We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovanni Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giovanni Rooms
Ranked #10 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Manarola is an ideal spot in Cinque Terre. Giovanni is a good personable guy and the room was updated and adequate. HIs site was a bit misleading showing the larger room with a balcony however. I thought it was a bit overpriced but still a good place nonetheless.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We booked to stay in giovanni rooms after carefully researching which of the five towns we wanted to stay in. We choose manarola as we had heardnit was the prettiest and the leat effected by the landslides.

However, there was a booking mix up, whereby i had sent Giovanni emails and was receiving blank emails back from him. I thought it a little odd, but thought maybe his email had a virus. Anyway, turns out he never got my credit card details and therefore he had no booking. After much agrument we stayed one night and then he fixed up four nights at his parents place, frank and maria rooms, in Vernazza. Giovanni really needs to invest in an electronic booking system. Asking guests to send credit card details over email is dangerous and prone to incidents like this. I was heartbroken at not being able to stay in manarola- we spendt all our time gettin the train back there to eat and sulk about not being able to sta there.

In terms of frank and maria rooms, my advice is to avoid staying in vernazza full stop. If you do, be prepared to be woken by jackhammers at 7am each morning! Also, the rate is high, at $110euro a night- at least get a discounted rate to compensate for your lack of sleep. We already agreed to the rate before realising how bad it was and cant help feeling like we were stiched up.

Manarola is def the pick of the five villages

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arriving in Manarola for your first time is a unique experience. The town is perched precariously on the side of beautiful mountains that spill into the ocean. Looking up the steep mountains is one thing but dragging your bags up them is quite another. Be prepared for a steep climb through the town to get to the meeting point at the church as described in the other reviews. Once you've passed that initiation rite the rest is great!

As promised Giovanni met us at the piazza and carried our bags a short walk to the apartment. You must pay for your entire stay in cash before he leaves. Take the advice he provides in the welcome emails before your arrival and get the Euro before entering the town. It makes your arrival less stressful - ATMs in small towns have a habit of running out of cash in Italy.

The room is functional and appointed appropriately with a small refrigerator, free WiFi etc, glasses, in-room safe. Keep in mind this is an apartment and not a hotel room so you get the quirks that come with that - you can retrieve your own extra towels from a cupboard in the hallway, there isn't daily room cleaning and (at least in our room) there was clothing rack not a closet.

Oh and the view - unreal. Our second floor room looked out over the city and the hills directly opposite the town. For the price it is definitely a great value.

Room Tip: There are rooms without a view so make sure you request a view when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights, and found it a perfect place- simple, large, very comfortable, with windows and a small terrace that opened onto the incredible view of the town, the tiny harbor and the sea. Plus a lovely kitchen that let us have breakfast or afternoon drinks on our own. All the Cinque Terra towns are a steep climb, so don't be surprised. Just enjoy it. Giovanni made it easy for us, meeting us the town square, calling a restaurant on our behalf for dinner. I"m sure he would have done more, if we had asked. He asked us in advance to pay cash, so we can prepared. But there is an ATM machine in town if you need it.
This is a town far removed from big city living- that's its great charm. This place lets you enjoy that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were there for 3 days and in the large 2 bedroom apt. The view is wonderful, and after visiting all the towns, we thought Manarola was the best town to stay in. Not too touristy and beautiful. Some of the other towns are still under construction from the mud slides in the fall.
The apartment was clean, well equipped and the kitchen had what was required so that we could make breakfast and have light dinners, after our large lunches. Which saves money. There was a TV (not sure about wifi) but all the stations are in Italian. Our only complaint was the shower, it had such a small place for your feet. It is meant as a combo tub-shower, but doesn't work well as either. But lots of hot water and good pressure.
Some people complain about steep climbs and steps- my response is if you can't do any climbing, or take a few steps you shouldn't come to Cinque Terre. The whole area is steep and all of the towns are hilly. There are some easier walks, but no matter what, even the easy walks require one to go up hills to get to the walk. CT is gorgeous place and well worth the visit. If you hike, go early, as it gets hot in the day. And you must eat at Trattoria Billy's, a fews steps from the apt. Best meal ever, but you need reservations at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orileslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We arrived in Manarola and was greeted by Giovanni. He was very nice. He took us up to our room. When he showed us our room it was quite underwhelming. There was no TV or iPod Dock as advertised. We stayed two nights in the room that did not have a sea view. Giovanni mentioned that because we were not staying in the sea view room, he offered a discount of 20 euro on the spot. From previous reviews of the 'Panorama' room on trip advisor, we felt that paying only 20 euro less for the room we actually got was not worth the money. It was probably worth less than half of what we were charged for such a small room. If you are not staying in the room with the sea view, then I advise you to find another place to stay as the other alternative is not value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllyBui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The things we liked were:

Giovanni met us in the square and carried our bags to our room.
Although it seemed a long way up a steep hill on first impression, in fact the location wasn't too far from the station/deli/shops and was much more convenient than where others were staying.
Wine shop just down the road open late!
Safe in the room.
Two adjoining rooms. Each with modern bathroom. One with good seaview.
Not too many stairs to our room.
We loved cinqueterre and enjoyed the hiking, the weather, the scenery, and the views.

What we didn't like:

Booking made via booking.com said credit cards accepted but when we got there he said must be cash. Said he emailed us three days before we arrived but even if he did we left home about three weeks ago! Would not accept CC. Made us get cash from local ATM and pay upfront. Would not wait til we were checking out.
Free Wi fi was confirmed via email when we booked but not installed "it is being installed tommorrow afternoon" which of course never happened.
Room not serviced daily. But was serviced on the second day (we booked three nights M T &W).
The hand rail on the stairs stops before the bottom step. I obviously wasn't paying attention because i fell down the stairs at this point and bruised my arm and my bum on my way to the landing three steps down!
Giovanni arrived unnannounced accompanied by a workman at 4pm on day 3 while i was having a nap and started doing electrical or shutter maintenance work (i'm not sure exactly what) without any prior notification.
No TV and no ipod player (although advertised). Heated towel rail not working although we did manage to get things dry by putting the aircon/heating on high.
No hairdrier.
No drinking glasses.
With a name like giovanni's rooms and an email from giovanni i assumed our host would have lived locally if not downstairs but in this case our host lived in la spezia so i didnt take him up on
his offer to 'call if you need anything'.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 17 in Manarola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#7 of 21 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Levante
Sol Levante
#9 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arpaiu
Arpaiu
#4 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni Rooms

Property: Giovanni Rooms
Address: Via Ettore Cozzani 22, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Giovanni Rooms 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovanni Rooms features three new luxury double to quad rooms and an attic : the structure is located in Manarola, 5Terre, in the main plaza of the town. The luxury rooms are all new with all the comforts for a perfect stay:from the windows you can enjoy a gorgeous view on all the town and the sea. The attic have two balconies, kitchen and a amazing view on all the town, the hills around and the sea. Write or call us for an amazing stay in the lovely Manarola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Giovanni Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giovanni Rooms Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing