We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Price for What You Get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Cinque Terre
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is the best hostel we stayed in while on our trip to Europe. We booked a family room and it was perfect -- but book it well in advance because it's a small hostel and the only one in Cinque Terre. The only thing I didn't like was that it was at the very top of the hill -- quite a walk up with your luggage. Not taxis in town, so you're on your own to haul it all the way up there. The hostel requires that you vacate the premises at 10:00 a.m. so they can clean, and you can't come back in until dinner time. The hostel is kept spotless, very well run -- no complaints. Their meals are very reasonable, and it's lovely sitting on the picnic tables eating, overlooking the town. I paid 5 euro for gnocci. A few nights later, we went into town to eat, and again I had gnocci -- only this time it was 24 euros. The gnocci at the hostel was better!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mermaid_22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Cinque Terre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

I didn't feel so at ease in this hostel. First of all, do you receive one coin for get a shower. If you arrive tired and need a shower, do you spend you coin and the next day you don't have another. The water was few cold. This place was very expensive and I felt the staff a little rude and unfriendly.
When I went there, didn't have much backpacker.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicoAssis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here for one night last week with my 6 year old daughter. We walked over the mountain from Riomaggiore (Via Dell 'Amore was closed due to a landslide) - a brilliant walk with stunning views.

Booking was done simply and easily online in advance and payment made. The hostel is an old convent (I think!) and is easy to spot from the mountain - at the top of town next to the church. Thought the church bells might bother me but either they stopped chiming at 11pm or I was sound asleep or both.

We got a very warm welcome on arrival from the man I called 'The Boss' (he says he isn't but he certainly seems to be in charge). Excellent English, friendly, humorous and good with children. Extremely helpful, efficient and generally nice to be around.

The rooms are fab - twin room for 44 euro. Clean white sheets, comfy beds and showers are now free (but bring a towel if you can). Alice unfortunately fell out of bed onto the stone floor but there were some spare quilts in the lockers in the room so I put these down (after the event!). She is prone to this so if your child is too - take precautions!

Breakfast was great - 5 euro and plenty for both of us! Didn't have dinner there but it looked good and reasonably priced.

Due to being a large old building it was quite echoic and voices travel far - we could hear people chatting in the corridors on the upper floors. But at 11pm the outside lights were switched off (they shone through the blinds quite strongly) and everything went quiet.

Slightly bemused by the 'up a hill' comments. Yes, it is at the top of a hilly little town - er, this is Cinque Terre - isn't it famous for it's mountains and steep streets and character or am I missing something? If a 6 year old can make it there from over the mountain from Riomaggiore with all her worldly goods on her back I would have thought most able bodied persons could make it comfortably from the train station...

Loved this hostel and will DEFINITELY return ...one day!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front so the lights from the terrace shone brightly through the blinds until 11p...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. View was fantastic!! And yes you will have quite the walk uphill to reach the hostel. But you are in the Cinque Terre.. everything is a up hill walk. Beds were comfy, lockers are located in the room and you will need your own lock. Bathrooms.. not so clean. Food was perfect for a very reasonable 5 Euros you walk away very full from a very tasty meal. Walk the trails! You can get the information at the train station with a map of the trails and if the coastal trail is open or not. We walked several of the red trails. The views are breathtaking and worth every up hill step!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationhugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here in August 2013 with a friend in a 6 bed female dorm. The journey up the hill was horrific to say the least on a extremely hot day with heavy luggage (you will need to have a few rest breaks along the way) and then once you think the hard part is over, you need to attempt the 30 stairs to get to the hostel itself.

Luckily when you finally get to reception the staff are lovely and to top it off there is a lift to take you to your floor (which can be hard to get in hotels sometimes).

In other reviews I have seen that location was an issue for some people, I didn't find this an issue. We found it very central and easy to get to, plus you'll get fit along the way from all the walking.

The food at this place is fantastic and very cheap! 2 Euros for breakfast and dinner will set you back 5 Euros depending on what you order. Essentially if you're on a budget this is one of the best to stay in for the area, otherwise you're looking at double the price.

The downfalls - One power point per room (this is rectified with power boards).
The bathrooms: May be the worst smelling bathroom I have ever been in and the showers only stay on for 5 minutes. However they now no longer need tokens so if the shower does stop, hopefully somebody in the bathroom can push the button for you.
The room across from us had bed bugs, we didn't take any chances and sprayed our beds top and bottom with bug spray.

All in all the staff were definitely the highlight of this stay and were the best hosts we had through our 3 month travels through Europe. They make you feel like family and that's what makes the stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

I booked my Cinque Terre accommodations last-minute, but was able to get a bed in this place. Although it wasn't my first choice because of the many reviews stating its far away from the center of la Spezie or maggiore, I didn't find it so bad. The buses were pretty reliable in the daytime and so were their free shuttle pick-ups at night. You just tell them which time of the night you want to go on the shuttle pick up and they put your name down. I believe the last one is at 11pm. The place was clean, a little on the quiet side, and served its purpose for a good place to rest your head and tired feet after a long day hiking in Cinque Terre or sunbathing in one of the beaches nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveantoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

It is in the steep hill so we take our luggage hard for arriving there. But it is not worst thing there. The shower room is very nonconvenient. U need to push a button than u just can take shower for only 5 minute! If water end, u need to open door and push a button again!!!
It is kind ridiculous. I don't recommend this hostel.
它位處在一個陡峭的山坡上,我們搬著行李上去非常的吃力,但這不是最糟的部份。它們的淋浴間極度的不方便,你需要在外面按一個按鈕然後你才有水可以洗...短短5分鐘!如果水沒了,你需要再走出來按一次按鈕,非常可笑,極度不推薦。

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weitimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
#10 of 18 in Manarola
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#8 of 23 in Riomaggiore
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Pavi delle 5 Terre
0.1 mi away
Ca' de Baran
Ca' de Baran
#14 of 18 in Manarola
51 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Campi
Il Borgo di Campi
#8 of 32 in Riomaggiore
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Cinque Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cinque Terre

Address: Via Bernardo Riccobaldi 21, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Manarola
Price Range: £53 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ostello Cinque Terre e un ostello independente situato nel centro storico di Manarola. Non e necessaria una tessera degli ostelli e non ci sono limiti di eta. Ostello Cinque Terre e il posto ideale per visitare i paesi di Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza e Monterosso. Siamo a pochi minuti dalla stazione ferroviaria, dal parcheggio e dai battelli. Dall'ostello partono numerosi sentieri e la nostra posizione in cima al paese consente una vista a 360° delle terrazze coltivate a vigneto, del paese e del mare. Le nostre camere: • Letti in stanze dormitorio da sei posti per uomini o per donne (camere separate) ampia finestra con vista e con servizi comuni al piano; • stanza doppia ( 2 letti singoli) con bagno privato e ampia finestra con vista paese e vigneti; • camere famiglia ( da 4 o 6 letti ) con bagno privato e ampia finestra con vista paese e vigneti. In ogni stanza sono presenti ventilatori a soffitto, tavolino, armadietti e luci da lettura Ciascun piano ha un'area comune con un piccolo soggiorno e vista mare. Internet Wifi gratis in tutta la struttura. Il nostro ristorante si trova al piano terra dell'ostello. Offriamo servizio di prima colazione e cena. E' possibile consumare i pasti nella nostra sala da pranzo o all'aperto nel patio. Non c'e' uso cucina. Per motivi igienici non e possibile consumare cibi propri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Cinque Terre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Cinque Terre Hotel Manarola
Hostel Cinque Terre Manarola, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing