We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space, friendly owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Affittacamere la Vigna di Gigi
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great space, friendly owner!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed in Gigi's Vermantino room for 3 nights in March. Gigi is very nice and quick to respond via email, text, or phone call. He emailed us ahead of time to check in before we arrived and once we got there, he was nice enough to make some restaurant recommendations and reservations for us. I can't say enough good things about Gigi - he was so friendly, accomodating, and really made our stay in Manarola really wonderful despite the bad weather that we unfortunately encountered during our 3 days there. Manarola itself was my favorite of the 5 towns and I am so happy that we ended up choosing it as our base - it's a quiet village but so picturesque and one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. The apartment is about a 5-10 minute walk uphill from the train station and you get treated with great views on the trek up. Breakfast isn't included, but we did receive a discount at a cafe close to the train station tunnel that had wonderful pastries and coffee because we were staying at Gigi's. The room has a small balcony that looks over a stream that flows downhill through the village and it was nice to sit out on the balcony to enjoy a glass of wine and listen to the sound of the rushing water. The room itself was very clean and I was delighted to find that the bathroom was updated and modern. It was nice that there was also a mini fridge and safe and the WIFI connection worked beautifully. When we expressed interest about his wine, Gigi offered to give us a tour of his wine room where his vats are located. His wine was excellent - we ended up buying a small bottle to take home and would've bought more if we had room in our luggage. If the weather and time had permitted, he would have shown us his vineyard. I guess that will have to wait until the next time we visit the Cinque Terre - - we will be calling Gigi to stay at his place again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissaguam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while traveling northern Italy in July. Great location if you want to visit cinque terre. Very close to the train. Small village with nice places to eat and relax. Gigi was very nice. He emailed with us in advance and when we arrived, recommended places to eat and see. Rooms were clean and modern. No breakfast provided, but there's plenty nearby. We found free street parking for our car about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We would recommend Gigi's and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Both the breathtaking views in Manarola and the apartment we stayed at made it one of the best holidays we have ever had. The apartment we stayed at was nicely decorated, impeccably clean and very comfortable, with plenty of room in the wardrobe for the things we brought along. Gigi is extremely helpful and friendly, always ready to offer help and useful tips on how to move around and where to look for the best food. Manarola is also a great place, with wonderful architecture and amazing views of the sea and the surrounding hills and a lot of paths to walk, some of which can be quite challenging but the views you get as you walk up are definitely worth all the pain and sweat. You can also take the train to all the other villages in Cinque Terre, each offering a slightely different experience. The whole area is also fantastic for snorkelling and scuba-diving, with crystal-clear water and plenty of sealife to admire. Definitely the place we would like to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellaM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenson, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in the Alborola room and it was really lovely. It is a bit of an uphill walk to get to the hotel from the train station with your bags, but definitely worth it. The room was very very clean and quiet, and Gigi was incredibly kind and helpful--he obviously wants to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Everything looked very new. The shower stall was a bit small and might be an issue for a larger person. We are both 5'4'' and ~110lbs so for us it was fine. I've stayed in three of the five cities that make up Cinque Terre, and I found that Manarola was my favorite as a place to stay--definitely the best restaurants! When we return to Cinque Terre we will definitely stay with Gigi again!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms looked lovely, but next time we will try to acquire one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbray04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Excellent, stylish rooms in a lovely location. Gigi is a relaxed and wonderful host who is always ready to give tips about local sites, restaurants, make reservations, etc.

Good location for exploring the Manarolo to Corneglia trail via Volastro.

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger rooms although the smaller room that we had worked fine for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macBoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in the Alborola room. In agreement with the other reviews, the room was spotless. The room itself was nicely remodeled with a modern feel. The stream below the window offers a nice backdrop sound, which added to the enchantment of our stay in Manarola. Gigi and Lorraine were such kind and hospitable hosts. Lorraine met us near the train station, walked us to our room, and gave us some insider tips about the Cinque Terre. Gigi was even kind enough to show us his wine cantina (cellar) in the bottom floor of the building. His wine is excellent, by the way! The building in which the rooms are located is perfectly located for those traveling by car as it is the closest building to the carpark. If you're traveling by train, it is a good uphill walk (5-8 mins) from the train station (but uphill walks are just part of the Cinque Terre). The only disappointment with our stay was the bed. While the sheets, pillow, and comforter were excellent, we found the mattress to be fairly uncomfortable as you can feel the metal springs when you lie down. I think a good foam mattress pad would take care of it ... just a suggestion, Gigi :)
Overall, I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Really love my stay at Gigi's place. It was spotless clean, there is a cute little wooden bridge at the front of the building with clear stream underneath, very lovely. Gigi is very friendly, easy going and kind. Little tip is to choose the room with the balcony. I will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lufchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giovanni Rooms
Giovanni Rooms
#10 of 18 in Manarola
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 18 in Manarola
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere la Vigna di Gigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere la Vigna di Gigi

Property: Affittacamere la Vigna di Gigi
Address: Via Dei Molini 26 | La Spezia, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our room rental was born in May 2012, thank to Gigi's love of the region where he was born and raised, an area that is characterized by grape cultivation and by its famous dry-built walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Affittacamere la Vigna di Gigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affittacamere La Vigna Di Gigi Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing