We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' de Baran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' de Baran
Ranked #16 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in a small room , next to the office. The room was spotless and the location very hard to beat- steps from the waterfront. This room was 50 m from the train station but we didn't hear any noise.
Lorenza was very nice and helpful - a real proffesional person!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_dabija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    21
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in a small room close to the main office, right next to the ramp coming down from the upper village. The room was impeccably clean and offered a (reliable) hot shower and air conditioning. We shared a little terrace with two other rooms, but it offered a beautiful view, and we never saw any of the other tenants out there. The absolute best part? You're less than 100 m from the waterfront!
In terms of the service, cash-only was a little frustrating (the ATM was broken, so we had a difficult time putting our deposit down), but the staff were very nice and very helpful. And the price couldn't be beat! 60 Euro for our room, which is actually 10 Euro LESS than we had pain to stay in the Hostel our first night in Manarola.
A note of caution - my husband and I live in the city and are used to dealing with city noise (we sleep with earplugs). The train did run close by our room, and you could definitely hear it. We did not find this to be distracting or annoying at all, and with the earplugs we did not find it interrupted our sleep. But if you're more sensitive to noise this might be a consideration. When they bring you to see the room, ask if you can wait to see how loud the train is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Overall the Terazza apartment was great, it was clean with plentiful space and balcony. It's situated 4 storeys up, so may pose problems for some. If arriving by car, then you need to park min 20mims wall away as all traffic access is blocked, only locals can drive anywhere near the centre. In the 36*c heat, it was a bit of a struggle, but to enjoy car free roads/paths was great.

Other downfalls was that there wasn't really a sea view, which is not the end of the world as we spent more time in the sea, which is literally 4min away. There is only Internet at the office, which is located downstairs which is not accessible from the rooms.

Cinque Terre is a great place to visit with beautiful scenery and walks along the mountain edges.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank richielee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at Ca' de Baran in early July 2013, and we had a great time. The room was very clean and the owner, Lorenza, was very friendly and helpful. Location was great - close to the sea and the train station. There was some noise from the train station, but only during the day. Only bad thing about the room was the squeaky bed...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnePedersen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a refreshing stay at Ca' de Baron. The customer service by Milena upon my arrival made our stay made all th difference. Not only did she meet us at the train station but she also took us to a wonderful restaurant where we could relax and have a prime Italian meal. My daughter and I enjoyed our very own terrace as well as a cozy, elegant room. We took advantage of swimming in the sea each morning with a delicious picnic of food from the local grocery store.
A must for a relaxing get away and don't forget to enjoy the ergonomic chair in the room and the tasty coffee and biscuits left at your disposal. vvvvvvvvvhhhhhhhhhhwwwwwwwwwwww!
sorry for the misspelled words but my computer is not functioning properly....must be too much sunshine and ocean swimming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marykweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here, right on the main drag, close to everything....including the train! It's deafening! Clean, tidy and lovely. Really good for young couples, but if you are after privacy, maybe head elsewhere? The whole street could look in our window!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was our favorite among our 3 hotels and 2 apartments during our recent 3 weeks in Italy. The Marina apartment has a balcony with a view of the sea. We appreciated having a clothes washer and only 15 steps up from the street. Access from the train station was as good as it gets in Cinque Terre, and there were excellent places to eat nearby. The manager couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. There was a little noise from the neighbors at the back during the night but surprisingly little from the street. The mattress was firm, the linens bright and fresh, the rooms spacious and immaculate. The Marina apartment is a comfortable, convenient place to stay and a great value!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portland_ORFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#7 of 21 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giovanni Rooms
Giovanni Rooms
#10 of 17 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' de Baran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' de Baran

Property: Ca' de Baran
Address: Via Renato Birolli 50, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ca' de Baran 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ca' de Baran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca' De Baran Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing