We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Ca D'Andrean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We found this hotel to be extremely clean. A really nice outdoor garden in which you can sit and sip limoncella...yummy.

While breakfast is pretty basic, it includes fresh bread and several types of spreads. Also, all the cappucino or latte you want. Not a bad value; doubt there would be any place in town that you could do better for breakfast.

Make sure you take the vineyard walk, and also walk along the Via Dell Amore.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

Missed a friendly staff..but lovely Manarola made up for them. Our air conditioning didn't work well and we took advice of others and went out for breakfast. Best part of the trip was swimming in the sea. I would highly recommend the town and, with some reservations, recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sider10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We spent two nights in a standard room, no balcony. It was clean, there was a hair dryer and room safe, air conditioning, etc. The shower door was easy to unhinge and the shower head snapped off once. The shampoo is in little packets and the towels are waffle-style. None of these things were big deals.

We were greated by a somewhat reserved, but nice guy. He is the son Andrean. He told me the history of the town and the place. He warmed up right away and helped with bags and so on.

Basically, it's a 3 minute walk downhill to the coast. The place was perfectly acceptable. It's your typical 3 star sort of place, utilitarian, clean safe and so on. We didn't eat there. It's not noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jakeman-will-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We wanted to explore the Cinque Terre during our latest adventure to Italy, so we opted to stay in Manarola for three nights, thinking it might be more likely for us to explore all of the towns if we stayed near the middle (Manarola is the second of the five going north). It basically worked out that way.

We read that having a car in Cinque Terre was not worth the parking expenses, so we took the train up from Pisa, with a connection in La Spezia. I won't go into the hassle that we had with the Eurostar, but suffice it to say, I wasn't in the best mood when we arrived at the Manarola train station. We were a little confused by the maps posted at the station, but figured out to head through the pedestrian tunnel and then right, up the hill. Lugging two suitcases (loaded down with six bottle of Montalcino's finest) and a heavy camera bag uphill, on a muggy night, after a delayed train ride did not improve my mood.

As others have noted, the reception was less than the warm welcome we'd received elsewhere in Italy. But I think part of it is just the way locals here are (it's not personal, they're just naturally more gruff), but I also think some of it may be that the older gentleman's English is limited. When he described the general info to us, he asked if I spoke Italian as his English was poor. I said yes, I speak some, so he described all of this in Italian (e.g. main lobby closes early in the evening so use the side door instead, and always lock it behind you, etc), without any of his previous surliness.

Then I had to drag all of that same luggage up two flights of stairs. At least the room was nicely air conditioned, and there enormous balcony had a wonderful ocean breeze! Unfortunately, we made particularly poor use of the great balcony, partly because we were exhausted that first night, partly because of the mosquitos and lack of shade, but mostly because we spent most of our time in Cinque Terre wandering the villages. But it would be a great place for enjoying a bottle of wine and reading a book, or just watching the day unfold.
The room was comfortable, but no-frills. The air conditioning worked well, and had a remote control (unit was out reach, mounted near the ceiling) with a variety of options that worked well: separate controls for temperature and fan, a “breeze” function, adjustable vents, etc.

Breakfast itself was not inspiring, though the location in the garden was quite relaxing and peaceful. The food consisted of some rolls, jams and some individually-packaged croissants “fresh” from the convenience store down the road (think Little Debbie or Hostess cakes in the US). But my cappuccinos and my girlfriend's coffee were fantastic! And after the first morning the son remembered what we liked and just brought them to us when we sat down, which was a nice touch. So I figured that for two hand-crafted cappuccinos and a bread and jam, the extra €6 was a pretty reasonable price, really.

Manarola is a good home base for a trip to Cinque Terre. We made it to four of the five villages (we opted against pushing on to Monterosso from Vernazza given the heat of the day, and reading that the final leg was the steepest), and enjoyed the drop-dead gorgeous views all along the way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arm90405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I liked the rooms very spacious with a lovely balcony. Spoiled by one rude member of staff who made you feel most unwelcome and seemed to be snooping around a lot. Took note of the breakfast warning so did not partake... clean and comfortable good air conditioning and fresh towels daily....Eva

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank goldings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Ca´d´Andrean is in fact the same place as Hotel Ca d´Andrean. We have stayed for 6 nights this July in room 7 (big room, on the 2nd. floor with a lovely terrace overlooking the vineyards and the town), and found it was the best place to stay in Manarola. The room was large, spotlessly clean, good bathroom, friendly and attentive staff, and most of all, the "Albergo" (hotel) is right in Via Discovolo (the mais street) but in a quiet part of it, but near the shops, restaurants, bus stop and train station.

Considering that once you are in Manarola you´ll walk a lot in the various and stunning hiking paths available, it is a wonderful confort not having to walk so much up in the city when you get "home". This allowed us to go to our quiet terraced room whenever we wanted a "pit stop" or to see the day fade out (for eg; after hiking, for a quick rest before diving in the sea,in the lowest part of town, or after diving or strolling in town, and before going out for dinner, etc.). Along with that, and right in front of the hotel you have a scenery little path called the "intinerario panoramico" where you can walk in the middle of the vinery even in high heels and dress, if you want, for a scenic stroll before dinner, overlooking Manarola, the ligurean sea, and the small port (don´t miss it!) or to go up to Corniglia in an alternative path (not on high heels, in this case, of course) - other than the Sentiero Azzuro, which is more traditional (and crowded).
Thank you everybody in Cá d´Andrean for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fermoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We spend two wonderful weeks in this family-led hotel. Although our Italian language knowledge was not even poor, there were no problems with conatct with our hosts. The hotel is wonderfully located in a very calm part of Manarola and you can eat the homemade breakfast in the orange orchards.
the atmosphere was very friendly and we really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca D'Andrean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca D'Andrean

Address: Via a. Discovolo 101, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Price Range: £93 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca D'Andrean 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ca D'Andrean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca D'Andrean Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing