We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep and a view like a postcard.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manarola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola
Reviewed 23 June 2010

If I could go to sleep and wake up every night in this place, I'd never have a gray hair.
This is not one hotel, it's a collection of hotels and available rooms that have banded together to provide a service to the outside world. I stayed in Riomaggiore, Luciano 3. I was stunned at the cleanliness, the fact that a representative met me at the train station and walked with me, even carrying one of my bags.

Yes, there are a lot, a lot, a lot of stairs. Do not bring a giant suitcase or you will be sad. Mine is about 2.5'x18" and is about the max of what I would want to carry up and down the stairs. It's exercise!

If you're looking for turn-down service, this isn't your place. It's a room in which you get to experience an apartment in Riomaggiore, the sound of the ocean crashing into the rocks below, and the occasional drunken, obnoxious tourist ruining the sounds of a small village.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

Claudio the host of acasa terre is simply charming and a wonderful host, and adds to the experience of the trip to Manarola! (www.acasa5terre.it - for more info on his services - cooking,painting classes, etc.) The apartment we rented, the Giorgio 2 in Manarola, was just like the pictures on his website - immaculate, recently renovated, comfortable, and with a million dollar view of the harbor, the sea and the quaint little town. We had a roomy deck to relax on and enjoy the views while dining on meals we made after shopping in the little market in town. We've traveled around quite a bit, and this was a wonderful treat compared to many other apartments we've rented! Highly recommend. We found Claudio to be quite prompt with his emails - within 12 hours, which is acceptable, based on the time change, etc. And he was very accessible by phone, to coordinate meeting us in town to show us to the apartment. What a great trip - Thanks Claudio!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matinaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Our family of four stayed in Francesca 1 in May while we traveled in Italy for a month. It was the one place we all said we would return to if we have the opportunity. We LOVED Manarola and our apartment was perfect. It had the most spectacular view of the sea and the village. The apartment was clean and is just as described by the website. The bedrooms are large and roomy. The kitchen was well-stocked with dishes, etc. The living and dining areas are together in one room. There are two comfy chairs, so not really enough for a family, but we sat on the balcony most of the time, so it didn't matter.

Our preference of towns to stay would still be Manarola. It is a lovely fishing village that is just touristy enough to have great restaurants. Vernazza was too busy and feels more touristy. Monterosso would be our second choice with the lovely ocean front walk and beach.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

If you are looking for a quiet condo, close to the harbor with lots space - this is it. Nice view into vineyards. Claudio was very helpful at arranging side trips. Great value for the money when traveling in large groups. Living room is very large with 2 bedrooms. Could easily sleep 7 people. Nice to have a kitchen to make breakfast and coffee each morning. We loved Manarola - quaint and quiet later on in the evening. Also good choice of restaurants to eat each night. We espeically liked Il Porticciolo and La Scogliera. Be sure to try the spicy Octopus spaghetti at La Scogliera.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daffofils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This is a small budget apartment in Manarola with a million dollar view. It is rented through A Casa Cinque Terre from the website acassa5terre.it. There are about 40 apartments available in different Cinque Terre towns. We chose Maria 2 which was perfect for us. I have no idea what the other apartments are like. Once you take the train to Manarola you go to the office to get your key. No one was there but a guy down the street was waiting and looking for us and took us to the apartment. The apartment is about 70 steps up one of the small pedestrian streets that make up the town. When you open the first door you are on the patio which is on a cliff overlooking the sea and with several other Cinque Terre towns in the distance. The view is absolutely fabulous. There is enough room on the patio for two chairs and a small table for drinks or magazines. It is wonderful.

When you go into the apartment the small bedroom is straight ahead. It has a double bed and would only work for a couple or friends who don't mind sharing a bed. My husband and I slept well in it. The "closet" is too tall to hang anything but I put some clothes in the bottom of it. The bathroom is to the left of the front door and has a sink, bidet, toilet and shower with doors that close. I think the shower doors may be a relatively new addition. The shower worked fine and we just had to let it run about a half a minute for it to get warm. Towels and linens were provided.

To the right of the front door is the kitchen. It has a small refrigerator, sink, four gas burners, lots of cupboards, and a good sized table with four chairs. The assorted pots, pants, utensils and dishes make it easy to cook your owns meals which saves lots of money. I was a little hesitant to use the gas stove but it was no problem at all and we bought coffee and made our own coffee in one of the little silver pots provided every morning. Just put water in the bottom, coffee in the basket and heat it up. It only takes a few minutes and the water percolates up through the coffee to the top and is delicious. You can buy coffee and other items in the coop and small grocery store in town or take the train to a bigger town and go to the supermarket. Since you have the kitchen available I really recommend cooking. We make spaghetti and bought some ready made pesto (a local specialty) we got from a deli in a supermarket in Levanto and it was great. We also cooked chicken breasts and made lots of sandwiches to take on our hikes.

This is a simple, clean apartment with one of the best views I've seen anywhere. It is not fancy so if you need really expensive surroundings this might not be for you. Oh, and be prepared to pay in cash. There is at least one money machine in town but we didn't use it because we had enough cash with us for the three nights we stayed last week. We paid 75 Euros a night which we thought was a good price. I think you need to reserve it well in advance. We did but that's just me. Apparently, summers are packed in the Cinque Terre, so packed I would never go then.

People with limited mobility probably should avoid it because of the stairs. We are 50 something hikers and it was perfect for us. We hope to return sometime. Claudio, who runs the business, recommended Portovenere and we enjoyed that as well.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeftFork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Spent two nights in Riomaggiore last week, stayed in Pamela 2 in Riomaggiore. A fabulous roof deck (the photo on the acasa5terre.com website is accurate) and a nice place, especially for Euro 80 per night.
Claudio was very helpful (Pamela was out when we arrived and who we believe to be her mother was darling, but her English was not much better than our Italian) in getting us situated very soon after we arrived.

Other reviews about narrow staircases, slightly musty smells, some delays in Claudio getting back to you <prior> to the visit are all true. But for Pete's sake, this is not the Four Seasons! It's a charming seaside town that hasn't changed in hundreds of years where the salt air gets into everything. So the musty smells and the narrow staircases and the people that don't speak good English -- that's why you're there! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and can't thank Claudio, Pamela and her mother (if that was her mother!) enough.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stillmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I scoured Trip Advisor and online forums to find the right place for my husband and Ifor a vacation last March in Cinque Terre. I wrote Claudio who varied in his replies – sometimes he wrote back quickly to my inquiries and other times it took days to connect.

My first choices for apartments to rent were taken and we were running out of time due to him taking days at a time to return my emails so we selected the Pamela 1 in Riomaggiore for 2 nights, 3 days. The pictures online looked nice with a view over the harbor and showed a little studio apartment.

Upon arriving in Riomaggiore we met the proprietor, Pamela, by calling ahead the day-of as we were coming from Vernazza. Her English was below average for the area and while I understand Cinque Terre is composed of small villages the language communication become an issue when trying to figure out payment and also about check-out times. Our last day she was literally sitting on the steps up to the apartment waiting for us to clean the apartment in the late morning/early afternoon. Feeling rushed out of there was not a pleasant way to end our trip.

However, the most significant disappointment was with the apartment itself. To get to the studio you climb up a steep stairway with an odd, musty odor to a landing down by the harbor and outside of the main strip of town. Upon entering the apartment it does look like the pictures online – upon further exploration you discover:
CONS:
-A hard, uncomfortable mattress in need of replacing and coarse, mismatched linens and sheets
-Heat is supplied with a floor heater that must be plugged in and is hard to regulate.
-The bathroom is so small and compact that the shower is like one in a camper. Meaning there are no doors, curtains or anyway to keep the water going EVERYWHERE and soaking the entire bathroom. You stand on a little wooden grid off the tile floor but regardless it makes a big watery mess. Water pressure was very poor too so you end up huddled up to the walls trying to not freeze to death and then have to wipe down the floors, toilet, etc. due to all the water running everywhere
-The bathroom door is not fitted right in the frame and is very difficult to close fully.
-Coarse, old linens which REEKED of smoke and made me feel dirty, not clean, after drying off
-You are on the side of town where you’re predominantly in the shade. So you can sit on the little balcony but you’ll be in the shade for most of the morning/afternoon.
-Odd, mismatched dishes, pots and kitchenware made cooking difficult
-If the balcony doors are open it can be loud with pedestrians depending on time of day, sometimes smoky as well

PROS:
-Cost efficient but definitely a case of you pay-for-what-you-get or pay-for-what-you-think-you-get
-There is a nice view off the balcony but note you are right above the main walkway out to the beach so there is a lot of pedestrian traffic and smoke coming up
-There is a nice view from the balcony of the sunset each night

Lastly, another disappointing aspect of booking through A Casa Cinque Terre is that once you actually arrive overseas it’s impossible to reach Claudio. He assured me via email that to book a cooking excursion or winery trip, etc. to simply call when I was in Cinque Terre. We were really looking forward to doing a class or excursion but even after calling Claudio multiple times (4-6+) a day I never reached him during our 4 days there.

I’ve been to Cinque Terre now twice (one in college as a backpacker and then this most recent trip) and I feel like your best bet is to splurge a bit and find a nice hotel, I recommend Vernazza or Manarola even though they are more popular – more popular means more lodging options – or locate a room away from the train tracks (sound really carries on the cliffs and sea) and make sure all reviews are good beforehand.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CampnameTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico_bigollo, Owner at A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

During the high season it is common for us to receive over 100 requests per day. Behind each reservation request is a series of communications and confirmations with room owners. We are a small team and have made a commitment to giving each request equal attention.

There is no required English language proficiency exam to collaborate with A Casa. Overcoming language barriers is a reality of being away from your home country and we encourage all travelers to learn a few words of our native Italian language (When in Rome, do as the Romans!).

Cellphone reception can be spotty in the Cinque Terre but in all our email correspondences, business cards, contact sheets which we place in each of our apartments we have both the cell phone and land-line numbers as well as our email, and street address. We recommend travelers to document our contact informations for their own records.

In the extreme and unlikely case that all lines of communication are broken, guests should take a 5 minute train ride to Manarola and ask at any of the restaurants or shops in the Marina where Claudio's house is. Manarola is a small village and the locals can point you in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manarola hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giovanni Rooms
Giovanni Rooms
#9 of 19 in Manarola
72 reviews
0 mi away
Ca' de Baran
Ca' de Baran
#15 of 19 in Manarola
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 19 in Manarola
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 19 in Manarola
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola

Address: 20, Via Di Corniglia, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Manarola
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa Cinque Terre is a family-run business located in Manarola. With our network of collaborators we provide our guests with attentive and personalized service during their stay in the Cinque Terre. Each of our offerings is a private apartment for private rental. A Casa also offers activities like cooking classes, wine tasting, yacht rental and day cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Casa Cinque Terre Manarola Hotel Manarola
A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing