We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View Was Amazing”
Review of Alla Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Porta Rossa
Ranked #12 of 18 Manarola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in Villino Aurora in Riomaggiore. We were greeted at the train station by the owners daughter who spoke a little english and showed us our apartment. It was two levels and had a balcony to enjoy the spectacular view whilst eating dinner. The kitchen was also very impressive and they left minor condiments of us to use including sugar/tea/coffee/salt which was handy. There is a sofa bed in the downstairs section as you enter and another small bedroom. The bed was very hard to sleep on so we transferred the sofa bed mattress to the double bed which made it better. The best part of this apartment was the view! We were on the quiet side of Riomaggiore and we got to see the busy side and the beautiful sunsets each night. We would recommend this place for people looking for peace and quiet as there were very few neighbours surrounding our little apartment. Beware though - the steps to our apartment arent for the fain hearted! Its about 100 steep steps but we thought it was worth it. The apartment itself is very central to the centre of Riomaggiore and is only 8 mins from the train station. Of the five villages this was our 2nd least favourite village as it did not have many shops or restaurants and the harbour wasn't as nice as the other villages. For some advice we would suggest:
Monterosso - for families and those wanting to be close to the beach, although this area is very touristy.
Vernazza - amazing and full of shops and great restaurants. This was our favourite.
Corniglia - too high up in the hills and hard to get to. Not many shops or restaurants.
Manarola - very romantic and had some great quaint little shops and restaurants. NB: not all of the trains stop at this station as regular as they do at Riomaggiore or Monterosso.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night I would ask for a discount. Although we haven't perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you for your kind and very clear review! It can help other guests to make their choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

We just left and I miss our place and Manarola already. We stayed in the Scaglie di Mare apartment and I'd highly recommend it. It's smallish for an apartment but had a great balcony and we loved spending time there. The things that could be improved were small - really bad hairdryer (5 minutes normally was 20 minutes at this place) and towels that were like tea towels. If you are not in decent shape, you'll find it a bit tiring to get to but that's what cinque Terre is like overall.

Tips - get a balcony for sure, reserve a table in advance at trattoria dal billy's and stock up on groceries while the stores are open (not 12-4).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laudina, Proprietario at Alla Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Dear guests,
thank you so much for your review! We appreciate all your comments and we'll do our best to follow your suggestion. Barbara&Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in “eco friendly double room” between 5th-9th August 2011 and spend wonderful time. Manarola is very quite, beautiful, small town. It's typically Italian :-) Our appartment was very close to the shops/restaurants, walking path and the train station (4-5 minutes by walking). You can easily reach to the see ( in Manarola, there is no sandy beach). Our vacation was very romantic.

Our room has a sea view with balcony. It was very clean, and confortable but there is no breakfast. Dear Barbara was very helpful and polite.

We loved it, and we’ll be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEO_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laudina, Proprietario at Alla Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

You have been lovely guests! Thank you for choosing us and for coming! C u soon again :) Barbara&Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent three nights in the Creme Caramel apartment and for a family of four it was tight squeeze but the location, view and huge outside area more than made up for the lack of space inside.

The kitchenette is adequate with dishwasher, espresso maker, pots, pans etc. It's great for making breakfast and a light lunch but for dinner you would be crazy not to eat at one of the great restaurants. it's a short walk to the Coop market where thay have a good deli, fruit and veg and other basic essentials.

The outdoor area was awesome. Plenty of sun, an amazing view, privacy from the day tripping tourists and peace and quiet at night. We even pulled the sofa mattress outside and slept under the stars one night.

A few things you should know...keep the door locked, the cleaning lady will come and go as she pleases; the management likes to be paid in cash and you better have it with you as they get a little snippy if you dont - even if you explain the ATM doesnt work; dont ask for dinner reccomendations - they won"t send you to the best place. If you need something minor fixed it probably won"t be fixed

We had a great time in Manarola and I would reccomend the Creme Caramel. The location, ambiance, and coolness factor outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaybradj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laudina, Proprietario at Alla Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Superbly located, the Porta Rossa provides a great blend of modern amenity with old world Florence charm and style. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Staff polite and helpful. Breakfast buffet was relatively simple but had sufficient choice to suit all. Would definitely recommend and will stay again if in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor20hgte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laudina, Proprietario at Alla Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

We are very happy you did enjoy your stay! Thank you so much for choosing us! Hope to meet u
soon again! Barbara&Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed at the Alla Marina appartment, owned by the B&B. The best thing about the appartment is a big private terrace with sea view. Also, the appartment is right on the main road, close to walking paths, the sea and the train station. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mj-oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laudina, Proprietario at Alla Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you very much for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We need to say that we expected more from Alla Porta Rosa. The room itself was really tight but clean and with sea view.
For someone looking to stay 16 hours visiting Cinque Terre and just want to sleep is OK.
But the service was really poor. And take care because this is not a B&B- Just a B (They don´t serve breakfast), just a bed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephaneMenou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
3.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 39 in Vernazza
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
#10 of 18 in Manarola
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vento di Mare
Vento di Mare
#4 of 32 in Riomaggiore
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 32 in Riomaggiore
388 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marvit Affitta Camere
Marvit Affitta Camere
#4 of 152 in Cinque Terre
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Porta Rossa

Address: via Aldo Rollandi | 246, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range: £98 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Porta Rossa in Manarola/Cinque Terre in the heart of the National Park. We can offer rooms & apartments with stunning view over the blu sea, the "little marina" with its inlet and the magic village... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Alla Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Porta Rossa Hotel Manarola
Alla Porta Rossa Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing