We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”
Review of Arpaiu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arpaiu
Ranked #6 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Deborah really doesn't need another awesome review! However she deserves one, my husband & I stayed 6 nights in Mea room in September 2013, breath taking views, both from our bedroom window & from the fabulous community terrace. Sunsets are to die for, & best served with a glass if wine. Bathroom was very different, but in a good way, room has a little fridge, there are no kitchen facilities, but that really didn't bother us, there is a coffee machine, which we didn't use as it's a lovely walk down the hill to get a coffee. Deborah is lovely & very informative. We used the trains & ferries, all very easy. Do not stay in Manarola if you are not fit! The paths & stairways are very steep (great for working off all those carbs)! Arpaui is a little piece of Heaven on Earth. We would most certainly stay here again. I've given 5 stars for the ambience, views & Deborah's gracious hosting.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverGoddess47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    41
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
159
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

On our 2 week trip to Italy in October 2013, Manarola was our favorite stop. We spent 3 nights at Arpaiu, and we regret that we didn't plan to stay longer. Deborah was the perfect innkeeper with great suggestions for things to see in the area, dining recommendations, train reservations, etc. The village is small, but has so much atmosphere. Restaurants are few, but we found some real gems. Don't miss eating at Billy's.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

2 couples stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013 on our 16 day self guided tour of Italy,
Manarola was my wife's favorite stop on the vacation.
Arpaiu is an incredible value in this wonderful fishing village,
The views are worth so much more than the nightly fee.
Wine on the deck at sunset was incredibly romantic.
Booking and information was a breeze,
Will absolutely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hone4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore Md
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Truly wonderful stay in the studio in mid October. Very sleek design, comfortable bed, large windows for views out to the sea and north potions of 5 Terra. Look for the hardware crucifix at the end of Belvedere and you know you've found it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMCBaltimoreMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at Arpaiu for 4 nights in September, 2013. The directions on the website to reach Arpaiu sound basic but if you trust and follow them you'll get there. We stopped to ask some older Italian ladies who were knitting as we weren't sure we were on the right track after turning right. Although they spoke no English they recognised the name written down and pointed to the end of the street. The uphill climb to reach Arpaiu is worth it to reach this wonderful accommodation and to give you a taste of what is to come when you go on walks from village to village. We stayed in Mea which had wonderful views from the window, a large comfortable bed and a reasonable amount of space in the room. Fittings are modern. The room was clean and there was a line from the bathroom so we could hang out some hand washing to dry. Our friends stayed in Ziguiela. This room also had a view but not as good as the one from Mea. As many other people have said the terrace is a highlight of a stay in Arpaiu. We watched the sun set from there with a bottle of wine bought in the village and ate breakfast here in the mornings.
Deborah is very helpful. We rang her soon after we arrived to help with the code and she answered straight away. She also gave great suggestions for walks which we were very glad we followed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Staying in this guest house was the highlight of our 2 week European trip. We paid much more in other cities for smaller, poorly furnished rooms that didn't have a view. We stayed in the Mea room and the view was incredible. The bathroom was also brand new and huge. However what really made our stay was the rooftop terrace. My boyfriend spent every evening watching the sunset, playing with the complimentary chess set, and drinking wine on the large terrace. Could not have been more perfect and I hope to some day have the opportunity to come back. From walking around the town, Arpaiu has the best location with the best view.

Only criticism is that the bed is a little hard, but I would overlook this for all the other benefits.

Room Tip: Mea! From what I could tell this is the largest room with the best view as it is on the higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSchuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights recently and enjoyed our stay a lot. We stayed in the Ordina studio in the house next door but had a key to use the community lounge and terrace which was quite lovely. Debora was easy to deal with and quite helpful. This was one of the best places we have stayed in Italy on this trip. A few suggestions for improvement...some basic supplies in the studio, internet to every room and a little more detail to cleaning in the rooms.
Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ordina has a great view with the sound of the ocean crashing on the rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darmstro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 17 in Manarola
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arpaiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arpaiu

Property: Arpaiu
Address: Via Belvedere 196, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arpaiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpaiu Hotel Manarola
Arpaiu Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing