We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marina Piccola
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, NH
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All around good deal”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Manarola is the place to stay if you want the Cinque Terre experience without feeling like you are in a tourist trap. It's small and quiet and, staying there, you feel like one of the residents. The hotel has a great location near the small harbor and the view from our room was extraordinary (top floor, #9). If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this may not be your choice. But it was comfortable, adequately appointed, and very homey. The staff are its greatest attribute. They were organized, friendly, attentive to our needs, etc. They made reservations on our behalf and spent an inordinate amount of time helping us to access our lost luggage. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the staff here were really also lovely, very helpful, and friendly. We ate dinner on a cliff overlooking the ocean as the sunset. It doesn't get better than that.

Room Tip: Room #9 is on the top floor (a suite) with a private bath, balcony over the street, and a spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    111
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
45
161
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The service in this restaurant and the food is less than average.
Proud and arrogant service personnel.
I am disappointed.
The only good thing is the view. Bottomline.

Cinque Terre is simply not what it used to be. Italy is not! It's dirty and unfriendly and costs way too much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very cosy place, with an amazing view over the habour.
Very good service and delicious food. A very good Michelin experince at very reasonable prices.
I recommend their Tunna tatar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Manarola is a bit "off the beaten path" and this little hotel was more of a place to stay than a beach resort. Which is exactly what we were looking for.

Arriving is a bit of a chore as we had to lug our bags quite a way from the train station down the main street (pedestrian only) to the marina. Then we got some more sherpa practice as we discovered that our room was on the third floor and there was no lift. (Hint: You do not need that much wardrobe variety in Cinque Terre anyway ... leave half of it at home!)

Once we were settled in, though, we began to be charmed by the town, the staff and the hotel itself. The room was quite comfortable with a window that looked out over the marina and the sparkling blue Ligurian gulf. Things like electric outlets and wardrobe space were a bit limited, but this was only a very minor issue. The sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below soon put things in the proper perspective.

The staff was very friendly, though not all spoke English. We managed. Little touches like free bottles of cold water whenever we left were very nice. And the breakfast was delicious. Fresh breads & pastries, cappucino on demand, and a nice selection of melons and other fruit got us fueled for the day. And fuel was necessary! Hiking the hills above Manarola ... especially the rather challenging route to Corniglia now that the coastal path has been closed ... took a lot of energy!

We also tried dinner at the terrace restaurant, also overlooking the marina. It was great. Acciughe con limone (anchovies with lemon) were fresh and delicious and the local white wine (sampled frequently during our short visit) was a perfect match.

We visited all five of the Cinque Terre and Manarola was probably our favorite. I hope (and expect) we will be back, and if so, I woiuld not hesitate to stay again at Marina Piccola.

Room Tip: If you do not mind stairs, ask for 301 ... great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirtuallyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine, ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Ten of us stayed at Hotel Marina Piccola in April, ranging in ages from 7 to 76. This small hotel is in the heart of town near the sea. Although, the weather wasn't the best, the hotel was comfortable and clean and had a wonderful breakfast. None of the rooms we stayed in had a view, but since the hotel is right near the water and marina, and since there is so much beauty to be seen throughout La Cinque Terre, it didn't matter. The beds were comfy and I had the best shower of my 3 week vacation here. The owners/front desk persons were cordial, not overly friendly, but helpful when needed. Rick Steves doesn't give them much of a recommendation, and I usually follow his hints, but I'm glad that we took the risk and stayed here in spite of his tentative endorsement (because of the lack of friendliness). Note: One reason I did not give it an excellent rating is that every time we had to use the internet, we had to get a coupon and we felt as though we were bothering the front desk, not to mention that the internet connection from the rooms was poor, so we often had to go to a little sitting area next to the front desk to be online.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is a very convenient hotel for exploring the Cinque Terra -- centrally located, cozy, great views, and the breakfasts and dinners were good too. Family run, the staff did seem rather stretched and tired, but we don't need much attention so it wasn't a big deal. It was a nice place to have a relaxing stay, and to hike from.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in rooms no. 4 & 5. The rooms were great - no. 5 had fantastic sea views, reasonable sized double room and no. 4 was a large double with views of the village.
This small hotel is brilliantly located and has the best restaurant in town.
We found the staff always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
592 reviews
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Piccola

Property: Hotel Marina Piccola
Address: Via Renato Birolli No 120, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Piccola 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marina Piccola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Piccola Hotel
Marina Piccola Manarola
Hotel Marina Piccola Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing