We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We weren't able to stay at the Porto Roca because rooms weren't available for all four nights of our stay, but we went up to the hotel one evening for drinks on the terrace and another for dinner. We concluded that the setting would have been worth the additional cost. It was very hot when we were there and the swimming pool would have been divine, looking out over the water. The dinner was wonderful--very fresh and tasty fish.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank MichiganSusan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you want the best views, great hotel with friendly staff, stunning pool area and great food then stay at Hotel Porto Roca. Rooms are a little small but who wants to stay in a room with such great views on offer. Breakfasts are a real treat on the sunny balcony over looking Monterosso.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a sea view and preferably on the top two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlieP200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel with a superb location and with a friendly and professional staff. We've had the pleasure of staying here twice now and I would recomend it to anyone.

The hotel has four stars. My guess is they will have five stars some time soon.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We checked out earlier this morning after a lovely three-night visit to Hotel Porto Roca.

We stayed in their most economical room and, while it was modest in size, it was comfortable, had good storage space for a room of its size, included a very nice shower (by American standards) and a strong WiFi signal.

The areas outside the hotel were lovely. We didn't miss an end-of-day glass of wine sitting on one of their lovely patios overlooking the sea.

The staff - and we came in contact with many of them - were all friendly and helpful.

Something To Know...

While the hotel provides free taxi service upon arrival and departure, you WILL be walking up/down a modestly steep hill to get to town for sightseeing/train/dinner. From the heart of town up the hill to the hotel took about 10 minutes. The pay-off for staying at Porto Roca are the views from high on the hill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starkfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I got a chance to spend only a night at this lovely hotel in the Cinque Terre. It is a wonderful, relaxing respite from the bustle of the wonderful little towns. Just gorgeous and the staff was kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are quite nice, but even the inside rooms are comfortable and you won't be spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casaransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our group had two rooms, both on the second floor sea side. One was a standard room, pretty small but decent size bath and nice balcony. The bed is as hard as a park bench, as are the pillows. My brother and his wife and two kids had the "suite for 4 people" which was a bit of a joke. Good thing the kids aren't too big (9 & 13). The room opens into the sitting area which has a day-type bed and another rollaway which, along with a small oval table with chairs and dresser, take up the whole space. There is a sliding smoked glass door separating the sitting room from the bedroom. There is one bath which adjoins the bedroom. Double balcony is huge with two loungers and two chairs. No way you could do 4 adults in this room, only a couple with two small kids. The staff was helpful and the walk to town nice, although quite steep returning to the hotel. They have a lovely pool with amazing view as well as a private space down at the beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Other than the tiny ants which they probably spray for daily, and super uncomfortable bed/pillows this is a lovely spot.

Room Tip: 2nd floor sea side, amazing view and bigger balconies with some shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunForFunLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you get a chance to stay at the Hotel Porto Roca during your visit to Cinque Terre, you will not be disappointed! Perched on the top of a precarious cliff, it is so worth the trip! The rooms have a distinct nautical theme and are absolutely spotless. We had a junior suite with our own balcony and separate seating area. it was the perfect amount of room for us! The jet tub and shower are perfect for weary hikers with all the spray heads. We loved the pool bar, pool and outdoor spa tub!

The service was good and the location was great for a hike to Vernazza. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanttoGetoutMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £145 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing