We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this place 4 stars?”
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Not quite sure how this place is rated a 4 star hotel, must be the view alone. We had a decent room on the 2nd floor out of 3 and with a seaview. Although no air con, only a fan, no kettle, no iron. And friendly staff although they had no idea about anything. The breakfast here is below average and much better on offer in town. The restaurant. Is way overpriced especially compared to the amazing meals you get in town for under half the price. Take away the views and this hotel has very little, look elsewhere unless you want to get fit and walk there steep driveway everyday and like staff more into themselves than looking after their guests.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Porto Roca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We drove to Monterosso and were picked up at the central parking by a hotel hired taxi. Magnificent views from the restaurant where they serve breakfast. We stayed in a standard non-ocean view room, as we did not think the difference in price would justify it, especially because you can enjoy the view from the restaurant, lobby bar, pool, etc. In fact, many visitors to Monterosso get the same view just walking in the trail to Vernazza which passes in front of the hotel. Service was efficient and in a pleasant atmosphere. We had a great meal at Cantina Miki.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

After three days at Porto Roca, we were certainly in shape! Situated mid-hill with a strenuous hike up to the hotel, it helped to work off some of the great dinners we had there. Staff was very professional, our room had a little patio with a view of the sea, and we very much enjoyed being there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked this hotel ourselves, not through our travel agent. Perfect is a great word for this place. First, the view was spectacular, especially from our room which had a private sunning area overlooking the mediterranean ocean & the town of Monterosso. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I don't like using stars to rate hotels, see comments on Siena, but this was everything we read on-line before booking. And the included breakfast was the best we experienced in all of Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The positive and negative comments of previous reviewers ring true. As part of a group we were allocated a small ground floor room next to the public toilet with only a glimpse of the ocean through the trees, so the view was available only when we left the room. But as tourists we were there to explore the region, not to loll around the pool - and it's quite an effort to walk to/from town. It was exceedingly noisy on the Saturday night and we were woken every morning by outside workers. The breakfast spread was good, no better than other hotels we used. Reports from our group of the hotel's food were lukewarm. There are good restaurants in town.

So, if you want to laze around a hotel with a great view, a good pool, in tired surrounds, this might be the place for you - if you pay well for it. Otherwise, consider elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3shoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I loved our stay there and the staff were very accomodating.they are on a very steep hill and it s totally worth. Get an ocean view room. Spend the money for it you wont regret it
They have a taxi service that you need to give a 24 hour notice and they are prompt we lovedit


Totally so






Till.worthit

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room7
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This fabulously located hotel at the top of the town was a grand dame at one time. It is not what it used to be. Still it could be again with a decorators touch. I would start by getting rid of the kitch decor that is everywhere. Nothing goes with anything. Even the nicest rooms are tired. The kitchen still can be proud of the food it serves, but why dine here when there are so many wonderful restaurants in town.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301 and though it is small and a little tired it has a great veranda and sun loung...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoeopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#17 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
443 reviews
4.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £138 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing