We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat this view at this price”
Review of Vandiris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vandiris
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You can't beat this view at this price”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A group of us stayed in 3 Vandiris rooms in late September 2013 for our entire Cinque Terre trip. Originally tried to book Arpaiu (as did most of the others commenting) but it was full, so Vandiris was suggested. Same woman manages both. The rooms all look out on the sea, with beautiful views. This is not a hotel, just rooms, so there wasn't daily maid or towel service, nor was there breakfast included. Small refrigerator in room, so you could store breakfast foods if desired, but the pastries and espresso shops in town were perfect spots for dining and people watching. The rooms are very quiet because the place is at the end of the road. Just the sound of the sea, and the occasional train at night, and it isn't loud. Two of us had to spend the last evening other accommodations, and even though we couldn't see the station from those rooms, we could feel and hear the train rumble each time it went by.
Room 1, on ground floor, opens up onto a public terrace, but it's at the end of a road, and no traffic. We had a fabulous picnic on that terrace of food and wine we'd picked up, just gazing at the sea, the full moon and the stars.
Room 4 is upstairs, same great view, very large bathroom by European standards. Yes, the toilet seat is tall--height reminds me of the accessible toilet seats they give people after knee replacement surgery. Room 5 had a small balcony looking out to sea as well. Room 5 also had ants in the room, but I think that's because a previous occupant left food in the room when they left. (It was still there when we checked in.) The cleaning lady, when notified, sprayed the room.
We arrived late in the day, and manager had given us instructions on how to reach the place. No problem finding it. Keys were in the door as promised.
WiFi problem initially, but once we found the router, we turned it off & back on, and WiFi ready to go. WiFi signal is much better on ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    12
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights in Vandiris. I attemped to get accommodation at Arpaiu but there was none availabe and Debora recommended Vandiris as another establishment that she manages. Am I pleased that she did! We were lucky enough to get Room N3 - the one with the large terrace. The room was large and very comfortable and the view is unbelieveable. I would absolutely recommend Vandiris.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon, and it was our best experience in Italy.

After weeks of trying to book a room in Cinque Terre (most were full, or just not what we wanted), I came across Vandiris. It seemed very new with little info online, but it had the view we were looking for.

The owner's office is in Apairu B & B down the lane and she didn't meet us when we arrived, but her directions to get there were very clear, and we had no problem finding it on our own. The room was large, with a mini-fridge, comfy bed, and a balcony with the most incredible view you can imagine. The balcony is quite small but a chair can fit, or you can just sit on the bed with the door open and admire the perfect panorama of the sea in front of you. I honestly felt we had the best view in town, since it was the last hotel on the street, and faced the Manarola train station and cliffs to the left, and the town and coastline to the right.

There was no breakfast here but it's fine since there are many cheap places (my favorite: the focaccia shops) in town, and it's only a 5-10 minute walk. Many of the hiking trails between towns were still closed from the storm in 2012, so we took the train to Riomaggiaore, but the high trail to Corniglia was still open, and offers phenomenal views and paths through terraced vineyards. It took about 2.5 hours to Corniglia.

Room Tip: We had room #2, which seemed to be at the end. It looked onto a small viewing platform at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickkembel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 2 at Vandiris for 2 nights while traveling through Italy.
The room offered great value. It was very clean, had a comfortable bed, a large spotless bathroom, and a spectacular view.
The wifi was not functioning at Vandiris while we were there, so the owner gave us access to her other property (arpaiu) that is nearby to use the wifi there.
The room has a small balcony overlooking the sea.
The train station is nearby and you can hear each train as it passes by, but this is common all over the Cinque Terre.
Overall, we enjoyed out stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MC02HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here our last two nights in Italy. We stayed in room 2. It was a great room. There is no air conditioning, but that was not a problem since the ocean breeze comes right in (the highs were around 80 F). The room and the bathroom are spacious, with a small refrigerator to keep food and drinks in. There is a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs, which provides spectacular views of the cliffs and ocean. You can hear the train, but it is not a big deal. My wife and I slept just fine.

I have two minor complaints: 1) the toilet is set a little high and is slightly uncomfortable (as toilets go) and 2) the wifi does not reach all the way into the room. There is a wifi area in the downstairs area, but the signal is so faint that I could not use it in my room (this could be easily fixed with a signal booster of one sort or another).

The woman who runs the place (as well as the B&B Arpaiu) is not terribly clear on when she will meet you, but it was not problem. She provided the information needed to access the room, and all the paper work and payments were finished in a relatively timely manner. And she let my wife and I leave our luggage at Vandiris while we went into town to grab breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I decided to splurge on our stay in Manarola and we wanted a room with a view. And what a view! We got Room 3 which had a private balcony with en-suite facilities and a tiny kettle was provided for some hot drinks. I think there was some tea/coffee sachets provided too.

We also managed to hang some clothes to dry at the balcony.

We were left on our own, keys were already hanging on the lock when we arrived and we just left the keys on the bed as instructed when we left. I only went to meet the owner in a nearby hotel to make payment on the second day. It wasn't a problem for us but if you constantly need to have someone around for assistance, you might want to find out the hours the owner is available.

It's a slight climb uphill but perhaps anywhere in Cinque Terre would require a bit of a climb.

Room Tip: Only Room 3 has the private balcony which faces the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arpaiu
Arpaiu
#6 of 17 in Manarola
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 17 in Manarola
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vandiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vandiris

Property: Vandiris
Address: Via Belvedere n. 239, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vandiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vandiris Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing