We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Giovanni Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Giovanni Rooms
Ranked #10 of 18 Manarola B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in May, in the top floor suite. It has a great view of the town plus some ocean. The hill slope was decorated with lit-up Christian figures at night and was extra beautiful. Very nice kitchen too.

One funny little detail - when you arrive you will press a button which will call the owner. He then remotely opens the door for you, and the key is supposed to be in the room. When we got in, we couldn't find the key...until about 10 minutes later my son noticed it's just hanging on the wall, next to the mirror! The last guest either forgot to put it on the table, or was trying to play a small joke with us.

Remember to get the right amount of cash too, otherwise you'll have to wait for the cleaning lady to come and pay her.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulaohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    20
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you visit Italy, Cinque Terre is a must. we stayed two nights in Manarola (very quiet & relaxing). Be prepared to walk up the hill if you are staying in Giovanni rooms, the view is worth it and I chose to be at the top. lot of stairs to the hotel and narrow stairs inside the hotel to the room. the room is super clean as well as the washroom. instructions printed and you don't meet staff at all. The owner is available if you need anything by cell phone and we paid cash upon checking out by putting the money in an envelope and leaving it in the room. Quite an experience, different from any other place but really worth it cause you r visiting a unique spot. Wifi didn't work in our room.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the sea, the best view ever. a view of the colourful houses of Manarola and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawsan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a nice hotel with a really good view of the small town Manarola.
It was a basic room with a basic bathroom, everything was very clean and the staff that helped us was nice. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Insisted that we pay in cash, yet had no change. Refused to allow us to leave our bags to collect them later. This really, really annoyed me. Overly expensive. Nice room, but no view. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endamc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

i stayed for only one night and i really enjoyed my stay. the room was really nice, modern furniture, AC, modern decorated spacious bathroom, high speed wi fi connection, and most importantly an amazing view from my window.
i emailed them with my arrival time as requested and i got quite a late reply. it took us a while till the door was opened for us (an old lady living in the same building opened it for us actually). my room wasn't ready by the time i arrived but we left our things in the room and by the time we came back it was clean and perfect. it's quite an uphill and few stairs to reach the property, it can be a bit of a challenge if you have lots of luggage with you.
we paid in cash but as Mr. Giovanni told me the credit card machine was broken so apparently you can pay by credit card. i had a chance to meet Mr. Giovanni and he is a nice and helpful person.
it might be more expensive than other places in Manarola, but the nice room and amazing view compensated for whatever extra cash i paid by staying here. i can't really complain. i would stay there again whenever i visit Manarola.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marwa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Manarola at Giovanni Rooms. The view was beautiful, especially at sunset. Pack lightly to make it easier to take your bag to the apartment or hire the local bag service. We purchased focaccia bread at the local business and enjoyed it with some local wine from the apartment balcony. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a view of the town and the sea from our room. The room was very modern and clean. The location was convenient for restaurants and train station. However,the fact that you have to pay in cash is a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vandiris
Vandiris
#9 of 17 in Manarola
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 18 in Manarola
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni Rooms

Property: Giovanni Rooms
Address: Via Ettore Cozzani 22, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Giovanni Rooms 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovanni Rooms features three new luxury double to quad rooms and an attic : the structure is located in Manarola, 5Terre, in the main plaza of the town. The luxury rooms are all new with all the comforts for a perfect stay:from the windows you can enjoy a gorgeous view on all the town and the sea. The attic have two balconies, kitchen and a amazing view on all the town, the hills around and the sea. Write or call us for an amazing stay in the lovely Manarola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Giovanni Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giovanni Rooms Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing