We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Torretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Torretta
Ranked #1 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived around 5pm on Friday to La Torretta after a hectic day of traveling from the US. The staff was so wonderful from the moment we stepped onto the terrace. We were welcomed with a glass each of Prosecco, and we shown to our room, which had a private balcony as well. The views were stunning! We stayed in the "1 Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View" and requested the double (room 5). The room was very small, like all rooms in Italy, but we had a private bath with a decent sized shower stall. Every day they have a complimentary wine tasting on the shared terrace with snacks. The breakfast was brought to our room each morning and was tasty!. The espresso machine in our room was also a welcome treat. The restaurant suggestions we received were great, and all the food was delicious. If we ever come back to the Cinque Terre we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandTtraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    49
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
358
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Wonderful experience from start to finish. We were arriving late in the evening and Gabriele spoke directly to our taxi driver to give him directions. He was then waiting on the street for us to arrive, and carried our bags up to our room. The hotel was spotless with amazing views. There were several different patios where we were able to relax and enjoy the slow pace of Manarola. Our room was not exceptionally large, but was so tastefully decorated and comfortable that we didn't mind at all. We had a wonderful stay at La Toretta and Manarola. Gabriele and the local people were so welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is the most charming hotel I ever been to. Each detail was carefully chosen so that it brings an intimate atmosphere. They bind the art with the stunning location, bringing the romantic scenery to a new different level.
Staff was kind, helpful and full of little surprises that made us feel welcomed. The room was beautiful, it was having a sea view with all the amenities needed. The bed was comfortable and cozy the breakfast was fresh and delicious. What you can ask for more?
The location is in the centre (but you have to remember you that is a costal city so be prepared for some vertical pathways)
I would highly recommend for experiencing this hotel. Is a spectacular mix of special feelings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at La Torretta for 4 nights, 3 previously booked and we decided to stay an additional night and were lucky enough to be able to stay (although we moved rooms - no problem)
Our first 3 nights were in room 5 - yes it is small but it is perfectly formed and has all the conveniences and more than you expect. There is a fabulous terrace attached to the room to relax and read and just generally enjoy the view across to the ocean. We received champagne on arrival, complimentary water each day, there are coffee machines in the room and the mini bar with an assortment of soft drinks are also complimentary.
The last room we moved to was above reception and it was very large in comparison to our first room, no terrace but still a beautiful view across to the water. The noise from reception below could be an issue if you were staying more than one night there - but we were just happy to be able to stay an additional night with minimal fuss (they moved our bags for us while we were out for the day).
The friendly service from Gabriele and Taro was exceptional. Offering to make dinner reservations for us, providing suggested day trips in Cinque Terre and just generally always being friendly. We joined the hotel for wine tasting each day on the shared terrace where you get a glass of wine and a plate of assorted nibblies.
We opted for some of the hiking challenges whilst in Cinque Terre and there are a couple from Manarola which make it a great place to stay.
Gabriele made contact before we arrived via email and offered to collect us from the train station with the golf cart which was very helpful as the steep hill with luggage would be a challenge when you don't know exactly where you are going.
It is the little things like this that made the stay so lovely.
Whilst it was the most expensive option we chose during our Italian holiday the little extras made it worth it and I would definitely return to La Torretta again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Great service. Very attentive staff Gabriele and Tarad were awesome. We loved the complimentary mini bar and breakfast that was included. .. we would love to come back. ...
For this time is year, it was hot but not too bad

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximus420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The room we had was small...very small...Number 5...and the shower was not powerful, albeit always hot but this was the only downside...what a view from our terrace, probably as big as the room and looked down the whole of the town to the sea...just amazing. Does mean though that you have to climb to the top of the village to get to the hotel and those amaing views.

Lots of great things about this hotel...liked the complimentary wine and snacks each evening, breakfast in your room between 8 and 12 every day, free minibar and bottles of water in the room...nice that this was all included and it didn't ever feel like they were trying to get more money out of you.

Lots of terrace areas to sit, complete with sun loungers. Transfers to the rail station in their golf buggy. Very stylish decor...uber chic.

On doing our research was hard to find a stylish hotel, and had to pay a little more momey for this but was worth it.

One other downside...coffee at breakfast not great...and such a shame as one of the resons we love visiting Italy is for the coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samoens, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at this boutique hotel in early June. The staff were very polite and friendly, the room was amazing with a separate lounge area with small balcony. It wasn't cheap but you get a plentiful breakfast, aperitifs in the early evening on the main terrace and free soft drinks and nibbles in your room. It's very well located within the Cinque Terre National Park and a good base to explore the local area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta

Property: La Torretta
Address: Vicolo Volto 20 | Piazza della Chiesa, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Hotel Manarola
La Torretta Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing