We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room, great service. Thanks Giovanni!”
Review of Giovanni Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giovanni Rooms
Ranked #7 of 18 Manarola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Giovanni, and his property made our experience in cinque terre a great one!
We arrived and soon realized anywhere in cinque terre is hard to navigate. So we got straight on the phone to giovanni for directions. He gave us a clear place to meet, then took my girlfriends bag all the way up to the room. A true gentleman! Furthermore, I was shattered, and he quickly offered to also carry my bag. Much appreciated!
The room was perfect, the view is absolutely stunning, and the apartment is equipped with quality appliances and fittings.
Giovanni came through with the goods once again with restaurant recommendations. Benys was exactly what we were after. We ran out of toilet paper, called giovanni, he was at our door in ten mins.
Considering the ideal town manarola is, and the most perfect rooms giovanni offers, I would highly recommend staying here.

Have read a few reviews here, good read for a good laugh! Important point to make is, if something's not right, give giovanni a call and give the opportunity to resolve rather than lashing out on trip advisor and looking like a fool.
Thanks giovanni. Legendary!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Order66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at Giovanni Rooms at the end of August and couldn't have chosen a better place. It's located in Manarola which was one of my favourite villages in Cinque Terre.

The view was absolutely breathtaking. Yes, you do have to walk up a very steep hill and some stairs to get to the apartment but once you're there it's worth it. Giovanni was extremely helpful and met us as soon as we arrived. He carried out luggage up for us which was great as the room is at the top of some steep stairs.

The room itself was very clean and had a comfortable bed. It looks like it has been recently redone as all the facilities are fairly new. There is wifi and a fridge available, as well as a kettle for making coffee and some wine glasses.

The only downside for the whole weekend was the number of ants, however there was a cleaner who came every day who got rid of them for us. Giovanni also very kindly kept our bags for us on the last day as we were only leaving later in the afternoon.

If we ever come back to Cinque Terre I'll definitely stay here and recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are definitely the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJH008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

You will certainly have your daily work-out staying in this property, it's on the top of Manarola, close to the church square. Needless to say, the view is fantastic.The rooms look oke, nothing special, but it does the job. It is very dusty though, because my boyfriend and I had a lot of problems with our astma and dust allergy, which we only have if a room is not dust-free. No breakfast.

The thing that really pissed us of is the woman being the 'host'. I really don't know why she works in tourism, because she's terrible with people. When we arrived she seemed very annoyed that we were a bit early and said we had to leave and couldn't leave our bags. We just climbed to the top of the village with heavy suitcases and 40 degrees! With our suitcases we couldn't go anywhere in 5 Terre! I said I was heavily disappointed and explained the situation, upon which she groaned we could leave it in the room. What a welcome! The same situation happened when we asked to leave the bags for a few hours after check-out, so we still had a few hours on the beach. Later on we found a key on the street, and we thought it was a good idea to give it to the hotel, so they could contact the hotel that owned it. When we gave it to her her face looked like we just used her hands as a toilet, and shouted that this wasn't her's and she just smashed the door in our faces. Her husband was a lovely man though... that poor thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, so on the right side of the building. Even on the 1st floor you can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovanniRooms, Proprietario at Giovanni Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Mr/s Dutch Delight
Giovanni Rooms feels really sorry about what happened to you with that very bad host. But I (Giovanni, the owner) wanted to underline that no one else work with me here. I mean, it is impossible you found a terrible female host, just because there are no one working with me here.
I personally do all the check in. Moreover, if you told me before that you need help with your bags, i've certainly been happy to come at the train station and help you with your luggage.
So I think your review is simply wrong, since it is absolutely IMPOSSIBLE that you meet a female host here at Giovanni Rooms.
If you think not to be in error, please send me an email with your details and the description of this hostess.
Respectfully.
Giovanni
Giovanni Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you're looking for the ideal city and spot to stay within Cinque Terre this is it. My Wife and I stayed with Giovanni Rooms for two nights on a two week Italian vacation in August and could not have been happier with our selection.

The room is modern, had great air conditioning, and we were fortunate enough to have a gorgeous view of the sea and city down below. Giovanni was there to greet us upon arrival and gave us great recommendations and ideas of what to do while staying there. Those looking for a full fledged hotel with all the amenities are going to be disappointed, but we knew what to expect and loved it.

The only thing I'd comment on is the walk from the train station up to the room, while only 5 minutes, is straight uphill and can be tough with lots of luggage or for elderly. However, it was kind of nice to be up on the hill a bit removed from the main area of Manarola.

I would recommend this location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbsy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The room is in a great location/village. Great view of the village from our room. Just a quick walk to the water, ferry and restaurants and shops. Its a bit tricky figuring out where to park...you have to park at the villages parking area (top of the village) and then walk (with you luggage) down a long road, then into the town and carrying luggage with you, down an alley with sloping stairs and then up a steep flight of stairs within the building. So pack light and plan to walk. That's really the only down side. Giovanni seemed really nice and speaks fluent English. He met us at the entrance of the building and even helped carry our bags. The check in process was simple... meet, pay for the room (only takes cash, so prepare to pay with cash when you arrive), get quick explanation of the room's features (modern, new bathroom and touches) and then leave your keys on the counter in your room when you check out. We did have to request toilet paper and towels after the first day, as it was not adequately stocked (housekeeping only comes twice a week). We called Giovanni and he brought it to us within minutes. Also there was not coffee in the room as advertised... but there are lots of places in the village to get a great cup.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffanyg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our rooms had a great view of the town and ocean, but they did NOT have any air conditioning as was advertised. It was quite warm the first night, but tolerable the next 2 nights. The kitchen had no towels, and for 3 people, we were only give a total of 4 small thin towels to use. There were ants in every room. Overall, this was not a good value for our money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovanniRooms, Proprietario at Giovanni Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hello Marty K.
Thank you for writing a review about my place.
Replying to this review, i wanted to correct some untrue things you report in the review above.
First of all, the A/C is not included in the apartment you've reserved. infact, if you see in Booking.com or Expedia, the "Two Rooms Apartment" have no sea view. This is simply not mentioned. Anyway, no one ever complained about the lack of A/C, since the apartment have so many windows you can have a tornado inside it. But the point is that the apartment is not mentioned to have A/C in all the booking website.
About the ants problem, this is connected to the town itself : you can find ants in all the town of Manarola in summer. Once you find them inside, you rip them our and not leave foods open, they'll not come back again. I wrote an ad in the kitchen NOT TO LEAVE FOODS OPEN, in order to avoid the come of the ants.
I underline that there were no ants in the apartment prior to your arrival.
Respectfully.
Giovanni
Giovanni Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights July 2013. What a beautiful place for our family! WE cooked in the kitchen and enjoyed the wonderful view!!! Giovanni was great and very helpful. The location is up a hill but ABSOLUTLY worth the view!

Would return and plan to.

Cheryl
San Diego, CA
USA

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arpaiu
Arpaiu
#5 of 18 in Manarola
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 18 in Manarola
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni Rooms

Address: Via Ettore Cozzani 22, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range: £43 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Giovanni Rooms 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovanni Rooms features three new luxury double to quad rooms and an attic : the structure is located in Manarola, 5Terre, in the main plaza of the town. The luxury rooms are all new with all the comforts for a perfect stay:from the windows you can enjoy a gorgeous view on all the town and the sea. The attic have two balconies, kitchen and a amazing view on all the town, the hills around and the sea. Write or call us for an amazing stay in the lovely Manarola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Giovanni Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giovanni Rooms Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing