We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town”
Review of Marina Piccola

Marina Piccola
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Manarola
Price range: US$13 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Wollongong Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best location in town”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Perched overlooking the water this restaurant has a large outdoor area which you should definitely book for. Great seafood, good service and while it is a bit more expensive than other places in town, it feels appropriate. We celebrated a birthday here and it met all our expectations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lyn4268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    421
    194
    98
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood and fun staff”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I went with four other friends. All but one of us had seafood, and all were pleased. I ordered a lobster and pasta dinner they had for two and shared it with one of our friends. It was very good. We had a really fun waitress as well, and she just rounded out a perfect meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuncoSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Watched the sunset at Manarola and decided to grab dinner. This was the first spot we came by and the michelin guide stickers lured us in. A guy helped us for the rest of the evening (sort of).
I had the prosciutto e melone for starter and sword fish as a main course. The prosciutto was amazing and fresh. My friend ordered the ansjovis as those were to be a specialty. None of it was true. The waiter that was supposed to help us was nowhere to be found so we asked another one for pepper and salt to eat away the ansjovis. And just as my friend took the last bite, the guy brought the main course. Didnt ask if everything was ok. Just took away the plate and put the main course down and walked away again. We had to ask another waiter for peperocino. The girl walked away annoyed and the guy brought it to our table and walked away again to talk to the customers behind us.
Swordfish was so-so and when we tried to ask for the bill we had to wait until the guy finished his conversation with the table behind us to start the conversation again when we asked for the bill and had to wait again.
So no surprise we didnt tip them. Not coming here any time soon.

Helpful?
Thank Chellodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great on a balmy night”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked a table al fresco and arrived just before a magnificent sunset.

Whilst my husband ordered the wine I ducked out to the other side of the harbour and took some fabulous shots of the sunset.

Marina Piccola has an al fesco dining area near the harbour and also an enclosed indoor area.

We enjoyed the entire evening here. The food was very tasty - we had pasta and fish dishes. The service was unremarkable. So what's not to like?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandview301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg, TN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Food, bad Attitude”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I had dinner and decided to go early so that we could have a seat with a good view and we were accommodated with a seat overlooking the harbor. The menu offered mostly seafood which is what we were looking for.

Soon we found that the seat we were given was right on a busy street and that the cigarette smoke and the sun, which was blistering hot was a problem. We asked to be moved and after some heated discussion we told them to give us the bill for our drinks and we would find another restaurant.

The waitress agreed and huffed off to the office. Almost immediately, a gentleman who must have been the owner came out and asked us if another seat would work for us and we agreed.

The waitress returned and we started to order. Because several of the menu options only for two people we were very limited in what worked for us so I asked if it is possible to get a single serving even if there was a up charge. The waitress went off on us and walked away. Again, the owner arrived in a minute or two and with a little discussion and understanding we had a deal.

We ate our dinner but really did not enjoy our meal due to the attitude of the waitress who was discussing us with a co-worker, thinking that we did not understand what she was saying. While we do not speak Italian well, we do understand enough to know that she was basically and loudly calling us names that could easily be heard by the owner of the restaurant, who did nothing.

Oh well, you win some and loose some. Every dining experience in Manarola was fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marina Piccola also viewed

 
Manarola, Cinque Terre
Manarola, Cinque Terre
 
Manarola, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Marina Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing