We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Historic Villa Stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Internati...
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Villa Stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The stay was absolutely amazing. The vintage feel of the villa and all its history was so impressive. The rooms were very comfortable and had great views. The living room view was very beautiful as well. The kitchen was well equipped for making home made meals and was so cute! We stayed with 7 people and were very comfortable. The only part that was a little less than ideal was the bathroom situation. Only one has a door and the others don't have shower curtains, so it can get very wet. Also one of the shower heads can't be placed in it's holder on the wall, but when you stay at a place with such history such things are to be expected and didn't really cause a problem for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Great for our Group of Seven”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The views from the villa were spectacular and it was great for our family of seven. Villa Montale was a great base for hiking the Cinque Terre especially since the only leg of the trail that was open during our stay was between Monterosso and Vernazza. It could use a little extra care especially given the price and the expectations of the guests as far as cleaning was concerned. It could definitely be a five star rental if a little more effort was made in making the guests feel welcome in the home as opposed to following the rules (like taking our garbage with us when we left), but I may have just read too much into the rule book. However, I would definitely recommend staying at Villa Montale. It is a beautiful setting and I loved shopping at the local market and preparing a delicious Italian meal for my family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura1945...
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Option for Large Family Vacation in Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Villa Montale has been a lovely homebase for a week in Cinque Terre. It easily accommodated our group of 10 (9 adults and a baby). There is 1 room with an en-suite bathroom and then the other 4 bedrooms share 2 bathrooms. 1 of those 2 bathrooms is not entirely functional since there is no shower curtain and the door does not lock, but our group has managed just fine. The home has beautiful high ceilings and architectural details. The living room is large and the couches comfortable. However, the beds are not that comfortable and there are no extra pillows.

The villa is just a few minutes outside of downtown Monterosso, 5 minutes to the train, and 10 minutes to the old town. The villa is on a hill and the apartment on the second floor so it is quite the hike (a great way to work off calories from gelato).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamAdri
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We were 4 adults and 5 teenage children and we had so much space in this stunning apartment. The views were spectacular from sunrise to sunset. The apartment was beautifully furnished and equipped. We were welcomed by the rental agents at the train station who guided us to the apartment and showed us around and how everything worked. Monterosso was welcoming, although still very much recovering. We all loved this apartment and decided that the photos just do not do it justice. Superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton England
Reviewed 25 November 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 25 November 2010 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed 14 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2010
Thanks so much for your review!
Hope to have you here soon again
Best wishes,

Miriana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing