We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Torretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Torretta
Ranked #1 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

La Torretta was delightful, comfortable, classy, and well deserving of 5 stars from both me and my husband. We had a most wonderful time here.
We had room 7 and even though it didn't have a balcony, the window opens up to great view; we were on top of all the stairs, nobody can look into our room; our view looks at the Tyrrhenian Sea and the Manarola vineyards. I wish we could spend more time relaxing in the room, but we were happy and active vacationers.
House staff was helpful and so pleasant. Gabrielle was so nice and knowledgeable. We got up early, wanted to beat the crowd, only to realize that we couldn't get a train ticket yet. Feeling defeated, we went back to the hotel and found Gabrielle. He handed us 2 train tickets left from previous guests. We were so happy and went on our way. Then we got back late, just missed the balcony wine taste. However, they got my husband a glass of red wine any way. Their recommendation of restaurants was spot on. Their breakfast was freshly baked croissants, of course cappuccino, and these Italy cakes. We don't eat a lot of cakes, but let me tell you, the chocolate cake was delicious! We wish we have had more of these cakes, for breakfast, for desserts. To sum it all up, we had a wonderful time at Cinque Terre, really glad we picked La Torretta and appreciate their hospitality.
At departure, Gabrielle said, "Come back soon." Oh, we want to!!!! La Torretta, a special place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    49
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
358
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this delightful hotel in Manarola. We had a great trip with wonderful walking. Given that the majority of the people visiting the cinque terre are there for the walks , I think that the breakfast offering in La Torretta should be upgraded. At the moment they only offer a traditional Italian breakfast which consists of tea/coffee and cakes. With very little effort they could include fruit salad/granola and yogurt which would be a more substantial start to the day. Another small gripe is the charge if you want you use wifi in your room. Wifi is free in the communal area but charged €10 a day in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Could not recommend more highly. Best place we stayed during our 12-day trip to Italy, and the best value as well. Manarola is a charming, quiet town in Cinque Terre, and La Torretta is perfectly situated at the top of the town. The views are incredible. You can easily walk to anything/everything in Manarola, and the neighboring towns of Riomaggiore and Corniglia are each a 1-1.5 hr walk away. Service was outstanding. Gabriele is so welcoming, accommodating, helpful, as is the rest of the staff. Fresh fruit and pastries are complimentary in the mornings. Complimentary boat ride and other activities. Our room was small, but lovely. Outstanding views. Very clean and pleasantly decorated. Comfortable bed by Italy standards (though pillows are very firm). Modern shower. There are a couple of beautiful communal decks for sunbathing, enjoying wine, etc. I wish I could move in!

Note that: public parking is about 20 euros/day and located a short distance up the hill from Manarola. You can drive down to La Torretta to drop off/pick up your luggage only before 10 am. If you arrive/depart after 10 am, you will have to carry your bags from the parking area to the hotel (about a 5 minute walk).

Room Tip: We were in Room 8, which was small, but lovely. I'd recommend it if you don't need a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraNY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stumbled on this hotel very tired on our trip to italy, we feel the hotel was under sold to us!!
This was a fantastic hotel, with a brilliant view, we took the last room which was a tiny room right on the terrace where you had breakfast etc, but it was lovely, and very well set out, really clean with a lovely view and nice terrace area, bottle of fizzy and mini bar all complimentary.

They also recommended 'Billy's' and brilliant restaurant that did a brilliant liquorice And chilli liquor,
Be warned though!!!!!
Also had a lovely jacuzzi which was another extra we were'nt aware of straight away, very welcoming after all the walking!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Unsurpassed chic hotel in the charming town of Manarola. We were greeted by the most amazing people. Rooms decor and cleanliness above all standards.

Highly recommended for demanding travelers and those looking for the finest in Cinque Terre, look no further.

The staff really goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable.

Tip: take a sea view room and don't miss the delicious homemade pastries.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakecrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

La Torretta was absolutely perfect! We were greeted with a welcome bottle of the region's sparkling wine which was so perfect to start out the trip! We stayed two nights and enjoyed the cozy rooms, incredible views of the town, and the scrumptious breakfast every morning (the chocolate croissants were to die for). The innkeeper had great advice about how/when to hike, park, eat (Billy's next door is a MUST) and was extremely accommodating with our late arrival and late departure. This is a gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsmukler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

La Torretta is a truly stunning gem of a getaway. Our room was beautiful & had a great view of town & the water. The owner & her staff were beyond helpful & made us feel at home the whole time. I took advantage of the hot tub a couple times, along with the glass of prosecco that came with it! They have a nice 5-6pm happy hour with some light nibbles & tasty wines. The breakfast was delicious too! I would definitely recommend staying here. I'm looking forward to my next trip back already!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYconmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta

Property: La Torretta
Address: Vicolo Volto 20 | Piazza della Chiesa, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Hotel Manarola
La Torretta Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing