We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo al Carugio
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Souvenir(Monterosso al Mare)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Suisse Hotel Bellevue(Monterosso al Mare)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
I Coralli(Monterosso al Mare)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
La Serra sul Mare(Monterosso al Mare)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Adriana(Monterosso al Mare)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Degli Amici(Monterosso al Mare)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Spiaggia(Monterosso al Mare)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bouganville B&B(Monterosso al Mare)
US$176
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Monterosso Alto(Monterosso al Mare)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 5 Terre(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
149
55
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
55
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost andreatrain stationold townproviding mapscinque terretrain timesrecommended restaurantsroom was cleanspoke very good englishwould stay here againvia romafree wifidecent sizesmall fridgehiking trailsstayed here for two nightsa lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this small but personable hotel in Monterosso. Andrea provides wonderful service; prompt responses to inquires and emails. The room was basic, clean and a very good value. The hotel is a short, uphill walk from the beach area. Would highly recommend this location and hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madtowntarheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We spent the first three nights of our honeymoon at Andrea's hotel, and it was a wonderful experience. The room itself was simple but impeccably clean, and Andrea himself was an excellent host. We could not have asked for anything more! We plan to be back :).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank krrvrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had left everything until the last minute and, whilst we had flights, couldn't find reasonable accommodation. Andrea was brilliant, responded to email promptly, gave us superb directions, looked uo trains for us to get to Pisa.

Due to flights we were delayed and he stayed up until 1am to greet us and run through everything. Gave us beautiful restaurant details and advice on trips.

Superb, we will be back

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Everything we had read about Al Carugio and Andrea, who runs the albergo, turned out to be true. Andrea is the nicest and most helpful person you could meet. We stayed there for two nights last July and enjoyed our stay immensely. The albergo itself is on one floor of an apartment building and is a low key affair. The rooms and bathroom cells are sized right - there is enough space to open a couple of suitcases. It's plain but very clean and the beds are comfortable.

If you arrive by car as we did, you need a bit of luck to find a convenient space for it. There is a garage 100ft from the hotel, but it is small and was full when we got there. Also, the two floors of the garage do not connect, you need to check each separately. Luckily, while we checked that we were in the right place, a vehicle left and we got its place. Otherwise, you'll need to bring plenty of change to buy a parking ticket at the machine for metered parking on the street.

The hotel entrance is up one flight of steps, but Andrea will help when he is there. The hotel is located at the entrance of the old town and it's a beautiful, pleasant, and short stroll down to the ocean, during which you can inspect many of the shops, cafes, and restaurants. We ate at the Carugio restaurant where we found exceptionally friendly service after mentioning that Andrea had sent us. The food was very good, too.

Monterosso al Mare is not the most picturesque of the Cinque Terre towns, but it's convenient and interesting with the old and new town sections connected by a pedestrian tunnel. We recommend buying the 6 hour ticket for the train and visiting Vernazza, Corniglia, and Manarola. If it's not too hot, walking the section from Vernazza to Corniglia through the national park provides excellent views of this picturesque area. For the return trip, take the ferry and you get another, equally impressive perspective.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The best thing about Albergo al Carugio is its owner Andrea. He had to be the most friendly and helpful person. We decided to go to Cinque Terre at the last minute so needed to find somewhere to stay for New Years Day. A lot of places were closed and those that said they were open didn't respond to emails unlike Andrea who got back to us quickly and said he had a room and he would see us the next day. While it took us a while to find the place when we did we were more than pleased. Andrea was extremely helpful and gave us advice on sites and walking and where to go for dinner and breakfast etc. He also let us know the weather for the day as we intended to walk part of the Cinque Terre and told us when to go to ensure we got there in daylight. Rooms are basic but they are very clean and while bathroom was tiny the shower was hot and powerful. This is a very basic place but that is standard for the Cinque Terre so if you are looking for a nice clean place at a good price then look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SannaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews