We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Porto Roca for our visit of Cinque Terre. The situation of the hotel is perfect, close to the village, the port, and the railway station. Furthermore the Cinque Terre footpath is just along the hotel.
All people are very friendly and the rooms vith sea view are very nice, particularly those with a large terrasse to enjoy the sunset!
Restaurant is also very good with very fantastic antipasti and ravioli.
To be recommended without restriction

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raps0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    191
    60
    40
    14
See reviews for
103
325
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had two rooms, one with the great view, and one across the hall in the back. Don't get those rooms. The kitchen is also back there, and the noise of washing pots and pans and talking kept me awake for a while. Then it starts again for breakfast, very early. Everyday someone dropped pots, broke glass, played loud music. There was no airconditioning to drown out the noise.
The hotel was nice and breakfast was good, everything you like, eggs, yogurts and baked goodies. great cappucino's

Room Tip: You have to be in good shape to walk up to the hotel. Most taxi's can't make it up the narr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

There is no doubt that the views from Porto Roca are outstanding but a hotel shouldn't just rely on that fact alone. As the only 4 star hotel on the Cinque Terre they have a monopoly which they trade on. The bathrooms need to be brought into the 21st century and the shower recess is so small only a very thin person could cope with the narrow space. The bed was very hard and the decor of the room is very 1970s. We are of the opinion that they run the hotel very much to suit themselves as they don't fill up the swimming pool until 1 May and yet it was warm enough to swim as many others were doing this in the various beaches in the area. Everyone at the hotel was helpful but we couldn't recommend this and we are both quite fit but found the trek up the hill each evening was quite challenging. We were staying in a deluxe room but I simply couldn't recommend this hotel for the price they are charging.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perched on top of one of the highest peaks in the village of Monterosso, which means the best views in town! The decor is dated but so is the rest of Monterosso, but the views you will get in the 'sea view' rooms Are absolutely breath-taking. Breakfast is everything you want in a brekky, and the wait staff are so eager to please. The down side? The rather steep and narrow driveway up to the hotel! Great to work off the carbs after a great meal in town! The taxi to and from the station is free, but you're in for a fun ride due to the narrow driveway that wraps around the cliff side, dodging pedestrians and almost scraping the side of the taxi!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here over a weekend in April 2013. The hotel is purchased in the cliffs with gorgeous ocean views. They have a buffet breakfast each morning with everything you could want. The rooms are clean with room service, friendly staff and a car will pick you up from the public parking area. The hotel is directly on the Blue hiking trail to Vernazza and a short walk to Monterosso al Mare. If you are not a hiker there is a train in town that will get you to all of the other town in Cinque Terre. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony to enjoy the ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here last summer in a room overlooking the sea. Stunning views. Great balcony. Food here is beyond fantastic. It is right at the entrance to the hiking trails. Got lots of exercise walking up to the hotel every day since it is up a steep hill- works off some of the Italian cooking though. Very close to the beach and they have their own chairs down there for you to use. Outdated rooms, but that is the norm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great hotel, the best on Cinque Terre. I had a top floor room with a huge terrace. I was traveling alone so the size of the bedroom didn't really matter but I could have had a party with 20 people on the terrace. I could have sun or shade any time of the day out there. My view was spectacular! I thought this property is as close to 5 star as you can get here, that might be good news because this area is still rather quaint. I thought the included breakfast buffet was fantastic and the proximity to town excellent. They also put in a beautiful new swimming in 2013.

I also would agree the staff at the front desk could be a bit snobbish but overall I had a great time here!

Room Tip: If you want a great view and a nice terrace ask for the top floor. The rooms on the lower floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjcNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
4.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Property: Hotel Porto Roca
Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing