We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better! Large room & stunning view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B and Apartments Da Baranin
Ranked #3 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manitoba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better! Large room & stunning view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I wouldn't pay any attention to the last review... this place is wonderful!

We arrived via the train to Manarola and yes, if you do this, you are going to experience a hefty upward walk through the town (no stairs yet at this point, all paved street) to get to this B&B and many other destinations in Cinque Terre for that matter. If by car/bus, then you have a short downhill walk and one set of stairs to the B&B. We are young and fit, but were loaded down with luggage (too much shopping), so it took quite a good effort from us! But hey, you don't get amazing terrain like this and expect a flat walk!

Check-in went smoothly and all the staff were very friendly. We had reserved the superior room with sea-view balcony and I suggest it's worth every extra penny! Not only did it have a view to die for with a comfy lounger to take it all in, but the room was huge!!! Felt like we had our own little apartment in paradise.... clean, nicely decorated, lots of room to relax, super comfy bed, good size bathroom, ample storage/clothes hanging area, heat & a/c, a safe, fridge, and kettle. There was no wifi in our room, however the signal was good in the common areas (lobby, breakfast room & terrace). We had a key if ever needing to go into those areas after hours, so really no problem here.

Breakfast was good and just what we needed to start the day. There is plenty of seating outside on their beautiful terrace as well as additional tables indoors. The morning sun hits their terrace, so we never felt the need to eat inside. There were breads/croissants, cereal, meat & cheese, yogurt, and fruit. There was also a kind lady on duty ready to whip up a fresh cappuccino, espresso, coffee, etc. She even offered to prepare breakfast to go when she learned we would be departing on an extremely early morning train.

Every restaurant we ate at was great... Trattoria dal Billys was especially memorable. A very short walk from the B&B, amazing sea-view terraces compounded with an extensive menu featuring local seafare. When they placed a complimentary bottle of Limoncino on our table, I knew this place was not one to forget! (or the opposite depending on consumption!)

Can't say enough about the area... so scenic! We did a few of the hikes: the super easy one from Manarola to Riomaggiore, Manarola to Volastra (straight up hill), and Monterosso to Vernazza (up and down along the coast, challenging!). Of the 5 Cinque Terre coastal towns we visited, Manarola was definitely our favorite.

Would definitely stay again and recommend Da Baranin to others!

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room. View and size worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    88
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
144
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Spent 2 nights in manarola in April 2012. One of the most scenic place I've seen, the hiking trail was awesome and trattoria dal billys was one of the best restaurants in Italy. In regards to this place it was well below average. Steep stairs, average beds, small, wifi only in the lobby shuttle from the train station was a joke. Breakfast was poor with limited space but the staff was nice.

Room Tip: I'd checkout other places but this one is fairly cheap and very close to billy's restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rimnicu valcea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We(me and my boyfriend) have a nice time in this b&b, personal was good, the room where we stay was good with a nice view and good size, bathroom was too little but was ok.
I like condition -room-breakfast- from this b&b and relation from service and price was good.
Sure i will return in this b&b.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena29-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Da Baranin in July 2011. We loved it. We had a beautiful room with a balcony that looked down onto the breakfast porch. I loved the decor in our room and the breakfast was excellent. Cappuccino was superb and included with breakfast. Staff was lovely and very helpful. We had problems with our debit card and could not access any money. They let us use long distance to Canada for free to call our bank which required several calls to get things straightened out. They also only accept cash payment, but they organized for us to use a credit card since we couldn't get cash until we left the Cinque Terre. The hotel is quite convenient to the upper parking lots, but at the very top of the hill from the train! We were able to find a free parking spot on the road which was great - we just waited until someone left - saves a lot of money!
Excellent restaurant just a few steps away - Billy's has a nice view and sunset if you get a table on the balcony. Reservations are a must in the summer. We had delicious pasta with lobster.
What a beautiful spot - I hope it was spared in the horrible mudslides this fall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We arrived after 7.30 at night. After some confusion about check in time and arriving and no one there we were finally let in. Make sure your arrival time is definitely organised, we had no phone reception to ring but after help from 2 lovely ladies we got our keys. The apartment was fairly spacious for family of 4. We also had breakfast included which was more than enough of cereal, pastries, juice and coffee. The ladies that looked after us were very friendly and there English was pretty good. My only note is that it is a bit of a walk uphill and steps but this is the case everywhere in Manarola. I definitely would return and stay
Cheers
Sue

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipsa, Guest Relations Manager at B&B and Apartments Da Baranin, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you for your nice review, we hope you to be our guest again in the future.

Andrea
B&B Da Baranin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This was our 4th trip to Manarola. On prior visits, we had stayed happily at Ca d'Andrean and Marina Piccola, but decided that this time we would try something different. The reviews of Da Baranin sounded lovely. When we arrived at 10pm (late train from Palermo), we telephoned the owner who gave us directions to a meeting spot, so she could let us in to the apartment. We waited at the meeting spot for at least 10 minutes before being met by a young man (owner? owner's boyfriend?) who was less than charming, and clearly not happy about having to deal with guests late at night. Not a good beginning! We were shown the room, which we politely inspected & thanked the young man for his help. As soon as he left us, my husband and I looked at each other and didn't even have to say anything: we did not want to stay there. Shoddily furnished, poorly maintained, it was not the "lovely" place I had imagined from descriptions; it was depressing, which is difficult to be in a place as lovely as Manarola! Though it was by now quite late, we walked back to town and practically begged for accommodation at Marina Piccola, who fortunately had one very small room for us. (Had we not been able to find a room, I was almost willing to sleep in the train tunnel rather than in the apartment we'd been shown!) I immediately telephoned the owner of Da Baranin and told her we would not be staying there; when she asked me if there was something wrong, I said, "too many stairs" (which was not the issue; we've stayed in Manarola enough times to be quite accustomed to the hills and the hikes!) To her credit, she was extremely gracious about it, which certainly made up for the rather unpleasant interaction with her co-worker.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LucieVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We did the whole Cinque Terre "thing" but wanted to stay in a smaller village to experience what once must have been an idealic lifestyle before we tourists discovered it. Manarola was just such a magical place and the apartment was roomy and perfect for the whole occasion. The breakfasts and staff were fantastic. After 4 nights we did not want to leave this beautiful place. We even got a chance to chat daily with the locals who were much more relaxed in September than perhaps at the peak of the season. I would definitely stay here again as it was such a highlight but next time it would have to be a week or two!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastVicPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 17 in Manarola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B and Apartments Da Baranin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B and Apartments Da Baranin

Property: B&B and Apartments Da Baranin
Address: Via a. Rollandi 29, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Manarola, in the heart of the Cinque Terre National park...In the ancient rural house of uncle "Baranin" pleasant restored living spaces.Small Bed and Breakfast, informal style.Rooms with private bath and A/C, some with sea views, in B&B treatment, Studio and apartments with kitchen. Wi-fi connection free in the lobby.Rich breakfast in B&B treatment, served on the terrace surrounded by vineyards, flowers and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B and Apartments Da Baranin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast And Apartments Da Baranin
b&b And Apartments Da Baranin Hotel Manarola
B&B And Apartments Da Baranin Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing