We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst guest service during our Italian roadtrip”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Giovanni Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giovanni Rooms
Ranked #10 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The worst guest service during our Italian roadtrip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

You will certainly have your daily work-out staying in this property, it's on the top of Manarola, close to the church square. Needless to say, the view is fantastic.The rooms look oke, nothing special, but it does the job. It is very dusty though, because my boyfriend and I had a lot of problems with our astma and dust allergy, which we only have if a room is not dust-free. No breakfast.

The thing that really pissed us of is the woman being the 'host'. I really don't know why she works in tourism, because she's terrible with people. When we arrived she seemed very annoyed that we were a bit early and said we had to leave and couldn't leave our bags. We just climbed to the top of the village with heavy suitcases and 40 degrees! With our suitcases we couldn't go anywhere in 5 Terre! I said I was heavily disappointed and explained the situation, upon which she groaned we could leave it in the room. What a welcome! The same situation happened when we asked to leave the bags for a few hours after check-out, so we still had a few hours on the beach. Later on we found a key on the street, and we thought it was a good idea to give it to the hotel, so they could contact the hotel that owned it. When we gave it to her her face looked like we just used her hands as a toilet, and shouted that this wasn't her's and she just smashed the door in our faces. Her husband was a lovely man though... that poor thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, so on the right side of the building. Even on the 1st floor you can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovanniRooms, Proprietario at Giovanni Rooms, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Mr/s Dutch Delight
Giovanni Rooms feels really sorry about what happened to you with that very bad host. But I (Giovanni, the owner) wanted to underline that no one else work with me here. I mean, it is impossible you found a terrible female host, just because there are no one working with me here.
I personally do all the check in. Moreover, if you told me before that you need help with your bags, i've certainly been happy to come at the train station and help you with your luggage.
So I think your review is simply wrong, since it is absolutely IMPOSSIBLE that you meet a female host here at Giovanni Rooms.
If you think not to be in error, please send me an email with your details and the description of this hostess.
Respectfully.
Giovanni
Giovanni Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you're looking for the ideal city and spot to stay within Cinque Terre this is it. My Wife and I stayed with Giovanni Rooms for two nights on a two week Italian vacation in August and could not have been happier with our selection.

The room is modern, had great air conditioning, and we were fortunate enough to have a gorgeous view of the sea and city down below. Giovanni was there to greet us upon arrival and gave us great recommendations and ideas of what to do while staying there. Those looking for a full fledged hotel with all the amenities are going to be disappointed, but we knew what to expect and loved it.

The only thing I'd comment on is the walk from the train station up to the room, while only 5 minutes, is straight uphill and can be tough with lots of luggage or for elderly. However, it was kind of nice to be up on the hill a bit removed from the main area of Manarola.

I would recommend this location!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbsy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The room is in a great location/village. Great view of the village from our room. Just a quick walk to the water, ferry and restaurants and shops. Its a bit tricky figuring out where to park...you have to park at the villages parking area (top of the village) and then walk (with you luggage) down a long road, then into the town and carrying luggage with you, down an alley with sloping stairs and then up a steep flight of stairs within the building. So pack light and plan to walk. That's really the only down side. Giovanni seemed really nice and speaks fluent English. He met us at the entrance of the building and even helped carry our bags. The check in process was simple... meet, pay for the room (only takes cash, so prepare to pay with cash when you arrive), get quick explanation of the room's features (modern, new bathroom and touches) and then leave your keys on the counter in your room when you check out. We did have to request toilet paper and towels after the first day, as it was not adequately stocked (housekeeping only comes twice a week). We called Giovanni and he brought it to us within minutes. Also there was not coffee in the room as advertised... but there are lots of places in the village to get a great cup.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanyg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our rooms had a great view of the town and ocean, but they did NOT have any air conditioning as was advertised. It was quite warm the first night, but tolerable the next 2 nights. The kitchen had no towels, and for 3 people, we were only give a total of 4 small thin towels to use. There were ants in every room. Overall, this was not a good value for our money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovanniRooms, Proprietario at Giovanni Rooms, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Hello Marty K.
Thank you for writing a review about my place.
Replying to this review, i wanted to correct some untrue things you report in the review above.
First of all, the A/C is not included in the apartment you've reserved. infact, if you see in Booking.com or Expedia, the "Two Rooms Apartment" have no sea view. This is simply not mentioned. Anyway, no one ever complained about the lack of A/C, since the apartment have so many windows you can have a tornado inside it. But the point is that the apartment is not mentioned to have A/C in all the booking website.
About the ants problem, this is connected to the town itself : you can find ants in all the town of Manarola in summer. Once you find them inside, you rip them our and not leave foods open, they'll not come back again. I wrote an ad in the kitchen NOT TO LEAVE FOODS OPEN, in order to avoid the come of the ants.
I underline that there were no ants in the apartment prior to your arrival.
Respectfully.
Giovanni
Giovanni Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights July 2013. What a beautiful place for our family! WE cooked in the kitchen and enjoyed the wonderful view!!! Giovanni was great and very helpful. The location is up a hill but ABSOLUTLY worth the view!

Would return and plan to.

Cheryl
San Diego, CA
USA

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Giovanni Rooms, at the top of Manarola, offers very nice rooms at prices nearly as steep as the walk up to them. However, the views from our room were magnificent and the room itself was all that one could want. Giovanni is friendly and helpful, but if we had seen him before we left, we would have told him that it's always a good idea to stock the bathroom with shower gel and shampoo, especially when charging boutique prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJohn882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was fabulous, I highly recommend it for a family trip so you can rent out all the rooms. The views are spectacular, the rooms are spotless and modern. Its nestled perfectly into the little town of Manarola. Giovanni couldn't have been any nicer, our train was running late and so we arrived a little past the time we had told him we would be there and he was VERY understanding of the whole situation. We also accidentally locked ourselves out of one room and with a swift phone to Giovanni he came back within 10 minutes to open the door.
Overall, the only bad part of this hotel was that I had to leave.
I would HIGHLY recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zander b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 17 in Manarola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#7 of 22 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arpaiu
Arpaiu
#6 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' de Baran
Ca' de Baran
#14 of 17 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni Rooms

Property: Giovanni Rooms
Address: Via Ettore Cozzani 22, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Giovanni Rooms 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovanni Rooms features three new luxury double to quad rooms and an attic : the structure is located in Manarola, 5Terre, in the main plaza of the town. The luxury rooms are all new with all the comforts for a perfect stay:from the windows you can enjoy a gorgeous view on all the town and the sea. The attic have two balconies, kitchen and a amazing view on all the town, the hills around and the sea. Write or call us for an amazing stay in the lovely Manarola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Giovanni Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giovanni Rooms Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing