We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”
Review of Albergo al Carugio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo al Carugio
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Everything we had read about Al Carugio and Andrea, who runs the albergo, turned out to be true. Andrea is the nicest and most helpful person you could meet. We stayed there for two nights last July and enjoyed our stay immensely. The albergo itself is on one floor of an apartment building and is a low key affair. The rooms and bathroom cells are sized right - there is enough space to open a couple of suitcases. It's plain but very clean and the beds are comfortable.

If you arrive by car as we did, you need a bit of luck to find a convenient space for it. There is a garage 100ft from the hotel, but it is small and was full when we got there. Also, the two floors of the garage do not connect, you need to check each separately. Luckily, while we checked that we were in the right place, a vehicle left and we got its place. Otherwise, you'll need to bring plenty of change to buy a parking ticket at the machine for metered parking on the street.

The hotel entrance is up one flight of steps, but Andrea will help when he is there. The hotel is located at the entrance of the old town and it's a beautiful, pleasant, and short stroll down to the ocean, during which you can inspect many of the shops, cafes, and restaurants. We ate at the Carugio restaurant where we found exceptionally friendly service after mentioning that Andrea had sent us. The food was very good, too.

Monterosso al Mare is not the most picturesque of the Cinque Terre towns, but it's convenient and interesting with the old and new town sections connected by a pedestrian tunnel. We recommend buying the 6 hour ticket for the train and visiting Vernazza, Corniglia, and Manarola. If it's not too hot, walking the section from Vernazza to Corniglia through the national park provides excellent views of this picturesque area. For the return trip, take the ferry and you get another, equally impressive perspective.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    50
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
112
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The best thing about Albergo al Carugio is its owner Andrea. He had to be the most friendly and helpful person. We decided to go to Cinque Terre at the last minute so needed to find somewhere to stay for New Years Day. A lot of places were closed and those that said they were open didn't respond to emails unlike Andrea who got back to us quickly and said he had a room and he would see us the next day. While it took us a while to find the place when we did we were more than pleased. Andrea was extremely helpful and gave us advice on sites and walking and where to go for dinner and breakfast etc. He also let us know the weather for the day as we intended to walk part of the Cinque Terre and told us when to go to ensure we got there in daylight. Rooms are basic but they are very clean and while bathroom was tiny the shower was hot and powerful. This is a very basic place but that is standard for the Cinque Terre so if you are looking for a nice clean place at a good price then look no further.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SannaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The owners/managers were very nice. The price was reasonable, the room was clean. We didn't even have to give them a credit card number to reserve the room-it was on the honor system, which was pretty cool! Andrea spoke English, which was great because our Italian is pretty horrible! Now the bad stuff: The hotel was above an auto repair shop which was unfortunate because it was loud, with motorcycles revving,etc. DO NOT got to the grocery store across the alley--they are SO RUDE! All of the other people in Monterosso were really nice and patient with our bad Italian. It was a pretty town. All in all it was a good stay and if you are looking for a good deal it is a good place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Spyderbyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The very best part of Albergo al Carugio is Andrea, the innkeeper. He was incredibly kind, helpful honest and attentive; very welcoming and informative and always there with a ready smile. The inn was comfortable, with a little sitting area on the patio. The room was clean, bright, good shower and wifi. A short walk to the sea, near wonderful restaurants and bakeries, but far enough away from the tourist area to be quiet. A manageable walk from the train station. There was a big storm when we were staying at the inn that resulted in a power outage in the middle of the night. Andrea was incredibly apologetic about this and insisted on giving us a discount, even though it was no inconvenience to us in the least, and certainly not something that was within his control! We would very happily stay here again, and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Cinque Terre region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. We contacted Andrea from the US to reserve the room. He responded quickly and provided us with info and a map. The room was clean. Andrea was available and helpful throughout our stay with suggestions for restaurants, etc. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, especially how helpful Andrea was. We planned to stay for two nights, but due to a train strike had to leave unexpectedly and in a hurry. Andrea was so helpful and understanding about our quick departure. Our room was very clean, the Wifi worked perfectly, and we loved everything about our trip. We will be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSaraWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A good budget hotel in Monterosso al Mare. If you're looking for something cheap and basic, then this is it.

The guy who runs the place is incredibly unorganized and his dog is a bit scary, but the location is decent and the rooms are satisfactory.

You get a tasty room rate but you sacrifice customer service. Whatever, I'll take it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo al Carugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo al Carugio

Property: Albergo al Carugio
Address: Via Roma 100, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo al Carugio 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo al Carugio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Al Carugio Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing