We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best part of our vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sun and Sea

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
tina11
Cambridge, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best part of our vacation”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of three stayed at the Sun and Sea in June. Nice apartment with plenty of space. Sitting on the balcony after a day of hiking looking out at the terraces and the Med with a glass of wine, what more could you ask for? I would go back here in a heartbeat! While the apartment doesn't have wifi, the nice people at the Arbaspa office lent us a mobile router so that we did have wifi in the apartment for a few days. The only thing to be aware of is that you have many steps to climb to reach the apartment, so if you have any mobility issues this is not the apartment for you. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevtWarwi...
warwick uk
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A friend and I have just spent a wonderful 10 days in the Cinque Terre, we stayed at the Sun & Sea apartment in Manarola. It was everything we'd hoped it would be.

The apartment has absolutely spectacular views from the balcony and both (well sized) double bedrooms. The apartment is basic but has everything you need.. it's newly renovated and clean, has a nice bathroom (shower, basin, hairdryer, bidet, no bath :) The kitchen has everything you need as in plates, pots, cutlery etc, fridge/freezer, stove, washing machine etc.. (no microwave).

The lounge room is spacious with a small TV, radio, sleeper couch, but we didn't really use that room much because it doesn't have the wonderful views of the kitchen, bedrooms & balcony. We used the balcony a lot, put the wicker lounge chairs on it & sat there often, with music & sundowners. The views are breathtaking!

The views do come at a small cost 'tho.. the walk up to the apartment is steep! As one of the other reviewers said.. when you think there can't be anymore stairs and it can't get any steeper, it does! So best advice ..don't take a lot of heavy luggage, you'll regret it!

It would have been nice if there'd been just a few basics like sugar, tea, coffee in the kitchen cupboards as a sort of 'welcome' when we first got to the apartment, puffing and panting after the hike there.. but there wasn't & we had to redo all the stairs and steeps again to go back down to the village to stock up at the Co-op (which incidentally closes for siesta-time between 2-5pm but reopens again from 5-7pm)

The staff in the Arbaspaa office were very friendly, welcoming and keen to assist in any way. They have a lot of additional extras you can book onto.. eg, spend a day in Manarola with a professional photographer, go on a wine tour, Italian cooking classes etc.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend the Sun & Sea apartment to others who may be thinking of heading to Manarola.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the location
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JitkaW
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment for 4 nights. It is quite basic, but sufficient. Given its location in the village, we wouldn't swap for a nicer hotel, as the views from the balcony where just spectacular. We had one rainy day and it felt little cramped inside and quite impossible for four people to find a place to lounge, unless it would be on the bed. The balcony is quite narrow, so it is not for a all day sunbathing, however we came there to discover places and beaches, so we used it in the mornings and evenings to take it the beautiful sunsets. We would stay there again and recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiotedany
Grasse, France
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la vue
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing