We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Charm of Manarola”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alla Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Porta Rossa
Ranked #11 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Charm of Manarola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at this cute little hotel in Manarola for about four days as our home base to visit the 5 towns of Cinque Terre. The room and a very nice view from the room and small porch that looked southeast down the coastline towards Riomaggiore. The room was on the small side but worked real well for us. The positive side to a small room is the air conditioner kept the room very comfortable as it was very hot while we were there.

Now for the charm part. If you've traveled to small towns like this in Italy, you know stuff happens. One morning we woke up to no hot water - I'm sure this is unusual, and we were glad for the in-room coffee maker, because that's how we got hot water to bathe! That is a lasting memory. You should also know that the walls and floor are paper thin. Everything you say can and will be heard by your neighbors unless you whisper. And then there was the ant superhighway - on our last day we woke up to a superhighway of ants that was coming in through the deck doors marching right across our room and into the adjacent room next door. I'm guessing our neighbor must have had something in their room that was very tasty. We carefully worked around the ants getting packed up because we knew if we disturbed their path, then they would scatter. We still wonder what happened when the folks next door woke up to that!

The manager/owner Barbara is a sweetheart, and will do what she needs to do to please. On the morning when we woke up to no water, the other guest complained and she made sure to visit each one of them to make sure they knew it was back on for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room upstairs, and never be the first one to bed because you will hear everyone comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    52
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
13
121
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently stayed 6 nights in Manarola in one of Alla Porta Rossa's rooms - Sapore di Sole. Yes small - but we already knew that as my sister had stayed here the year before. Happy to trade size for the view over the sea any day. Cute little balcony that we would sit on to eat breakfast (bought from the delis in town) and have our end of day drinks. The is a bar fridge in the room. Personally, we do not spend a lot of time our room when we travel so happy with size of room (though who wouldn't want twice the size for the same price!!). If you want space you will need to chat to Barbara about what the other options may be available. Once you step up to an apartment the prices rise. The room is a short (easy) walk with only a few stairs up away from the main square and restaurants etc so very quite. One night we were serenaded by an virtuoso accordion concert in the square below. The local ladies play cards in the square below in the afternoon.
In the 6 days we had a great chance to explore all the towns and walk lots of the trails. We liked the swimming best at Manarola jumping off the dock/rocks etc and laying out on the ramp. Conigula is not an option if you are after a swimming/beach holiday - chose one of the other towns.
Can not recommend the Cinque Terra highly enough. A great place for hiking, swimming and eating!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in the Sapore di Sole room and really enjoyed it. We had read previously how small the room was so we were prepared for tiny and tiny it was. The little balcony was great to have a drink in the evenings and look out into the sea and the room itself was clean and nicely decorated. But to be honest, it way overpriced and I think you could find better value for you money elsewhere. We were only there for two nights, so it was fine as we were out most of the time anyways.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto, ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We just got back from a two week trip in Italy which included a 3 day in Manarola in the Rugiada di Mare. Getting to Manarola, we met with Barbara in the Alla Porta Rossa office -she was a delight! So fun to talk to and welcoming - her father showed us the room. Yes his english was limited but we found it all easy to understand. We saw in town over the weekend and it was nice to say hello.

Yes the room itself was small - really a bed, bedside tables, wardrobe, small table, bathroom and balcony. While others have commented the room is small, we found it to work for the two of us. The wardrobe fit our suitcases, we liked having bedside tables and found the bathroom to have good storage for our toiletries. (I would have loved a hairdryer!) Plus good water pressure in the shower. We also loved being able to sit on the balcony to see the ocean and keep the door open to hear it. We didn't really need a bigger place for the length of time we were staying there plus we were outside for the most part exploring towns so something to consider. They do clean the room everyday so that was very nice - something we weren't expecting.

The location of the place is ideal - it's not super high on the hill. We walked past other places that we had looked at and they were much higher so this was perfect. Plus Trattoria dal Billy is just up the hill so that also helped.

The place had internet which was great although it stopped working completely on the last day we were there so that was a bummer.

Manarola was a great landing town - it's quiet and night (we didn't hear much noise at night or even in the morning). We loved being able to walk out on the trail that overlooks the ocean and back on town and there is a fabulous playground/picnicing area with a great view of town and also looking to other towns.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Don't think twice...just book. Out of the 5 villages to choose from...stay in Manarola - stay at the Alla Porta Rossa...tell Barbara we sent you...and you will thank us later!

We spent 2 days of our honeymoon here - the view was gorgeous - the hiking fantastic - the dinners were fabulous...in fact there were tourists that were staying in the other villages who came to Manarola for dinner. Seriously - just do it and book it.

Just know that the rooms are small - typical of many European rooms...doesn't matter. You're in Europle - you're vacationing...and really - you're there to experience the outdoors and the atmosphere in the villages...not to hibernate in your room.

The only piece of advice we would give...check the National Park website on the status of the hiking trails. A lot of them may be closed depending on the season...otherwise...do it, do it, do it...and book here.

Thank you again Barbara!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplsMN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We requested the room called Sapore di Sole based on Trip Advisor reviews and were very happy. It was very small but we had a view of the sea and a balcony and it was very clean. The owner Barbara was extremely helpful and the restaurants she recommended (Ristorante Scogliera and Marina Piccola) were both excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlover425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

The pluses and minuses pretty much canceled each other out. We reserved the Sapore di Sole room, because we'd read it had a better view and was larger. The view of the sea was spectacular, but the room was so tiny that we could not pass each other, going around the bed. It would have been fine for one person. The furnishings were lovely, high quality, and artistic, but all the surfaces were covered with bric-a-brac, leaving us almost no space to put luggage. The tiny "wardrobe" was completely inadequate. The bathroom was gorgeous, and the shower excellent, and everything was very clean. It was also pretty noisy, between the noise from the trains below and loud people walking by, late at night. There was no breakfast, but instant coffee packets (!) and a kettle for hot water. We never saw the owners in the 3 nights we were there. We wished we'd chosen another place to stay, although it sounds as if the apartments are much better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Porta Rossa

Property: Alla Porta Rossa
Address: via Aldo Rollandi | 246, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Porta Rossa in Manarola/Cinque Terre in the heart of the National Park. We can offer rooms & apartments with stunning view over the blu sea, the "little marina" with its inlet and the magic village... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Alla Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Porta Rossa Hotel Manarola
Alla Porta Rossa Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing