We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”
Review of Arpaiu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arpaiu
Ranked #6 of 18 Manarola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife & I stayed at this guesthouse in May in the Aargan room. This room proved ideal because it is adjacent to the front door (no more steps!) and the views of the coastline were magnificent. The room itself is on the small size but spend most of your free time upstairs on the balcony anyway. Debora, the host, is easily contacted by email, gave us directions, etc and is present most mornings. Manarola, to us, was the pick of the villages. It is big enough to cater for all tastes but small enough not to be over-run by too many day-trippers and walkers. It is a pity the walk to Riomaggiore is still closed (and will be for some time judging by the extent of the damage) because that would have been a very pleasant walk at twilight. There are plenty of restaurants in town for breakfast and dinner, not all open every night. The walk from the station with the bags might appear daunting at first but the views are well worth it, just don't leave your wallet in the room at dinner (don't ask!)

Room Tip: The internal staircase is narrow so choose either Aargan or the other room on the entry level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    42
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
162
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

If you plan to spend some time visiting the villages of Cinque Terre, the "Arpaiu" in the village of Manarola is a great place to stay. It is easy to catch the train linking the villages and also allows great access to the hiking trails. The rooms are very fresh and clean. It was wonderful to sleep with the window open to the ocean breezes and surf sounds. We enjoyed visiting with other guests and appreciated the "help yourself to tea" set up on the patio overlooking the ocean.
Our hostess was very warm and friendly and even offered to do our laundry for us. We loved the local community residents and their history. The scenery was beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2drummonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Poor service, lovely place
We were not greeted thus did know know we had WiFi access
Maid service failed to keep us supplied in essentials (toilet paper!)
The owner makes no attempt to make you feel welcomed

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I don't have a tremendous amount to add to the previous posts other than to add our verification that this is a great place to stay in the Cinque Terre. We stayed in the Mea room and as others have shown, the view was incredible and the bathroom was incredible. The location is great! Tucked away above the city but an easy walk down to the shops, restaurants and train station. I don't think you are going to find a better value in Manarola. We would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I really can't add a lot to previous reviewers positive comments about this place, I found them all to be accurate. The rooms are spacious with beautiful views and the owner is a congenial and friendly woman. Throw in a very reasonable price and it is quite easy to highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: The window in Zin-Zin opens onto a public passage and although there is opaque glass to allow for pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I actually stayed at the Ondina apartment a couple of doors along from Arpaiu ....it gave me the added benefit of a little kitchenette in my travels ....the view was magnificent out onto the water, harbour ..just 1 minute to Arpaiu to use the wifi and meet up with other travellers ...the owner was extra helpful with suggestions .....would definitely return

Room Tip: I have been trying to build my fitness levels but the dragging of the case up the hill requires a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had the best stay that one could have at the Arpaiu. Previous reviewers have said how beautiful the rooms are. When we walked into our room, we went into relax mode and stayed that way until we left. Deborah is a total gem. She is the perfect host for Manarola. You cannot do better than this. Arpaiu and Deborah are the very best in Italy. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vandiris
Vandiris
#9 of 17 in Manarola
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 18 in Manarola
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arpaiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arpaiu

Property: Arpaiu
Address: Via Belvedere 196, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arpaiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpaiu Hotel Manarola
Arpaiu Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing