We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Timone Camere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Timone Camere
Certificate of Excellence
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we wish we could've stayed longer! This hotel was perfect! The breakfast was the best we had all through our 3 weeks travelling! The staff we great and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The rooms were immaculate and secure. Cinque Terre was the highlight of our italian vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
170
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and were so glad we did! It was a perfect location for us, yes it did require lugging 2 weeks worth of luggage up some stairs but we did not mind in the least. It was close to restaurants, shops, and hiking trails. The room was spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The bathroom was cramped but again no problem for us. The rooftop terrace had wonderful views and we took advantage by relaxing with a glass of win there in the evenings. Breakfast was homemade, made to order, and really tasty. The family who runs the B&B are friendly and wonderful and really work to make your experience great. If we ever have the opportunity to return, hands down we would try to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatalyhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Was booking our stay in Cinque terre a little last minute and was stressed because there was very little availability (we needed two rooms) I came across Il Timone and I'm so glad. We stayed in their Laredo property located right on the main street. It was the best place we stayed in Italy. The rooms are not only immaculately clean but also up to date and have a homey feel. Attention to small details are very much appreciated. Montorosso in my opinion is the best place to stay as a base for the cinque terre. This property does not involve hauling baggage up many stairs or hills. The owners are so helpful and friendly. Would stay here again hands down.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was one of our favorite places we stayed on our latest trip to Italy. We stayed in the il Timone Loreto rooms. Location was perfect; close to all the restaurants and shops in old town, but far enough up the road that it was quiet. Walking distance to everything. The train station is about a 10 minute walk. The rooms are spacious and were very clean. We had two rooms as there were four of us. One of the rooms had a nice balcony you can sit out on.

There is a small grocery store just 50 meters down the street. A lot of good restaurant options for breakfast, lunch and dinner right around the corner.

Monterosso was a great base for the other CT villages and going to Santa Margherita/Rappallo.

Francesca was an fantastic hostess. She was available for our every need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VilniusSchoolmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

It was like staying with my long lost Italian family. The stairs were a long way up but it was worth it once you got up there. Of course, Francesco took our bags up. The view of old town was amazing and the rooftop terrace breakfast was the best of our three week stay in Italy. Having lemoncello in the evening was a delight. We really appreciated the fact that they washed some of our clothes while we were out for the day. My husband and I chuckle every time we think about our clothes hanging on the terazzo with everyone elses. Our room was the smallest of the three but very adequate and cozy, with all the amenities. Clean, clean, clean.
We loved our stay and would return in a heartbeat.
Thank you so much for your warm and gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: La Pinta was the sma;;est of the three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Perfect B&B in Monterosso. They helped take our bags to the top of the stairs (which is an effort and you do need to have some strength). But it was so worth it once we got up there. Our room was beautiful, the sun roof is sweet. Breakfast was amazing, great variety and everything is fresh. The rooftop terrace is beautiful. Give the limoncino a go!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Monterosso. It is high up in the old town, so many steps to the room, but Francesco and Frederico are happy to bring your luggage up for you. The room has no view, but it is very nicely decorated with many amenities including a safe, air conditioning, and free lemoncello. A laptop is also available, and they provide WIFI. A wonderful breakfast is provided on their rooftop terrace, which has panoramic views of the old town and the sea. We also had a great casual meal at their Fast Bar in old town, great hamburger and wonderful salad, the one they call the Super salad. They also give you lots of information on the area. All at a great price for the Cinque Terre.
Cathy and Tim

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
4.3 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Timone Camere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Timone Camere

Property: Il Timone Camere
Address: Via Roma 75, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Il Timone Camere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Timone Camere Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Il Timone Camere Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing