We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views in the town.”
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2006

Enjoyed 3 days in Oct. at this attractive property. English speaking staff are very helpful. Breakfast on the view terrace is outstanding! Rooms are small but adequate. Monterosso we found to be an excellent choice. Suggest the water taxi as a great way to visit all the villages. #1 resturant, undoubtedly is Miky's. Reserve as soon as you get into town. Only downside to this property is the healthy uphill walk back to the hotel. The most exciting experience is the cab ride up the narrow walkway ! Yes we would stay again. FYI, we generally travel Westin or similar.

Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank opus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2006

Rooms are small but the views of the sea more than make up for it. As a family of five we had one room at the front of the hotel and one on the back, which we referred to as the" black hole" room, as it was so tiny and had no/little light due to the rock wall behind it. Breakfasts on the beautiful terrace were a great start to the days. Staff was extremely helpful and warm, esp on the day we left, when our teenage son became ill and needed his room to rest in past check out time. The restaurant is mediocre and overpriced but walking down the hill you'll find lots of great alternatives. The Cinque Terre is an amazing place with better values than the Porta Roca but if you want quiet at night and the benefits (including english speaking staff, comfortable beds and free taxi to the hotel upon arrival) of a full service hotel you won't be disappointed in the Porta Roca.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyntia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2006

loved the location, the view and the desk staff but the room was very tired as is the lobby.

had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and was not impressed with the food or the service. the head waiter in the dining room is EXTREMELY unfriendly, boarding on rude.

we liked being somewhat removed from the town and traffic noise and the view from our balcony was spectacular but it's not a hotel that we would visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tapkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2006

This Hotel is stuck in a time warp. They think they provide a classy service. It is tacky beyond belief.

The reception staff were friendly enough but the waiters, especially the head waiter were just an absolute joke. They thought they were a cut above. I can assure you they were not.

The Hotel is utterly overpriced.

On arrival we had a lengthy wait at the taxi rank for the complimentary taxi to take us from the car park to the hotel. However, reception staff were extremely apologetic.

The room had a musty smell.

The quality of towels was poor considering the cost of the room 280 Euros per night.

We had arrived in the evening and went to the restaurant at 9:00pm to have a meal and we were greeted with the most appalling treatment. The waiter was unhelpful and said we should have booked and proceeded to leave us standing and he then brought his posse of another waiter and the head waiter. The three of them marched up to us, as if we had committed a crime. (it was actually funny if you try to picture the scene. It was like something out of a comedy film) The head waiter proceeded to give us a lecture about booking our table. By this time I am not happy and advise him that we have just arrived, so how could we pre-book. I then advised this man that we had come along way and it would be unlikely that we could get a meal in town at this time. He then said "we wouldn't see you stuck!!" but he had realised by this time that I was not prepared to take his nonsense.

We were eventually brought a meal that was quite frankly, of very poor quality and highly priced. It looked as if it had been reheated. However, because we were so hungry we had to eat it.

I would NEVER return to this hotel, even if it was the only hotel in Italy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Elainegiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We stayed 4 nights as the last 4 nights of our 3 week European vacation. It was the most expensive of the hotels we stayed in throughout our trip but was by far our favorite. They sent a cab to pick us up at the train and greeted us with a warm welcome. When we opened the door to the seaview room we were promised we were astounded at the beautiful view. We were in room 206 which had a regular sized balcony that was all we needed to enjoy the sunsets. The room was spotless and was nicely decorated in calming sea colors. The bed was very comfortable (2 twins pushed together) but used King sized bedding which was the first time for this on our trip. The linens were high quality which we loved to sink into after a long day of hiking. By European standards we thought this hotel was worth the extra $$. We got a giimpse of the other hotels that are rated higher and were thrilled were were where we were. We would definately stay here again! The free cab was waiting to take us to the train when leaving and we received a warm hug from the manager.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mortgage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

How could you not love the Cinque Terre & a room overlooking Monterosso and the Mediterranean? Porto Roco has the best views in Monterosso. Balconies are great to sit out on and read while still taking in the breathtaking views. Breakfasts were amazing; we did not eat any other meals here. The rooms were adequate, but spacious for CT standards. the $280 Euro is steep for sure, and there are plenty of other hotels to stay for much, much less. And the hike up the hill to the hotel is tough, but they do offer a free taxi to pick you up at the train station and drop you off (we didn't know this upon arrival). The front desk personnel are helpful and speak English. If you are looking for more of the creature comforts of a hotel/resort in CT and don't mind the high $, this place is for you. If you want to hike the trails, lay on the beach and explore, you can find much cheaper places to stay for the small amount of time you will actually be in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TallyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

It is probably the best location in Monterosso, but it is completely overpriced. Very nice view, but rooms are pretty small. Furthermore, despite the steep room price (280 EUR) they are charging an additional fee for everything: beach towels, internet ect…The restaurant was ok, but nothing special. To summarize: It is a nice place, but quality-to-price ratio is really poor. I would love to go back to Monterosso, but would definitely be looking for a different accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mpoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: £138 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing