We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, short stay”
Review of Locanda Giuliana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manarola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Locanda Giuliana
Ranked #17 of 19 Manarola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in September. There are lots of stairs leading up to this hotel, as others have stated; however, the stairs leading from the road (which is really a walkway) to your room is at best 5% of the total number of stairs you'll climb just to get from the train to the higher part of town. That being said, the building's stairs are quite steep and we REALLY would have appreciated some lighting when returning at night and tripping over stairs. They have lights in the hall, but the switches are not in obvious places and are on a timer, so they were always off when we needed them. If you stay here, pay close attention to the stair layout and locate the light switches in the hallway before it gets dark. If the stairs are going to bother you, I would recommend staying in Monterosso. Before booking, we were deciding between Manarola and Monterosso, and opted for Manarola since it was less touristy. After visiting both towns, we wish we had stayed in Monterosso. There are more restaurants, shops, and of course beaches. Manarola wasn't bad, but just not much going on after about 8, and since the trains stop running before late, we had to return home before we necessarily wanted to. The noise from Billy's is a little loud at night, although we were there during the weekend. We actually ate at Billy's one night and really enjoyed it. We made reservations earlier in the day and when we arrived there was another couple also waiting on the walkway right in front of our building. The place was full and Billy seemed aggravated that he couldn't accommodate us even though we had reservations. So he ran around grabbing tables and chairs from storage and set us and the other couple up right on the walkway in front of our room!

Upon arrival, we spoke with the owner(?) at their restaurant, and were told to walk up to the church square where someone would meet us. We then met the other woman who showed us up to the room. Not extremely friendly but not rude either, and seemed a bit aggravated at my slow speed while lugging our luggage up all the hills and steps. The room has an air condition, which was much needed for our stay; however, there's no refrigerator. The balcony is okay, but really very small and close to the adjacent room. Bed is pretty stiff. It's about what is expected for the price, and we knew what we were getting, so no surprises really. Would stay in Monterosso if we had to do it over again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed here in September, and the climb to the rooms are exactly that, a climb! We were thrilled with view and the small veranda that opened onto a view of Manarola and the sea. Although not modern we found our room clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a small table and a closet to store our luggage. As the other poster said, one night the noise from Billy's was impossible to drown out. Loud partying went on until 2:00 in the morning. This is not the fault of Locanda Giuliana, but did put a damper on the otherwise great place to stay. We did have a breakfast plan, and had a very nice meal at Portoffinico in the village.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Be aware that this room requires climbing many stairs to access it. Even going the shortest way there is a steep hill to climb before attacking over 40 steps in the streets and then 2 steep flights to the room. I loved the exercise it required to get to the room and the view is the best. The bathroom had some mould growing on the ceiling and in the grout of the tiles. The room was noisy so I slept with the air conditioning to drown out the noise of Restaurant Billy whose room I looked down on. Those narrow streets do carry the sounds well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheribree2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We just spent 3 days in Manarola and stayed at this location with our 9 and 20 year old girls. We stayed in rooms 1 & 2 which are beside each other and have balconies facing the sea over the town. This is a perfect location to enjoy Manarola from, and we highly recommend those rooms. Note that my wife is very sensitive to noise at night and this room was no problem at all. Manarola is quiet at night and there is a quiet in-room air conditioner that adds a bit of a breeze if desired. Room 3 also looks good but its view is out the back side of Manarola to the sea rather than the inward facing village view which I feel is the postcard shot. We gave the girls one room and we had our own room, each with its own bathroom and shower. The rooms are very modern and clean. We also went for the breakfast at 5 euros each. It is served in a very good restaurant that is owned by the same woman that runs the rooms, the fabulous and friendly Giuliana (who speaks French and Italian by the way). The restaurant is right downtown on the main street so you have to make your way there in the morning, but the bread, cheese, cappucinos, juice, pastries and fruits made it more than worthwhile. We travelled to all of the Cinque Terre towns and feel that this location was truly the ideal spot to vacation from. We took the train each day to Monterossa for our beach time, and really enjoyed coming back to this location every night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrancisMacDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

My husband and I backpacked the entire month of September through France, Italy, Germany & Belgium. The Cinque Terre area was highly recommended to us by numerous people. It exceeded it's hype 10 fold! Part of it is owed to this place.
When I found Il Porticciolo on the internet I was under the impression that the three rooms they rent out were right above the restaurant they own by the same name. "Above" the restaurant is one way to put it. If you are backpacking do prepare yourself before you go to the room...it is on top of the city, one of the highest points of the hill. It is a hike from the restaurant to the room! But it is SOOOOOOO worth it! The best view from a hotel room ever!
After spending 2 weeks in various hostels of various levels of quality Il Porticciolo was heaven! It was the most expensive place we stayed, that being said we were on a very small budget. 80EU/nt is a very good deal! The bed was comfortable, the room was quite roomy even for an american hotel room! It was clean and cool with a very nice updated bathroom with toilet, bidet and shower. And of course an amazing view with a relaxing balcony!
The restaurant own by the same people by the same name was delicious. Have the pesto! Liguria, the region that Cinque Terre is in is the birth place of pesto. AN be sure to at least get a glass of the region's sweet raisin dessert wine. It's expensive but delicious and worth it!
Manarola, the 2nd city in the 5 cities (cinque terre) where the rooms and restaurant is located was our favorite of the 5 towns too!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We rented a triple, as we were traveling with our 18 year old son. The extra bed was a small child's bed, and our son is 6'3". We had to put the mattress on the floor, and then he had two bad nights of sleep, creating back aches. We rented through Arbaspaa, and they gave us another option, but it, too, had a small extra bed. The room would have been fine for two people. But it certainly was not a true triple.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank K-ZOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Myself and my bf are just back from a 3 night stay at Locanda Giuliana in Manarola and we enjoyed every second of our stay here! The room is slightly on the small side but there is plenty of room for 2 people and luggage. It is very modern, immaculate and extremely comfortable. There are lots of extras - the room has a television with cable (in this beautiful part of Italy u will not be watching tv tho!!), central heating, a kettle with coffee and herbal tea sachets and lots of toiletries and fluffy towels are provided in the modern shower room, there is maid service every day and there are also extra blankets in the wardrobe.

Manarola must be one of the most scenic places in the world so I was keen to get us a room with a balcony and seaview - I was not disappointed with Locanda Giuliana, the view of the sea, the town below and olive groves from the balcony was amazing! Perfect for relaxing with an after-dinner drink. As with most places in Italy you have to climb for a good view and all the steps up to this room were definitely made worthwhile by the view. However I dont think I would recommend Manarola or Cinque Terre in general for people with mobile difficulties or the very elderly as it is quite a workout up to the room especially with luggage!

I booked the room though Arbaspaa travel on behalf of Giuliana Botto who also owns 'Il Porticciolio' restaurant in the town. To check in you have to go to the restaurant but it is very easy to find. I would highly recommend Arbaspaa travel in booking this accommodation as I emailed them a few times with various queries and they always replied promptly and the pics on the site are very accurate. The rate was very reasonable also - we paid 70 euro per night. Highly recommend as we can't wait to get back to Manarola and Locanda Giuliana, missing it already!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manarola hotels
0.2 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 19 in Manarola
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giovanni Rooms
Giovanni Rooms
#9 of 19 in Manarola
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' de Baran
Ca' de Baran
#15 of 19 in Manarola
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 19 in Manarola
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Giuliana

Address: Via Rollandi, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Locanda Giuliana Hotel Manarola
Locanda Giuliana Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing