We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Manarola”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manarola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Capellini - Rooms and Apartments
Ranked #8 of 18 Manarola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years, in both the apartment and the various rooms. We have also stayed at other locations in Manarola, but we always keep coming back here. As independent travelers, who don’t need hand-holding, this is the perfect place. The location is excellent. Of course there are stairs, but this is the Cinque Terre! Gianni and Franca live on one floor of the building and whenever we’ve needed anything, we just knock and ask. The view from the top floor and upper three rooms are the best! The apartment is comfortable and we enjoy making our own breakfast. The terrace view is amazing. The other rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable with pretty new bathrooms. They have small terraces with views as well. The lower level room is also fine, but does not have a sea view. Prices are very good. Because they’ve kept their prices down, don’t expect daily cleaning or luxury amenities. If you’re looking for a fine place to stay with great views and reasonable prices, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerVicenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at Casa Capellini for 4 nights in August 2012. As stated by most reviewers, the views are breathtaking across the town of Manarola towards the glistening Mediterranean Sea. Whilst I knew that Italy would be really hot in August, I had vastly underestimated the need for air conditioning!

Our room had a small table fan that tried its damndest to keep us cool but failed quite dismally. After walking up the hill to get the top of the town, we would really have welcomed a cool room or a cold beverage. Neither of these was possible. There is no bar fridge in the room and there is not a restaurant at the top of the village to get a drink, a coffee etc. Doesn't seem tedious but it is in the August heat!

During our stay we did not have our room cleaned, towels washed or bathroom tended to. Not great! Luckily being the Cinque Terre we spent most of our days outside and minimal time in the accommodation. We managed to keep the place sorted ourselves with minimal effort.

Whilst towels were provided for the bathrooms, there were no towels for swimming so it's important to take your own considering you'll likely be needing them.

The owner speaks very little English offering no assistance or advice at all - other than opening your room and giving you a set of keys upon arrival. We did not see them again during our visit. This didn't both us too much other than when we kept trying to find out about getting some fresh towels in.

Perhaps my expectations were a bit high as it is a cheap BnB. The room was a decent size, clean (upon arrival) and we knew exactly what we were getting in terms of air con etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gorbs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCape, Owner at Casa Capellini - Rooms and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thanks for you review! Especially for what you wrote about our sea view and the cleanliness of the room upon arrival.
Cleaning service and towels are not included in the price for our kind offer.
I'm sorry you had the impression that we were not present, but we live downstairs
and we are always available to our customers' requirements.
We will try to communicate better in the future when we are on place!
If there will be demand even we'll change the towels every day.
Normally all the linen in the room is always changed every four days.
Following your advice, starting from 2013 the rooms will have a mini bar and a new efficient and suitable fan to keep the room cool.
We'll make the cleaning of the room every day if it is required.
Your price year 2012 for your room was 68 euro per night;
total cost for 4 night for two people 272 euro.
We think it is a good price for what we offer.
If you come back to Manarola we it will be a pleasure to welcome
and you will see the improvements suggested.
Thanks again
Franca
Casa Capellini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed in Casa Capellini at the end of September 2012. After climbing 200 metres (not really a problem) and then 74 stairs up the back street and 3 flights of stairs in the casa, we were ushered into our very tiny room with a view. I understood there was no breakfast provided but I hoped we could make coffee in the morning. That was not to be but that enabled us to discover Aristide which provided amazing morning coffee. The room was clean and the owner did speak a little English - enough to provide us with more toilet paper. What is it with so little toilet paper on arrival? I suggest that if you want a normal room that you reserve the room at the top. Loved Manarola and Cinqe Terre even though the trails were closed due to mudslides and the boats not sailing due to weather - the trains were a great way to travel.

Room Tip: Reserve the top room if you get a chance. It has cooking facilities and a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArleneJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCape, Proprietario at Casa Capellini - Rooms and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

From the railway station you can reach Casa Capellini, walking few minutes along a flat road first and then facing an uphill road (without steps) with possibility to take the National Park bus in the last stretch.
You walk to Casa Capellini through the typical shortcut of the Cinque Terre, which we call "carugi", normally used by the villagers and very appreciated by tourists.
Arriving by car you can park outside the Traffic Limidet Zone of the village and walk at our door without steps.
The room is not very large, but spacious enough, clean, with plenty of light, with a view very appreciated by our clients.
Thanks for specifying that breakfast is not included, you can easily have breakfast in a few minutes at the bar Aristide in front of the tunnel to the "via dell'amore".
We believe we offer the right for the price you paid.
We are a little family managed room rents and read your reviews with interest using them to make improvements in 2013.
Among other benefits our customers will have the opportunity to prepare a tea or tisane,
and there will also be a mini bar fridge.
Sorry for the toilet paper inconvenience, it was by accident, we always put a new roll in the bathroom.
You're right, the best way to get around the Cinque Terre is walking or by train. We hope by next spring all trails will be open, it is important for tourists and also for us.
Thanks for the review, and thank you for having stayed in Casa Capellini.
Franca
Casa Capellini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The location was wonderful in a beautiful town on the coast with beautiful green water to swim in.
The room was very clean and the owner Gianni was very helpful and spoke good English. We had a room overlooking the sea. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherwadingriverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had the alta camera at and the great deck. The view was amazing, but don't expect any nicey nice from the hotel. we were there 3 nights, going hiking and swimming, with out any clean towel service, advice. It was boiling hot in our top floor room--a fan would have been nice. We even had to go buy some toilet paper. Mostly, I would have liked a supportive person to discuss the town and questions. I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top floor room--with amazing deck view, however, it is blazing HOT in July.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy25130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCape, Proprietario at Casa Capellini - Rooms and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015
Google Translation

Sono dispiaciuto degli inconvenienti.
Ora l'appartamento ha l'aria condizionata.
Offriamo anche asciugamani gratis per il mare.
Per la carta igienica è stato un incidente; ora non accade più.
Mia figlia è negli Stati Uniti a fare exchange student per un anno.
Quando torna lei darà a tutti le notizie sul nostro territorio.
Le recensioni negative servono per migliorare.
Auguro a Voi una buona giornata, e grazie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Worth the climb - we recommend the 'alta camera' at the top of the house -it's comfy with a kitchenette and private bathroom; it's quiet and it has a spacious balcony with a great view overlooking the town for use in the morning and after sunset when the heat is off. Having the top room means climbing a skinny stairway to the third floor after climbing to the top of town, so pack light! This is a good value and a nice place to stay. Note that the you are almost at the same height as the church bell, which is in the tower just one house over from the room. Be warned - first chime is at 7 AM - don't jump out of your skin like I did the first time it tolls!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LangleyBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place will always be special to my fiance and I. We stayed here five years ago while traveling through Italy. On a tiny budget, we could only stay in crappy places. Since it was so cheap, however, we decided to try this place once we got to CT. IT BLEW US AWAY. We had never had such an amazing view.

5 years later, I surprised my girlfriend at the time with a trip back to CT. Even with a tight schedule and changing demands, the owners helped me reserve the top suite. It made our first stay seem boring. The balcony from the top is breathtaking. And for so cheap?! It is insane. I proposed to her and she said yes :)

The place itself is nothing spectacular and nothing horrible. Just a basic (I would claim nice) little inn. You don't come here for the lodging though. You come for the spectacular view. Trust me, it is worth it. Unless of course you are the type to go crazy over something like a toilet paper shortage :)

Room Tip: Top balcony all the way (Alta Camera)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0VEB1RDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manarola hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
#10 of 18 in Manarola
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 18 in Manarola
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 18 in Manarola
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
0.0 mi away
Giovanni Rooms
Giovanni Rooms
#9 of 18 in Manarola
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Capellini - Rooms and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Capellini - Rooms and Apartments

Address: Via Ettore Cozzani 12, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range: £30 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Capellini rooms and apartments for rent in the historic center of Manarola in Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Capellini Hotel Manarola
Casa Capellini - Rooms And Apartments Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing