We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise find in a funny looking town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B and Apartments Da Baranin
Ranked #3 of 18 Manarola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Surprise find in a funny looking town”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just a short visit to one of the Cinque Terre towns and we decided to stay in Manarola.
This B&B served the best breakfast in all the 6 B&B we have staid in 3 weeks across France and Italy. That have standard continetal breafast things plus boiled eggs or on request fried eggs,
Great coffee and bed room setting. We wish we have time to stay a few more nights.
It would be a great place to be use as a base for a day hike and few more night sceneries.
Getting there by car was a bit tricky as the In Car GPS sent us to the dead end road with a lock gate.
Finding the B&B was tricky too as there is no clear ally sign but when ask the local will guide you.
Look for it on the first ally way on the left before you reach the Clock tower. If you reach the CLock turn left and walk up the ally way (Street LOL) you may easily miss it.

Room Tip: There is only a few double bed room so be early to book. We were luck to get a room on by booking 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOT1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    92
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
47
147
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Da Baranin. Although the initial trek uphill with our suitcases was a little strenuous, the rest of our 4-day stay was delightful. We didn’t mind the location almost at the top of Manarola: it meant great views from our little terrace and a quiet, non-touristy spot to relax. Our room was spacious with a large bedroom downstairs and a kitchen, sitting area and terrace with partial ocean view upstairs. The service was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and included eggs and yogurt which we appreciated. We enjoyed chatting with the other visitors on the terrace each morning. The trail to Corniglia was right outside our door, and a great restaurant, Trattoria dal Billy, is only a block away. We loved Manarola: it is small and pretty and relaxed. We had a great time and highly recommend Da Baranin to active folks who have come to hike the Cinque Terre trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alifeyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First of all, Manarola was our favorite of the towns in Cinque Terre. Secondly, this B&B was the perfect sort to relax and enjoy the breeze blowing through the windows after a long day hiking the trails. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful; fresh breads, granola, yogurt, and eggs. Not to mention the Cappuccinos...all from the lovely patio. The room was small but enough space, clean, and very comfy. The one thing I will warn about is that our shower (not sure if all are like this) was VERY small...but honestly, that was a minor issue. As previously mentioned, the people running the B7B were extremely kind and helpful. Wonderful stay, would return to the exact same place if we went back!! PS: There's also a great restaurant right around the bend called Billy's that has a beautiful sunset view for dinner, make reservations there the day before and enjoy what this GORGEOUS town has to offer!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed four nights in a room with sea views. The room was small but not too small and we loved having a balcony. Staff were friendly and helpful and provided a good breakfast. Just be aware if you are coming in by train it is quite a walk uphill and up a flight of stairs as well. From the car park it is an easy walk downhill but there is still a flight of stairs to carry your luggage up to reach the lobby of the B&B. Most of the restaurants are down near the bottom of the hill and near the harbour but Trattoria del Billy just along the lane from Da Baranin is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

If you're here to hike, this is the perfect place for you. At the top of manarola by the carpark, it will help you burn the calories you eat at dinner by walking up and up and up the hill. The apartment was the cheapest for us (2) but actually sleeps 4! We used the kitchen but the stove was turned off but with a quick call to reception out of hours, it was fixed in 3 minutes (literally). Service and helpfulness was great and would recommend for most, although the apartment is at the top of 10 VERY steep stairs, not something my mother would make it up, so keep in mind if you're a bit older or bad knees!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The staff was so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and bright. The continental breakfast was bigger than all other places we stayed in Europe. This really is a wonderful place. Above all, and to repeat myself, the staff was so very warm and genuinely caring.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phier61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I and my wife stayed this bnb for 1night.
We arrived here 2 hours earlthan the official check-in time, we were worried about it, but it was no problem. one of Staff was very kind and helped to check-in at that time.

I booked a studio with ocean view,
It was better than I expected.
clean and cozy. probably I'll recommend this BnB to my friends.

However, you would know few points when you stay here.
firstly, when you take a shower, you should adjust for hot water valve very carefully. it use a small boiler,
so fast running out and very hot temperature. if you use once, you can figure out how to handle it.

also it's hard to find where this BnB is. I recommend using apple map app. (google map is not good for here) and the stairs might be hassled. (little bit high position)

last one is that there's no lights on the stairways in the house. or I didn't know how to turn on the light. I'm not sure but...

anyway, this BnB is reasonable.
there's an old saw in my country,
'One kind word, it can clear one's debts'
they are kind, I like it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 18 in Manarola
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B and Apartments Da Baranin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B and Apartments Da Baranin

Property: B&B and Apartments Da Baranin
Address: Via a. Rollandi 29, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Manarola, in the heart of the Cinque Terre National park...In the ancient rural house of uncle "Baranin" pleasant restored living spaces.Small Bed and Breakfast, informal style.Rooms with private bath and A/C, some with sea views, in B&B treatment, Studio and apartments with kitchen. Wi-fi connection free in the lobby.Rich breakfast in B&B treatment, served on the terrace surrounded by vineyards, flowers and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B and Apartments Da Baranin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b And Apartments Da Baranin Hotel Manarola
Bed And Breakfast And Apartments Da Baranin
B&B And Apartments Da Baranin Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing