from the friendly grocer on the square. My daughter said she is coming back with her partner and another couple so he can have the experience as well. It was great to be able to catch up on our washing and be able to cook our own Italian cuisine with Antonio's home made pesto courtesy of his lovely wife. Every day we filled our water bottles and added a squeeze of lemon from the ones on the table as we set out our adventures to the neighbouring towns.

I hope to visit you again one day!
Love and light Marilyn & Marcel & Kali

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarryMe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

During a balmy early summer weeks we lived in Il Gatto in Corniglia. Corniglia is a charming little village, situated in the Cinque Terre. We rented an apartment in a house, called Il Gatto. Owned by the family Spora and is located centrally in the village in a beautiful red house. The apartment was very well equipped and well maintained. All facilities were clean when we arrived and gave the apartment a clean and fresh look. On the small balcony we sat often and listening to the sound of waves and small birds chatter.

We will gladly return to the charming little village with friendly locals. Then we hope to hire Il Gatto again and take advantage of the knowledgeable and friendly Antonio Sporas stories about life in Corniglia.

We recommend Corniglia and Il Gatto to anyone who asks!

Maria & Cecilia

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaAqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the B&B for 3 nights during last week of May, 2012. Most of the reviews state that apartment is difficult to get to due to the steps. All I have to say is that if you are afraid of 15-20 very wide steps, then you shouldn’t be going to Cinque Terre in the first place. All five villages and trails are nothing but steps and roads that are on the incline.
Antonio is a great host. Great apartment, very large per local standards, clean, 2 separate bedrooms, living room, and kitchen that will fit 6 people. Great views.
To get to the apartment take a green bus (free with CT card, 1.50 without card) from the train station to the square to avoid walking up the stairs.

Highly recommend, would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAZAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
3.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Terrazze
2.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto

Property: B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto
Address: Via Alla Marina 14, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Corniglia
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the center of Corniglia, one of the famous suburbs of the "Cinque terre". We can offer to you an apartment with two rooms, bathroom, kitchen and living-room. The apartment is well equipped, comfortable and in unique enviable position. In fact fabulous panorama can be admired: the bay of the harbor and "Punta Mesco", the suburb with the 1300 church and the coast with its terracing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Casa vacanze il Gatto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Casa Vacanze Il Gatto Corniglia, Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing